We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. A touch of the real Fiji.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added First Landing Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coonabarabran, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic. A touch of the real Fiji.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for seven nights in a Garden Villa and we already can't wait to go back. In a nutshell:

Pros:
- Real Fijian feel. Denarau seemed a little too Western in comparison;
- The restaurant is fantastic with great food, plenty of options for kids and those who are more comfortable with food they're used to, excellent views and evening entertainment;
- Plenty of activities throughout the day;
- Close to Nadi, Nadi airport, Garden of the Sleeping Giant, Sabeto Hot Springs, Viseisei village, Lautoka (we didn't go there). Port Denarau was a 40 minute drive but it didn't feel like it as we admired the landscape and Fijian life each time we drove there;
- Two day cruises (Oolala Savala and 'Whale's Tale') pick up from the resorts jetty;
- The housekeepers left messages on our bed each day which became a daily highlight;
- THE PEOPLE! Extremely friendly, very helpful and nothing was a problem.

Cons:
- Two hours by car from the Coral Coast and three hours to Suva. Four and six hours in a car seemed like a waste of time for us so we're going to stay on the Coral Coast for part of our next trip;
- Forty minutes drive to Port Denarau. The drive is fantastic and is great for couples but my wife and I are skeptical about driving 40 minutes to Denarau, taking a day trip to the Mamanuca's and driving 40 minutes back to the resort when we bring the kids with us on the next trip;
- Our villa didn't have an indoor spa (as per the images) and the water pressure of the outdoor showers could be better (the indoor showers are fine). We were advised to ask for one of the other villas next time we come back. In saying that, I will be staying in a Garden Villa when we return;
- The Boutique closes at 8pm so if you want snacks, buy them BEFORE dinner. Easy solution: eat dessert (the chocolate fondant mud cake was so good, the waiters knew what we were going to order on our last night);
- The staff are SO keen to help that often they would start helping me before I finished asking my questions. This lead to some miscommunication at times.

In a nutshell, my wife and I can't wait to return to First Landing and bring our kids with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    200
    55
    21
    15
See reviews for
157
242
27
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom pool villa.
Excellent villa with all amentities including dishwasher, washing machine and detergents.
Great pool that was nice and cool and had a good spa area in it.
Amanda, Darren and all of the staff were exceptional- with remembering everyones name, efficient service and nothing being a trouble for them. They were always happy and went about their work with a great attitude.
Housekeeping was done whilst we were out and everthing was kept spotless. Very nice messages on the bed each day.
Meals were excellent and reasonably priced- had burgers, seafood, pasta, steak and 6 varieties of pizza that were freshly made in the morning for a fishing trip (all delicious). The atmosphere around the bar in the evenings was fun and entertaining.
Amanda was great with suggesting day trips- had a great day with Oolala.
A welcome change after a 4 night stay on Denauru Island where you're 1 of thousands that are there and very impersonal.
Bula Amanda and vinaka.
Looking forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights mid-August 2012 in a garden view bure at the start of a two week Fiji holiday. What a relaxing experience! Only twenty minutes by cab ($25 Fijian) from Nadi airport it made a great first stop after the flight from Sydney.
Having just arrived in Fiji we spent our time at First Landing relaxing. Lots of swimming in the lovely pool and the ocean (only at high tide though) and reading in the hammocks dotted around the resort. A buffet continental breakfast was included in our room rate which was great and had a broader range then we expected.
Located next door is the marina. Definitely check this out – it is only a 5 minute walk. Millie in General Store is lovely and incredibly helpful. We also enjoyed the restaurant and bar at the marina - tasty meals and beers for slightly cheaper than the First Landing restaurant.
Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have just got around to writing a review. We ummed and ahhed about heading out to island for our first fiji visit, but decided we'd take a chance and stay on the mainland as we were only there for five nights and did not want to spend half our time traveling. Well, 15 minutes out of Nadi, and it was like being in an isolated paradise. There is a lot of whinging about this place not being perfect, and about the tide being out when you want a swim, but seriously, if you want 5 star luxury, go and pay for it at one of the super-expensive resorts. This place is about good food, an amazing vibe, totally chilled relaxation and above all the friendliest staff I've ever come across. We took a day trip to Treasure Island, and frankly, we couldn't wait to get back to the authentic, clean, peace and quiet of First Landing. Friends of ours stayed at Plantation Island at the same time and had an overpriced, horrid time. Special mention must be made of the unbelievable food, the bonfire nights, the visit to the local church and a farewell serenade that left me in tears. My First Landing...we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had five relaxing days. The staff are so friendly and nearly the whole place is ground level and lovely gardens to walk through. Did not miss what you get in Denarau: the crowds, the manicured edges, white concrete and 'battery-farm-for-tourists' that the other reviewer mentioned! The staff sometimes make mistakes, you have to remind them. It is quiet, but you can catch a cheap taxi to Lautoka, do the tours and visit the marina (also quiet!) with its general store, cafe and restaurant . We had massages. Our room was an ocean front bure and, even though we had booked a garden room, it felt like the perfect place with the large deck in front and sunsets - pretty and spacious. A couple of clattering geckos but insects were no problem (though I'd bring some repellant just in case). You have to negotiate your swimming on the tidal beach, but with the lagoon bits it is definitely possible, just different, and when I walked along it, I was joined by two dogs leaping out from nowhere, so I made a retreat! The breakfast was a pleasant surprise, more than just continental, and to eat al fresco and drink at the cute outdoor bar was great. Appreciated the table tennis and kayaks. There were really no negatives, I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The garden bures seemed pretty good too, but ocean fronts seem to be the same price and better value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have only been to one other hotel in my 20+ years of traveling that had staff of people that were as warm and friendly as the people that worked at this hotel. Everyone appeared to really enjoy working there. I heard my maid singing as she was cleaning the unit next door.I showed up at 6:00am from an all night flight from LA. The front desk didn't open till 7:00am. The security guard took care of my bags and found a vacant room and checked me in.. the security guard. If your looking for a high end resort this is not the place. The place was reasonable at 135.00 per night.It's located about 25 minutes from Nadi which is 15.00US cab ride. We stayed one night in their deluxe unit, if you are looking for bigger and more romantic, this place has living room and full kitchen. The food quality was excellent, I had one weak meal out of 7. Small resort, great place to go if you want to do nothing

Room Tip: If you want more space there is a deluxe bures, that is at the far end of the resort. It has full li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently stayed a week at the First Landing and were completely blown away by the wonderful staff there. After previously staying at a five star resort in Denarau we would return to First Landing hands down - what they don't have in 'stars' they exceed in friendliness and helpfulness. Amanda, the Guest Services Manager was fabulous and I’ve never met such a ‘hands on’ Guest Services Manager. She was always present, interested and proactive. She recommended the perfect room for our needs (1 year old and 4 year old) and had everything set up and personalised on arrival (the wee messages left on the bed are lovely). Amanda even arranged for a special birthday dinner for my husband when we arrived - they decorated the whole area and organised a birthday cake. It was a wonderful start to a wonderful holiday. At this dinner, we met Norman, the best waiter in the world! Throughout the week he exceeded our expectations and on several occasions he even kindly took our youngest child for 5 minutes so we could enjoy our dinner. He’s an all round great guy. Speaking of dinning, they have a great Continental breakfast and plenty of selection for lunch and dinner including some great daily specials. We also enjoyed having Aggie (who is employed also as a housemaid) as a babysitter. She was lovely and treated our children with the utmost kindness. They had a great time with her and all the other staff they spent time with. Within the first couple of days, everyone knew our names and especially our children’s names. We felt very special! One of the other great things about staying here was all this friendliness was contagious - the other guests were just as happy and friendly. Loved the place and thank you First Landing!

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on their website and feel free to ask them for what would best suit your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to First Landing Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Landing Beach Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our first guests arrived 3,500 years ago and liked the place so much, they stayed ...According to local legend, the first Fijians arrived around 1500 BC, landing on the beach at First Landing. Today, you too can discover and enjoy this intimate, authentic Fijian resort, ideally located only 25 minutes away from Nadi and 35 minutes from Denarau Island, for your Fiji holiday. The resort has easy access to the nearby Mamanuca Islands, by boat from the resort’s new jetty or adjacent Vuda Yacht Marina daily. The resort is nestled amidst magnificent tropical gardens, majestic palms and massive rain trees, just 15 minutes by road from Nadi Airport, and blessed with one of the only white sand beaches in the Nadi area. The beach faces due west, giving breathtaking sunsets across the nearby islands. We are a small, owner-operated resort, featuring a range of accommodation options from Fijian style Bures to our two bedroom, luxurious, self-catering Royal Villa or Garden Villas, each situated in their own enclosed tropical garden with a full sized pool. We also have a lively bar and popular beachside restaurant. We pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests, and the genuine hospitality of our staff will ensure your stay is a memorable one. First Landing Beach Resort is the perfect location for a destination stay in Fiji, in combination with an outer island resort or cruise or a short stop-over in Fiji due to our location. Come and learn about the fascinating history, culture and natural heritage of this very special place.First Landing Beach Resort is famous for our true Bula Pride and Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your First Landing Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Landing Beach Resort & Villas
First Landing Beach Resort And Villas
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Lautoka
First Landing Beach Hotel
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.