We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OH MY GOD! What a place! Don't go there if it's still open” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bekana Garden Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lautoka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bekana Garden Island Resort
Save
You added Bekana Garden Island Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bekana Island, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Flintshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OH MY GOD! What a place! Don't go there if it's still open”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We were going to Fiji after spending 2 weeks in New Zealand's North Island. (By the way NZ is beautiful and friendly, unlike this place). Well what can we say about the Bekana Island resort, well it's probably the worst place I've ever stayed in, albeit for 2 nights. (Please take into account I spent 5 years in a NATO roled TA unit and stayed in some pretty rough places, including German forests during October).

When we first arrived there we were stunned at the place, got it was dirty, and as 1 or 2 have said reception weren't the most friendly. After being shown to our Bure, HA! HA!, we showered and went to find the advertised Diving facilities. We've never had diving here but we can arrange for diving for you from the capital we were told. We then took a quick stroll around the Island, OH MY GOD! We were eaten alive by Mosquitoes. We put this down to it being close to evening.

The evening meal was only just edible. Breakfast the following wasn't much better. We used the excuse I had to use the internet to get my email as there was urgent famliy business to attend to. We found our 2nd choice of hotel in Fiji rang them and booked in for the following day. During the remainder of our last day in Bekana we were eat alive by mosquitoes, which seemed to work a 24 shift pattern. We moved onto SeaShells@momi bay. Now that's a much better place to stay. The new block, although not near the sea is lovely.

So if Bekana Island hovel is still open which I hope it isn't, don't go there!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Bekana island....sweet people but now more staff than guests. The views are spectacular from the bure 'on' the beach. The staff are pleasant and fairly attentive. It is not up to the cleanliness par of many travelers, the meals were poor to inedible..., but the kava flowed freely and we were serenaded each evening by the young men living there. We took the boat to the out island for diving and the staff spearfished, caught a few and made us lunch on the island. The service boat for the resort leaks a bit. I would recommend this for more adventurous and tolerant travelers who want privacy more than luxury, a good price and definitely bring your own food and drink. Yes..they do turn off the electric from 10am to 5pm....

  • Liked — It was off the main island
  • Disliked — inedible or poor food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busdriver76
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

I read some good reviews about this hotel and decided to book, the manager offered us an apparently good deal which gave us a free upgrade if we booked promptly and directly with the hotel. They told us they were unable to accept credit cards and could only accept a bank transfer. We sent a bank transfer of FJ$500 in June. I wrote to them yesterday asking if they could arrange a pick up at the airport, the manager has now written back telling me that they are now closed for business and that they will not refund the deposit paid even though they can not provide accomodation as booked. The manager Mr Khan is a Khan-Artist, please avoid this place like the plague. Also another traveller has vivid pictures which have appeared since we booked showing a dirty island with prices dependant on wind direction.

  • Liked — The pictures look great however ......................
  • Disliked — we never got to stay there as they took our money and ran!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

We had slightly higher expectations of Fiji, though we understood it is poor, it is a popular tourist destination, and if nothing else, try to keep the place clean. Instead, we didn't see the Fiji of Pristine azure water, and beautiful beaches, but rather a dirty run-down sort of place where garbage is pile up on the beaches, and little effort is made to keep the place tidy. So this stay left us feeling a little disappointed. We chose this "resort" because we really wanted to stay in a traditional Bure, and enjoy an island experience.

From the airport we caught a taxi to the Lautoka wharf, only 30 FJD. But our taxi driver didn't really know where to go, but eventually found the spot. At the wharf, we had a couple of Fijians saying "Bekana, over here", in a rather unseaworthy looking, unmarked boat. We were a little suspicious, but figured we don't see anyone else or any signs so I guess this must be it. They were friendly enough, helped us with our luggage, and got us to the island, albeit slowly. The receptionist wasn't overly warm, but did greet us with a couple of island style drinks. We had booked a traditional Bure, wanting the sort of authentic island experience, but due to heavy rains, it was too musty and dank, so to their credit, they upgraded us for free to a more modern unit. They also allowed us to check in at noon, since our place was already ready.

Breakfast in the morning was basic but sufficient. Toast, cereal, fruit and juice. The other meals there were not fantastic, particularly for the prices they charged. Our first lunch meal, the meat tasted slightly off in the spaghetti sauce, and we weren't too excited to eat it. We ended up going to Lautoka and buying some groceries and making our own lunch for a couple of days. It's cheap and easy to catch a bus into the city from the wharf and you can get a decent lunch for 3 or 4 FJD. At the resort, the menu was often just a hand written list on a piece of paper with prices decided on a whim. Lunch and Dinner seemed often overpriced, although one night we did have a nice curry buffet. There were not too many guests, so we found our stay rather boring, as no scheduled activities took place, other than the welcoming Kava ceremony which took place the night before we left.

Most of the employees were friendly, big Eddie taught us a card game, and we enjoyed his company. some of the other guys tried to sing and play guitar at dinner and amuse us. I did get to use their internet facilities once, which I appreciated.

Overall it was a disappointing experience. Granted it was during slow season, but they could still try to maintain the place, because there were still guests coming and going. I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt and believe that during busy season it is a more vibrant place to be. They did arrange a transfer to our next hotel, which was only 10 FJD. I would say if you are going during slow season, pick a different place. Also, the photos shown on the website are clearly saturated to try to give more color to them. See my attached photos for an honest look at what to expect.

  • Liked — The room was comfortable with air conditioning
  • Disliked — Untidiness, boring, no activities, no gear available for use
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Bekana island resort, should read bekana camping holiday, we were asked to pay up before arrival so no refunds could apply they only tell you when you arrive that the power is turned off for 10 hours in every 24.We stayed for 3 nights without any hot water and then got an upgraded room with water and should be happy with that.We were with a group, and people already staying there told us the prices for food and drink were put up the day before we arrived. We did not buy anything on the island for 2 days and surprise surprise the prices came down and other stories about half the lights not working are true because they take half the bulbs to save on generator power.The paid staff on the island are the only bright light on the island and they will really go out of their way to help. Transfers to mainland for arrival and departure are included but any other transfers are a different price at their whim what they feel like today. Quoted prices to me in australia in emails mean nothing unless you remember to bring them to prove a point or will be denied ever sent.Some of our group left the island rather than stay. Queensland Australia

  • Liked — power and hot water
  • Disliked — power and hot water
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

Unlike In-susan-ity (NZ) and vjkanicki I love Bekana, the island, the food, the people, Bow the Dog and the rooms. I am about to return for my 7th trip in 3 years and this time there are 7 of us going - 5 of us are repeat travellers. I have travelled to other islands and stayed on some, none can match Bekana for personal service and friendliness. Dont these people realise that on holiday in Fiji you should relax and adapt to Fiji Time, it will happen and who cares if it is a bit slow, you are on holiday. MOST of the people I have met on Bekana have been great people and I have made many friends. A few unfortunate people and I suspect the above are some of them should never get out of 5 star wrapping, maybe they should pay a bazillion dollars and take a helicopter transfer to Vomo or some such luxury resort and think they are in the real Fiji. The staff on Bekana mostly come from the Namoli Village and a really special experience is to visit the village church on Sunday and be surrounded by the most beautiful singing from the choir that I have ever heard. So to Alex and his team, keep up the good work and see you next week.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Bula,

That is the word you will most here on this Island paradise........

My fiancee and I spent 6 of the most wonderful days on this island paradise. From the moment we were picked up from the Airport to the moment we left we were treated like royalty.
We arrived late at night (11ish) and everthing had been organised by the resort as promised, Ali the taxi driver was there waiting at the airport and i would like to add the price we were quoted was all we paid we were never asked for a tip so i dont understand why the last comment would even say that.
When we got to the port the boat was waiting. We were greeted with a smile and taken to the Island, when we got close to the Island the staff that greeted us were waiting (in shocking weather conditions) playing their guitars to welcome us.
We were shown to our Beach front deluxe room, which was clean and decorated with tropical flowers.
We awoke to a beautiful view over looking the water and the mountains in the distance. The sand was cleaned daily and the water was crystal clear.
The restaurant was always clean and we were served with in minutes of arriving, food did take about 20 to 30 minutes as it was freshly cooked to order no complaints from any of us it was served beautifully and tasted fantastic and presented in the highest quality.
The staff at the resort entertained us daily with live music and made us feel like we were special. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We could do as little as we wanted or as much as we liked as they were there to cater to our needs.
The only thing I can fault is the pool, which was not fit to swim in due to maintenance being carried out to rectify the problem. (to no fault of the resort).
If you want a relaxing, homely, traditional holiday experience I would recommend Bekana Gardens as number one place to stay. I will be spreading the word back here in Australia.....

Just a very, very big thank you to Simon, Ronnie, Keni, James, Milly and Bow (THE DOG) for making our holiday so great..Vinarka you guys rock.....

We will be back again, with family and friends xxxxxx

Jan and Steve,
Queensland , Australia

  • Liked — good position on beach, hammock at front door and great views of ocean and the staff were great
  • Disliked — the pool as it was under maintenance, make sure you take some aeroguard fro mozzies
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bekana Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bekana Garden Island Resort

Address: Bekana Island, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bekana Garden Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bekana Garden Island Hotel Lautoka
Bekana Garden Island Lautoka
Bekana Garden Island Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bekana Garden Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.