We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fiji Orchid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fiji Orchid to your Saves list
The Fiji Orchid
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saweni Beach Rd | PO Box 6589, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We only stayed here for one night and we had quite mixed feelings.
The hotel, the 6 Bures are definitely great and cool from the design (built as big tents), but not so much in the room and also around the area. The hotel is located 30 minutes from the airport but in the middle of nowhere. And they actually asked for 35 FJD for one way transfer to Nadi, so we stayed in the hotel but there was nothing much to do. It's a great garden but in 10 minutes you have seen everything... The food is really good but also bit expensive. 65 FJD per person without drinks. And you have to pay even extra for breakfast what was shocking as for the price I expected it to be included. And it was a bit noisy during the night as the sugarcane train is directly behind the Bures. If you only have a short layover, I would rather recommend something nearer to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We bookended a brief trip out to the Yasawa islands with overnight stays at the Orchid, and we couldn't recommend it highly enough, particularly if your time is short and you want something other than just a pre/post airport crash. While it is expensive the service and quality lives up to the price tag - from the bures to the spectacular food and beautiful pool. As there are only six bures you get fantastic, personalised service - we really appreciated the option to have a very very late check out (3pm) without incurring extra charges, the ability to have breakfast/lunch/dinner whenever we wanted in a lush tropical gardn setting, plus the comp transfers. Check out driver Shiva's restaurant if you have time - we couldn't but were really impressed by his determination to set up a small business in what is still a military dictatorship, and will definitely go next time. Oh - and the gorgeous tabby cats, Molly and Enrico, will try to distract you from the food and surroundings. Up to you if you let them or not!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

yes, some could nitpick, but I have found my paradise. Perfect for the short stay (I stayed at the start and end of my holiday). Would normally avoid Nadi and surrounds, but had no choice this time but what great fortune for me to find this little gem for my stay. In fact, I'll be organising my trips to make sure I INCLUDE a stay at Fiji Orchid next time! For those that want the intimacy of a small hotel and enjoy stunning garden surrounds ........ this is it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Fiji Orchid is certainly one of the more unusual places I've stayed. Set up as a kind of luxury transit stop for resort-goers, it makes you want to use the 'oasis' cliche to describe it, but cliche it is not.

Just a few minutes from Nadi International airport, it is located on the grounds of the former hideaway for TV-star Raymond Burr and using his famous orchid garden, hence the name. The idea being to set the mood for your forthcoming resort stay or wind down gracefully on your way home. The same owners have Nukubati Island, so if you're headed there, chances are you'll be booked here as well if you need to stay over.

I stayed just one night, as most folks will do and enjoyed a blissful rest in one of the six bures built on site. The reception area is Burr's old residence while above is the restaurant, bar, lounge, office and a meeting room. You can book either day use or overnight and rates include airport transfer.

The restaurant is just fine with food with a luxury flavour, plus you can relax in the big lounge and just chill. There's also a pool or you can wander in the gardens or along the beach.

Well-trained local staff are an asset.

There's no TV in the bures, so you'll have to use the lounge and depending on the season, you'll need to take precautions against mosquitoes (but you're coming to Fiji and know that already). The bures have very effective and eco-friendly mozzie nets on the beds. Actually, because the bures are semi-open, noisy TVs from neighbouring bures would be a hassle, so good thinking team.

Beats a shabby hotel or bumming around the airport.

Room Tip: You can book either day rate or overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have traveled often to Fiji, so I was looking for something different to the resort package deals you get so often in Fiji.
Somewhere out of the way, quiet, lush, a pool and good food. I found it!
I was met at Nadi Airport and was promptly driven off to The Fiji Orchid. Jenny the host, welcomed me with light refreshments... the photos says it all!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Splendour in the Garden

The Fiji Orchid is a unique ‘stopover’ experience, which introduces you to “Fiji time” immediately. An eclectic mix of “old Hollywood” decadence framed by the splendour of Fiji’s native, natural landscape. This is a place for travellers who appreciate elegance, style and privacy. I have travelled to Fiji for 30+ years and, have enjoyed the pleasure and privilege of 5 star accommodations to back packer style. I can firmly endorse this place as owner Jenny Bourke would like to share with you “a sanctuary that will leave a lasting impression”.

The bures are gorgeous, outfitted in white, timber and discreet lighting. However inside there is no widescreen tv, stereo, or phones. Take your iPod as there is an outlet and a good book will be all you need. If you do want to distract yourself, a short stroll to the main dining and bar area has all you require.

The menu is delicate, full of fresh fruits and vegetables grown on site. The seafood some of the best I’ve had. Past posts have highlighted the restaurant as “pricey” however you are not only paying for delicious food; you get a private sanctuary like setting. There is no click-clacking of other diners, no open buffet, and no conveyor belt style service. I sat for breakfast and ate, read the papers drank coffee, small talk with other guests and that rolled into lunch... and that is what sets it apart.

A must try is the Orchid pie and the cocktail aptly named after your hostess Mitimiti; The Orchid Princess. The staff is well informed, attentive and exude the typical Fijian warmth, synonymous, with their hospitality industry. Special mention to Lai aka Ledge (who adores, the late Heath Ledger), Mela (Ambi Pur for her love of Air fresheners) and Kelera, for her amazing massage. In addition the furry staff ‘watch dogs’ Rolex and Seiko, and cats Molly and Enrique add to the character of the place.

Notably the bures are located to a public access road to Saweni Beach, the noise is minimal. The bures are a tent-like canvas so you will hear noises, birds, leaves on the roof, remember you are in a garden. Overall it is a beautiful start and end to a Fiji travel experience. One of Fiji’s best kept secrets...but not for long.

Room Tip: A massage day afer you arrive in the spa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We had a day room at the Fiji Orchid before departing for our flight back to the states. I had mixed feelings about the place. First, it is not 15 minutes from the airport as advertised, it is about 30. The staff was very friendly and welcomed us immediately upon arrival. The food was okay, we personally thought it was over priced for the quality. The area and setting are pretty, but there is not much to it. We walked around it all in 15 minutes and then there was nothing else to do. It is quite noisy because there is some road close by. Also, our bure was not very private at all. It seems pointless to have those wonderful windows if everyone can see you!
We found the rooms nice (we did not sleep so no idea on the comfort of the beds), they were mostly clean. We loved how you could open the bure up. I would recommend this for one night or a day room between travels. I would not personally suggest it for longer than that. We enjoy relaxing but we got bored in just the seven hours or so we spent there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fiji Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fiji Orchid

Address: Saweni Beach Rd | PO Box 6589, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fiji Orchid 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary near Nadi where travelers relax and refresh before or after a trip to their remote Fijian island paradise. With six villas, Fiji Orchid is very private and exclusive. Incorporating restaurant, bar, lounge, boutique and swimming pool, the hotel also offers day-rooms for those awaiting connecting flights from nearby Nadi International Airport. Stay either end of your island escape and discover Fiji as it should be. Full Concierge service including complimentary airport transfers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Fiji Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fiji Orchid Hotel Lautoka
The Fiji Orchid Lautoka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fiji Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.