We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added First Landing Beach Resort & Villas to your Saves list
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We recently stayed a week at the First Landing and were completely blown away by the wonderful staff there. After previously staying at a five star resort in Denarau we would return to First Landing hands down - what they don't have in 'stars' they exceed in friendliness and helpfulness. Amanda, the Guest Services Manager was fabulous and I’ve never met such a ‘hands on’ Guest Services Manager. She was always present, interested and proactive. She recommended the perfect room for our needs (1 year old and 4 year old) and had everything set up and personalised on arrival (the wee messages left on the bed are lovely). Amanda even arranged for a special birthday dinner for my husband when we arrived - they decorated the whole area and organised a birthday cake. It was a wonderful start to a wonderful holiday. At this dinner, we met Norman, the best waiter in the world! Throughout the week he exceeded our expectations and on several occasions he even kindly took our youngest child for 5 minutes so we could enjoy our dinner. He’s an all round great guy. Speaking of dinning, they have a great Continental breakfast and plenty of selection for lunch and dinner including some great daily specials. We also enjoyed having Aggie (who is employed also as a housemaid) as a babysitter. She was lovely and treated our children with the utmost kindness. They had a great time with her and all the other staff they spent time with. Within the first couple of days, everyone knew our names and especially our children’s names. We felt very special! One of the other great things about staying here was all this friendliness was contagious - the other guests were just as happy and friendly. Loved the place and thank you First Landing!

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on their website and feel free to ask them for what would best suit your need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    182
    52
    21
    15
See reviews for
143
229
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
caves beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Sick of the extra travel to the coral coast and not fans of the 5 star impersonal resorts on Denarua we looked around last year and found First Landing and the Fiji we fell in love with 20 yrs ago.We only stayed here last year for 8 nights but were welcomed back as old friends.Really couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.
If you want glitz and glamour this is not for you-this is rustic Fiji hospitality at it's best.The staff are allowed the time to interact with you and truely become your friends.'
More accommodation has been buil tand looks great but we still prefer our Beach Side Bure's-you get to know those around you-Villas and Apartments are good for privacey.
Menu has improved.We acknowledge Darren had just taken over the reins last year-so thumbs up Darren!!.Thank god the pizzas are just the same YUMMMM!The Continental breakfast is sooooooooooooooo good-plenty,fresh and tasty.Juna suggested we lightly sprinkle salt on our pineapple slices-NICE!Hot breakfast nice also -Cheers to Egg Queen Kiti!!
The marina next door gives you an alternative for drinks and food but prices and quality dont differ. But please people where ever you buy things mentally convert it back to your country's currency- You will find it not so dear.
You must take the local bus into Lautoka- Staff will tell you where and when. $1.60 gets you the ride of your life! We bought a bag of tomatoes from the markets for $2 and had them on toast for breakfast-Yummo! Taxi back cost $20. Buses also leave to Nadi- Worth a visit but alot more touting in there.
A visit to the mud pools is a definate- Cant believe ive never done it before and cant wait to do it again.
My daughter and her fiance did the day trip to beach comber island and enjoyed it but next time will budget for either oo la lah or whale tale after talking to other guests.
Pool is plenty big enough, ample sun beds and swimming at high tide is possible in ocean but Fiji is surrounded by coral reefs so be careful and ask locals for advice.
FL has plenty of activities and my advice is to just join in- Your experience will be so much better- But sitting around the bar talking to the other guests and the "Old Salts" from the marina is just as entertaining.
If you have enough room please take unwanted clean clothes for the villages and school supplies (exercise books, pens, textas etc) Amanda will point you in the right direction and the kids are so grateful. Take some caramelo koalas and freddo frogs- Chocolates are expensive and the kids ( and big kids) go beserk for them.
The biggest regret i have about FL is leaving- Walked up the long pathway at 6am mentally singing Isa Lei with a tear in my eye.
Bula Norman, Masi, Manasa, Joe x2, Koso, Ismeli, Waqa and the band boys (great cd) Mere x3, Kiti, Buna, Salome, Choka, Ana, Rusilla, Margie, Elenora and Juna our driver. If we missed anyone- we forget your name not you.
A big vinaka to Amanda and Darren- You and your team are simply the best, this is why we will be back. xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel47
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at First Landing on our first trip to Fiji for the first week and loved every second of it. The staff there were some of the friendliest, nicest people we had ever encountered and really made our stay in Fiji special and memorable. They were extremely personable and kind. The rooms were clean and spacious - the beach was a few footsteps away with spectacular views. The food was also amazing. We had some amazing meals with good people and good conversation at night underneath the stars. Bu the best part of this hotel was really the Figian hospitality and warm-hearted staff. I have never left a hotel with such a fond impression of the staff - we knew many of them on a first name basis by the time we left. This is truly an amazing find.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our second visit in just over twelve months, it was just as we expected and we were just as delighted. We stayed in a beach front bure(again!). Our porter (Kosovo) greeted us on arrival and even though we spent a lot of time out and about, every time we arrived back he would welcome us by name (just one of the many lovely welcoming touches this resort and its staff provide). We had a complimentary fruit punch waiting for us in the bar on our first day and a free 15 min massage voucher. This time I visited the Day Spa for a full body massage and a head massage, and it was worth every cent.

The complimentary breakfast is fresh, colourful and very tasty. The evening menu is large and varied. We chose from the specials menu and the standard menu each evening, and the results were divine - with eye catching presentation and the wow flavours! (special note of the seared tuna rolled in black pepper!)

This is a smaller resort, but having spent a lot of time visiting a large number of resorts around Nadi, Denarau, Lautoka, Coral Coast and the Pacific Coast, we are even more enamoured with the First Landing as the place to stay for a truely relaxing and authentic Fijian resort holiday or short break. It offers a unique feel (the staff are friendly, they care enough to remember who you are even if you are there for a short time), and the "Fiji Island holiday" outlook without the feeling that you are in a battery farm for tourists.

You may not wish to swim in the lagoon, but then which lagoon on the main island can you do this or would you wish to?? Most tourists choose to travel to one of the outer islands for this experience, and a word of advice ... check the tides before you do, the tides are out of the resort's control (strange but true!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We got married at First Landing in May this year and it was SPECTACULAR!!! Like others have said, this is not some super fancy "la-di-da" place but I could not possibly fault it! For the wedding we had a lot of family stay at the resort and it felt like we had the entire place to ourselves!

Like many places in Fiji, once the tide is out the beach is not as beautiful as when it is in but if you do your research you are aware before you arrive so it shouldn't come as a surprise. The tide isn't out all day every day though so the majority of the time the veiw is fantastic and there is a gorgeous chanel next to "Foot island" that we loved to swim in.

The food was delicous, cooked to order with not a long wait almost every night. There were a lot of us at the time too but nothing was ever any trouble. As long as you keep an eye on how much you are eating and drinking then the price is reasonable!

The service 100% could not have been better. The Manager , Amanda was so lovely and helped out beyond expectation. My sister was ill on the day of our wedding and Amanda called in a Dr from town and did everything in her power to make sure she was well enough. I also had flu symptoms a few days out and she had the chef cook me up a special, spicy tea to drink. It did wonders!! If you're ever in need of a detox it's the way to go!
We all fell in love with Norman, he did anything and everything to make sure we were all comfortable and happy. As did all the other staff!

We stayed in a garden Villa. AMAZING!! It was private...secluded and made us feel like we were all alone even though we were only about a 60 second stroll to the water and everything/everyone else.

Shalini was wonderful as our onsite wedding coordinator. Unfortunately at the time of day we chose to have the ceremony the tide was out, we got married on the end of Foot island and although most the organising was done via email with Amber at "Weddings in the Pacific" (who was FANTASTIC!!!) there were little bits and peices when we got there to choose from that were unexpected! Nothing was too much trouble. For example, I wanted to get married on the sand but foot island was covered in grass. On the morning of the ceremony the male staff members took wheelbarrows full of sand to the end of the very long island and created the aisle of sand with a large heart surrounded by flowers.

I know that this seems long winded but I truely hope this is helpful to anyone who reads it. My husband and I cannot wait to go back! We've only been married a few months and I've already hit him up to go back in 10 years to renew our vows!!

Room Tip: Garden Villa's are the way to go for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family and I returned from our Fijian holiday recently and have decided to return for Christmas! Booking First Landing at near to the last minute we weren't too show what to expect - but we were far from happy- the resort is amazing! We could not find one fault anywhere!

We were booked to stay at FL for 3 nights then travelling to the Coral Coast for another 4 nights - but after staying in this beautiful, super-friendly, spacious, excellent resort and then checking in to our not nearly as nice hotel we decided to check out and travel back to FL were we stayed for the rest of our week.

My family and I (4 of us) stayed in the Beachfront Spa Bure which was fantastic. From the room you can see the private garden in front of the bures and the beach. The large swimming beach is just on the other side of the jetty. The garden and beach are very quiet & relaxing with numerous hammocks and beach chairs.

Food is spot on! Meals that you would find in a inner-Sydney restaurant but for a third of the price. Definitely try the mango dessert and Blue Fiji cocktail.

The pool is large and very clean with a shallower end for the little ones. Daily activities for kids and adults take place around the resort, with each day being different - whether it be a reef walk, fish feeding, cocktail class etc

Some worry about the 'Fiji Time' about how transfers etc might be delayed - don't worry be happy you're on holidays! The only time we encountered a delay out of our whole week was a less than 10 minute wait for our bus from the island day trip back to FL. So there's nothing to worry about.

The staff are above and beyond! They learn your name from day one and really love getting to know you (wouldn't find hospitality like that in many of the bigger hotels). They are exceptional and are so helpful and caring.

I would 150% recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed! Bula Vinaka

Room Tip: Stay in a Beachfront Spa Bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nrth NSW
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just returned from 11 nights in a Beachfront Bure at First Landing. This is our 2nd visit , our 1st time with our 2 girls. We all loved it !
The Beachfront Bure was large and spacious for the 4 of us , and the messages in flowers and leaves on the beds each day were gorgeous. Again , the staff were all amazing , and treated us so well. The kids had an absolute ball at the resort and enjoyed playing with the others kids and also local Fijian kids on school holidays. Who needs TV or kids club !!
The food was fantastic , especially the fresh seafood. The prices were very reasonable when converted back to AUD also ! The new manager Amanda has made some great improvements , and now there is entertainment Friday , Saturday and Sunday night. The Friday night Meke performed by the staff was fantastic , as was the BBQ on the beach. Saturday night a local Fire Dance Troupe perform and its awesome.
All the guests were up dancing and having a great time !
We were with a large family group to celebrate a few birthdays and the staff bent over backwards to accommodate us at every meal !
The pool is large and quite lovely , with plenty of sun loungers and new matresses.
Local tours can be booked through Ada at Rosie Tours on site ( give plenty of notice as the Whales Tale boat cruise gets very busy ) , and a driver can be organised through reception. We visited the local mud pools , Valley of the sleeping Giant and Lautoka with a mini bus and driver booked through FL. Great day !
We also went on the Oolala day cruise from FL and all had a great day , highly recommended !

The sunsets at First Landing are really special and extra beautiful at high tide. We walked up the beach and swam one day at high tide and also swam in the channel at all tides, right next to the Foot Island.
I also had a fantastic massage through the Spa on site !
All in all a great small resort , not flashy , just a lovely friendly place. The staff are just so amazing and so helpful .
Thank you in particular to Norman , Mere ( x 2 ) , Navi , Joe , Masi , Wangi , Manasa , Setu ,Nancy , Joe , Amanda and Darren. All the staff deserve a great big thank you !
Bula Vinaka First Landing ! See you next time !

Room Tip: Beachfront Bure 302., 303, 304 are my favourites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Landing Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Landing Beach Resort & Villas

Address: Vuda Point Road | Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Landing Beach Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our first guests arrived 3,500 years ago and liked the place so much, they stayed ...According to local legend, the first Fijians arrived around 1500 BC, landing on the beach at First Landing. Today, you too can discover and enjoy this intimate, authentic Fijian resort, ideally located only 25 minutes away from Nadi and 35 minutes from Denarau Island, for your Fiji holiday. The resort has easy access to the nearby Mamanuca Islands, by boat from the resort’s new jetty or adjacent Vuda Yacht Marina daily. The resort is nestled amidst magnificent tropical gardens, majestic palms and massive rain trees, just 15 minutes by road from Nadi Airport, and blessed with one of the only white sand beaches in the Nadi area. The beach faces due west, giving breathtaking sunsets across the nearby islands. We are a small, owner-operated resort, featuring a range of accommodation options from Fijian style Bures to our two bedroom, luxurious, self-catering Royal Villa or Garden Villas, each situated in their own enclosed tropical garden with a full sized pool. We also have a lively bar and popular beachside restaurant. We pride ourselves on personal attention to our guests, and the genuine hospitality of our staff will ensure your stay is a memorable one. First Landing Beach Resort is the perfect location for a destination stay in Fiji, in combination with an outer island resort or cruise or a short stop-over in Fiji due to our location. Come and learn about the fascinating history, culture and natural heritage of this very special place.First Landing Beach Resort is famous for our true Bula Pride and Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your First Landing Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Landing Beach Resort & Villas
First Landing Beach Resort And Villas
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Lautoka
First Landing Beach Hotel
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Landing Beach Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.