We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Friendly getaway in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added First Landing Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Friendly getaway in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Fiji and the first with our new little man (7 months at time of travel) we were nervous about the trip, and how he would deal with the heat/new place/travel etc.

From the moment we stepped off the plane the staff at First Landings were superb. We were met by the resort drivers at the airport, and they looked after everything. Daniel was an instant hit and from that point on every staff member made such a genuine fuss over him. They are so friendly, attentive and go out of their way to remember your names.

The resort itself is small and compact. Its kept immaculately clean with a great ‘solar heated’ pool that gets some shade through the day. There is a bar with fun bar staff, and a great restaurant looking out over the beach. Breakfast was included in the price, and I don’t think you would ever have to buy the cooked breakfast on offer. Daniel loved all the fresh fruit. We ate in the restaurant on the last night, and although not the cheapest, the food was fantastic. If your on a budget as we were, there is a marina next to the resort, with a small convenience store, cafe and a bistro/restaurant. We had lunch most days at the cafe (excellent chicken curry wraps) and dinner most nights at the restaurant. We timed it with sun set, which with the location makes for a great night, mojito in hand! We stocked up on water from the convenience store, which was far cheaper then the resort bar.

Our room was simple, but clean. It was cleaned daily and we loved the touch from the housekeeping staff, little messages in flowers on the bed. The travel cot for Daniel was clean, and we had our own mattress protector for extra protection.

Overall this is a great alternative to the big hotels in Nadi, and ideal for those with young families. We will certainly be back again.

Room Tip: If you have the budget go for a beach facing bure. The view makes it more then worth whille.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    184
    52
    21
    15
See reviews for
143
230
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had our first trip to Fiji in July/August this year. We were looking for somewhere warm, not too far away from Melbourne as we only had 6 nights and where we could relax. Fiji seemed like a good option. We chose First Landing Resort after reading the reviews. And it was comfortable and very relaxing. The staff were very friendly, the food was, generally, good and the gardens are lovely. We had two dinners there - one was Ok and the other was very good - but not cheap. We read, swam in the poor, snoozed and wandered along the beach (which was a bit of a disappointment).

The tide goes out a long way and at low tide you could wander on the rocks/reef and see strange star fish and lovely coloured fish in small ponds and, further out, some coloured coral. We took a double kayak and paddled quite a way up the coast - very enjoyable.

But overall I felt a bit isolated. Apart from the marina next door, there was really no where to walk to and trips are expensive.

A few tips - the marina next door has a small general store, café and restaurant/bar and we ate there more than we did at First Landing. The café had good coffee, whereas the coffee at First Landing was hit and miss. The food at the restaurant/bar was considerably cheaper than at First Landing and, although not up to the very good meal we had at First Landing was better than the Ok one we had there. And the setting was great - casual seating in a garden overlooking the sea or the marina. Some nights they had music. One night they had a movie.

The marina also had taxis - which were cheaper than using the car from First Landing.

We went into Lautoka one day and really enjoyed wandering around the market. We had intended to catch a bus but we stood on the wrong side of the road and the bus sailed past without stopping. So check which side of the road to stand if you intend to take the bus.

Would we go back? Yes, but only to stay a few nights and then move on to somewhere else. It makes a great base to stay when you first arrive or just before you leave.

Room Tip: We took the advice of other travellers and stayed in one of the beachfront bures. Great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nrth NSW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to First Landing in a beachfront bure ! Once again we loved it and had a great time as a family of 2 adults and 2 kids . The food was great , with so many choices and even wit h the falling AUD still reasonably priced . The choices are huge and suit every taste and budget . A few nights after a big day trip which included lunch we would just order a kids pizza !
Our 2 girls had the best time , they were so looked after by the staff ( big thanks to Sai and Wise who run activities ) and especially the beautiful Navi :) they made friends for life with other kids in the pool and didn't need an organised kids club as they could roam the resort safely .

The staff are amazing and helpful and friendly . The management are fantastic and happy to help solve an issues .
We did The south sea island and Oolala Island day trips and loved both. We went by local bus into Lautoka and enjoyed the markets and shopping . We also shopped in Nadi town which was good fun ! We visited Ambertha village and the waterfall which was a great experience.

FL have made many improvements after the Cylcone last year and more are planned which is great . We noticed on the da we were leaving a new pool table being set up also .
The entertainment is great on Friday and Saturday nights , and gets the guests involved and up and dancing ! Sunday night the local choir ( including staff ) sing which is beautiful .

We had such a great time once again and were very sad to leave our First Landing friends .

Planning a trio for 2014 !

Thanks to all the staff :)

Room Tip: Beachfront bures 301 - 306 are my pick ! Villas are great too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had the best time at First Landing Resort - 8 nights of bliss. This resort made you feel as though you were staying with Family. The gorgeous Manager Amanda (albino Fijian he he) is an amazing lady - efficient, accommodating and all round awesome. Her husband Darren is an amazing chef - lamb curry served in a coconut - Devine. The staff are so wonderful - Beyonce, Norman, Joe, Kelly, Si, Wise, Nevi to name but a few- so lovely. Our beachfront Bure was serviced daily and little messages left by Sofia were a treat.. Although they are still recovering from the Cyclone., their constant upgrading was evident with gardening and a great team of workmen. All with a happy Bula. The demeanour of the staff reflects Amanda's care for her employees. We will definitely be back every Winter to this home away from home. If you are looking for something genuine then you shouldn't go past First Landing. A gem in Paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in the beachfront bures for 4 nights after staying in a 5 star resort on th Coral Coast, we loved the 5 star resort but First Landing won our hearts. It is not as flash as some large resorts but the food is five star, the views beautiful and staff were warm genuine. The rooms were spacious clean and our kids loved the messages that were left for us each day by house keeping. We used the spa which is very nice and reasonably priced, check it out early as you will want to return. The staff are the heart of this place we definitely recommend staying here, it is a great place to end your trip to Fiji and a good place to use as a day trip to an Island we went to Beachcomber and some friends of ours went to Cloud 9 as well. Pick up a few of your own drinks as it is great to sit on left foot island and watch the sunset or have a few drinks on the deck. We had a yum lovo for lunch on the sunday, and loved the shows on the Friday and Saturday nights. The singers they bring in every night to entertain while you eat are old school but lovely to listen too and took requests which was great. Vinaka Sai, Kelly and all the other wonderful staff, highly recommend your wonderful resort which has a great feeling too it.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms have gorgeous views of sunsets and it is so nice to sit in the covered veranda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a small resort located north of Nadi. At the time the resort was still going through repairs from Cyclone Evan so there was a lot of building noise and activity. I stayed in a beachfront spa bure. There was plenty of room. It was basic, clean and tidy. Did have a couple of hiccups within the room with the safe not working and a leaking electric jug but reception sorted this out. The messages left on the bed each day was a nice touch. The fish dishes I had were delicious and the cocktails were great. Interacting with other guests and staff at night with kava and island night was a highlight as there was a lot of laughter. It is the staff that made the stay most enjoyable. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, NZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

First Landing was the first stop on our holiday arriving around 9pm from the airport. The resort provided a driver to pick us up from the airport, and he was a hit with the kids so ended up being our requested driver for other local activities.
We stayed in a deluxe garden bure which was excellent. It had a separate main bedroom, plenty of space for all four of us. We had a stove top in our bure, along with a full size fridge/freezer, and there was enormous storage space both in the kitchen and bathroom. There was an enclosed deck (insect netting), and we really appreciated the air conditioning inside. It was a shame there wasn't an outside deck to relax on.
The staff were really friendly, especially Sai the activity guy / pool side guy. He was a hit with our 10 year old, who spent hours in the pool and enjoyed how Sai was really interactive and fun. Plenty of bula's around for everyone!!
The restaurant did a great continental breakfast, and lovely meals at night. Quality top-class meals with a good kids menu. Entertainment each night either a couple on the guitar / ukulele or polynesian dancing, choir etc.
We didn't go to the beach, apart from a walk around, as there wasn't really an area for swimming or chairs for lazing around. We made the most of the pool side for this, probably a disappointment that there wasn't really the beach swimming, however we were going to get this when on Mana Island.
The marina next door is easy to get to and has a convenience store for bits and pieces and an ATM. We had a lunch at the restaurant which was really nice too, and great to watch the boats coming and going.
The staff at FL were very knowledgeable about local things to do, and helped out immediately with any questions we had. The Sabeto mud pools were great, and instead of going to the nearby school for our visit, our driver took us to a school in a village further away which was less likely to receive visitors/donations. It was the little things like this that made it personable.
Overall a really nice experience and a bigger hit with the kids than Mana Island Resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Landing Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Landing Beach Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our first guests arrived 3,500 years ago and liked the place so much, they stayed ...According to local legend, the first Fijians arrived around 1500 BC, landing on the beach at First Landing. Today, you too can discover and enjoy this intimate, authentic Fijian resort, ideally located only 25 minutes away from Nadi and 35 minutes from Denarau Island, for your Fiji holiday. The resort has easy access to the nearby Mamanuca Islands, by boat from the resort’s new jetty or adjacent Vuda Yacht Marina daily. The resort is nestled amidst magnificent tropical gardens, majestic palms and massive rain trees, just 15 minutes by road from Nadi Airport, and blessed with one of the only white sand beaches in the Nadi area. The beach faces due west, giving breathtaking sunsets across the nearby islands. We are a small, owner-operated resort, featuring a range of accommodation options from Fijian style Bures to our two bedroom, luxurious, self-catering Royal Villa or Garden Villas, each situated in their own enclosed tropical garden with a full sized pool. We also have a lively bar and popular beachside restaurant. We pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests, and the genuine hospitality of our staff will ensure your stay is a memorable one. First Landing Beach Resort is the perfect location for a destination stay in Fiji, in combination with an outer island resort or cruise or a short stop-over in Fiji due to our location. Come and learn about the fascinating history, culture and natural heritage of this very special place.First Landing Beach Resort is famous for our true Bula Pride and Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Landing Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Landing Beach Resort & Villas
First Landing Beach Resort And Villas
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Lautoka
First Landing Beach Hotel
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.