We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful and adventurous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naveria Heights Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Naveria Heights Lodge to your Saves list
Naveria Heights Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Naveria | PO Box 437, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Savusavu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful and adventurous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at Naveria two separate nights between sorties through Fiji. Scott and Sharon graciously stored extra bags for us between stays. Their home and the separate bedrooms for guests is a beautiful place, with local hardwoods and comfortable furnishings. The views are remarkable from your private balcony and the communal balcony where you eat breakfast. The breakfast is very good too. The family is discrete but welcoming, and we ended up watching several Rugby World Cup matches with them, which was very fun! The walk to town is no small thing but not a hardship. Sharon graciously took us along on a planning trip for one of her upcoming adventure tours and we had a great time. Be sure and have her hook you up with her friend who has a wholesale kava factory, we came home with a kilo bag of quality product! Even if it does look a bit suspicious, customs let us through no problem! Also, and this is a big deal, some friends of ours stayed at the Hot Springs Hotel and woke up with bed bugs, and while we were in Savusavu the town water went out due to flooding; Naveria was neat, clean, and they have a rain-catchment system for water so we were never bothered. Bula Vinaka, Naveria!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
65
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Sharon and Scott are the perfect hosts. Accomodation is spacious, comfortable and private, with views to die for. Total relaxation enjoying the views or adventure activities of every variety from diving to mountain bikes and treks. Close to the town centre and great snorkeling at Split Rock, it is ideally located to take full advantage of everything Savu Savu has to offer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Bula! I stayed at Naveria Heights Lodge the first 2 nights of of a solo 8-week traveling adventure (started in Fiji then went to Australia, and Bali). It was by far one of my favorite places of the 8 weeks! Sharon was a wonderful host and made me feel right at home! The lodge is located about a 5-10 minute walk (a bit uphill) from town. Thank you thank you for making my first few days in Fiji and traveling on my own so memorable and amazing! I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when I return to Savusavu!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
levouka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

stayed for 2 nights and it wasnt long enough! were made to feel very welcome and all our needs catered for and more. beautiful family and a stunning house with views from every angle to match. breakfast served out on the deck overlooking the bay was healthy but very filling and lasted way past lunchtime!
amazing retreat and so helpful in terms of getting around savusavu and fiji.

Room Tip: paid only $10 extra for a king bed but it was worth it :) best sleep in months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 days of our honeymoon with Sharon and her family. The accommodations were spacious, clean, and exceeded all expectations. Mosquitoes were never a concern while sleeping and we actually got cold several nights (extra blankets were available).

The view was spectacular from our bedroom and the main living quarters. The hill to the B&B is steep but we enjoyed walking every night. If you don't want to walk up the hill, there are plenty of 4x4 taxis (a must to get up the hill) and the cost is very minimal (8 FJD from town).

The breakfasts were always plentiful and included fresh fruit, juice, granola, home baked breads, and many other healthy options. Sharon will ensure that your stay is everything that you hope by setting up excursions or directing you around town (Just ask!). When we make it back to Fiji we will definitely return to Savusavu and stay at Naveria Heights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Sharon and her family are amazing hosts in a gorgeous property. You're made to feel totally welcome while enjoying the stunnng views of the bay from the deck or the pool. If you want hiking, snorkelling, diving etc, this can all be easily arranged.
It's hard work walking up the hill but doesn't take as long as it looks!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I discovered Naveria Heights Lodge after a fairly random search online. After discovering its boutique nature and seeing the photos of the view, I was hooked. There are only 2 rooms and there is a delightful plunge pool with some of the best views I have ever seen, over Savusavu bay.

Savusavu itself is a stunning place, with excellent diving (should you be lucky enough to find a cheap drive to the dive operations, 15-20 minutes drive from Naveria Heights itself), beautiful views and great socialising with all the random yet friendly people who live in the town.

We were welcomed at Naveria by the most delicious fresh lemonade I have ever tasted. The decor is perfect (wood/cabin style), the rooms are perfect and the breakfast was delicious and healthy (lots of fruit and cereal and freshly baked breads! I did wish there was the option of eggs or a cooked breakfast, at least on one of the days we were there). The owners were friendly, although it was a little awkward at times because the distance between their living quarters and the guest quarters is not very well defined.

The only other minor criticism I have is the accessibility: you can't just 'pop into town' for example, because there is a steep and muddy hill in the way, which may pose hazards especially after heavy rains and after having dinner/drinks in town until later at night. We recommend that you bring hiking shoes (and feel comfortable wearing these into town when you go out at night), a flashlight (or two) and that you climb the hill quietly as sound travels and may wake up the owners. The owners do have plans to re-do the access road, but this is weather-dependent so it might take some time yet. There are a few 4x4 taxis in town that can handle the hill but make sure they are in town/available if you plan to use them. The hill will need to be tackled at one point or another because it is not entirely feasible to eat all meals in the Lodge.

Room Tip: The best room is the first one on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naveria Heights Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naveria Heights Lodge

Address: Naveria | PO Box 437, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naveria Heights Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique Bed & Breakfast accommodation.Relax and unwind in stunning boutique accommodation with spectacular ocean views.Located close to Savusavu town, the lodge is set in lush tropical gardens, has a tree-top plunge pool, and amazing views.All rooms are en-suite and have private deck/balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Naveria Heights Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naveria Heights Lodge Fiji/Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naveria Heights Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.