We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hidden place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fiji Orchid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fiji Orchid to your Saves list
The Fiji Orchid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saweni Beach Rd | PO Box 6589, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A small hidden place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This small resort with only 6 burr in a middle of a huge Orchid garden is like an other world.
Raymond Burr 's home at Fiji and now a small resort.
again with super friendly people at top service.
Where do you get a breakfast 5.30 in the morning because you have to go to the airport, fantastic!

Room Tip: No wifi in room only in restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fiji Orchid at the beginning of our Honeymoon in Fiji. We were cautious when we first arrived because it was 5am and everyone seemed to be way too nice. Everyone IS VERY NICE in Fiji. We were greeted by a few guys who directed us to our driver and he grabbed our bags and pulled the car over and took us to the Orchid.

We stayed 4 nights that were very nice and restful. We were the only ones at the resort for the first 3 days. The staff was great and food was very good. The resort is not close enough to walk anywhere for food so you pretty much have to eat at the resort. We were not disappointed in the food but lunch/dinner was a bit expensive. Breakfast was the only meal included in the price of the resort. Also the transfers to excursions is not included, so keep that in mind if you want to go anywhere. That was not discussed but we were told by our driver that he could take us anywhere we wanted. We did have an excursion provided by the Orchid to the Garden of the Sleeping Giant and a shopping trip into town. The Garden was awesome and had many awesome flowers. I would recommend going there. Then we went to the market area. I would NOT recommend going here but to the smaller markets on a side dirt street.

The Bure itself was nice and clean. The shower was awesome and bed was very comfortable. Our mosquito net was put over our bed each night and was pretty private with curtains to block sun and others.

With being the only ones at the resort and remote from ANYTHING nearby, there was little to do after dinner. The only tv and wifi is in the restaurant/lounge. This wasn't that big of an issue, because we were very tired and still adjusting to the time change.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fiji Orchid one night before catching our flight to the Yasawa Island Resort and Spa, and I'm glad we did. Their driver met us at the airport when our flight from LAX arrived at 6:30 in the morning. The nice thing is that we were able to check in and go directly to our bure ... Perfect after traveling all night.

After sleeping for a couple of hours, we enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the restaurant, and then hired the hotel's driver to take us on a tour of the area. One highlight to not miss is the Hindu temple. We also went into downtown Nadi for a quick shopping trip before returning to the hotel.

Ab unexpected delight was napping by the pool ... and waking up to a heavy downpour! Fortunately we were under a nice umbrella ... and a staff member brought us umbrellas to get back to our bure and to the dining room for an excellent dinner. Be sure to try the drink specials mixed up by Ledge ... Especially the one that carries his name!

All in all, the Fiji Orchid was a great place to rest up before continuing on our journey ... My only regret is that we only spent one night! But this won't be our only time going to Fiji ... So I expect there will be another opportunity to experience this delightful little hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stopped here just for the day on the way back from its sister resort, Nukubati Private Island. We were originally going to spend the day in Nadi but were not impressed on our trip over. The owner of Nukubati arranged for us to stay here instead. They organised a driver to take us into Lautoka to go shopping for fabric and souvenirs. We spent the rest of the day relaxing with books and enjoying the peaceful surroundings. We had a nice dinner before flying out that night. Next time we go to Nukubati we will definitely stay here instead of in Nadi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fiji Orchid for the last two days of our honeymoon before heading back to the States. We were coming from Turtle Island and wanted to maintain the small resort and high quality feel that we just experienced. This little oasis proved to be just what we needed. The bures are wonderfully unique and the gardens are absolutely pristine. The staff was very attentive to our needs and went above and beyond to make our stay very special. The meals were wonderful with fresh food and bread baked daily and were catered around our schedule. We spent most of our time relaxing at the pool where they have a neat little spa bure for massages.

We were blessed to have spent an evening at dinner with the owners, Peter and Jenny Bourke, who were very gracious with their time. Many Thanks to the entire staff - Mitimiti, Ledge, Leila, Ana, Joe and Lotte. They are wonderful people and their support and attentiveness made our time at Fiji Orchid very special.

We can't wait to return to Fiji Orchid on our next visit to the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Fiji Orchid is absolutely phenomenal. We loved every second of our stay and made lifelong friends with owners and staff. I was moved by the peacefulness of the entire property. I traveled to the amazing market in Lautoka, ate wonderful meals at The Fiji Orchid and finished my evenings with cool cocktails and juices in the main house. Clearly this is one of the nicer, if not nicest, lodging and dining in all the country.

Room Tip: All bures are private and an escape from the ordinary. Allow Ana and Ledge to take care of you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Fiji Orchid was our first taste of Fiji when we went for our Honeymoon in Oct 2012 (I know this review is extremely overdue!). We stayed here for two nights before headed to its sister’s resort, Nukubati. The resort is located in this greenery forest-like ground. You'll feel secluded and surrounded by tropical greens. The bure is modern and a/c (it actually got too cold for us one night lol)! It doesn't have much decor but gives off a sophisticated feeling. It was a great first-leg of our trip. The host, Jenny, was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We loved to chat with her whenever we had a chance. Her staff was friendly and accommodating as well. Her driver/tour guide took us to the market place and local eatery. He gave us a quick Fiji history, government and economy lecture. It was fun and informative.

We can’t say how much we love Jenny. She went out her way to take care of us. The Pacific Sun airline had to reroute us to another airport, but never told us in advance. We didn’t know about it until Jenny gave us a courtesy email. She then talked to the airline on our behalf and scheduled the itinerary changes. She even went to the airport with us to make sure we were good to go. She was great.

The only negative (would only take half a star off if TripAdvisor would allow it) is the price. The bure came with the Nukubati package, but food, tour trips, and so forth were extra. The food was delicious and tour was enjoyable; they were just pricier than the other places we stayed.
Overall, highly recommend Fiji Orchid as the couple’s first or last leg (although we didn’t stay here on our return trip) of their travel over other resorts in Nadi. It’s a great way to start get spoiled and welcomed to your Fiji-honeymoon :)

Room Tip: All the bures are the same. For more privacy, we had bure 6 that's all the way in the back and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fiji Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fiji Orchid

Address: Saweni Beach Rd | PO Box 6589, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fiji Orchid 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary near Nadi where travelers relax and refresh before or after a trip to their remote Fijian island paradise. With six villas, Fiji Orchid is very private and exclusive. Incorporating restaurant, bar, lounge, boutique and swimming pool, the hotel also offers day-rooms for those awaiting connecting flights from nearby Nadi International Airport. Stay either end of your island escape and discover Fiji as it should be. Full Concierge service including complimentary airport transfers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fiji Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fiji Orchid Hotel Lautoka
The Fiji Orchid Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fiji Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.