We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daku Resort to your Saves list
Daku Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade to Villa and pool
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

we spent a week at Daku in May and we had a great time. It's a very relaxing resort and the people running it are all really friendly. We were also upgraded to a room with it's own plunge pool as the standard rooms were full- a nice bonus. Raj the manager couldn't have been more helpful. The owner was at the resort when we stayed and she was lovely and again was very helpful.
The food is great at the resort, and the village trip is well worth it
The beach opposite the resort isn't that great but the pool is lovely and there are some great snorkelling spots near by. The diving that can be arranged from Daku is world class.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    127
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
74
116
105
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

In May, I spent a glorious, relaxed yet stimulating week in the naturally beautiful, intimate atmosphere of Daku. There for a singing workshop led by the extraordinary Rachel Hore, I also managed to read, swim, put a hibiscus behind my ear and do nothing, as well as talk with so many lovely co-workshoppers and friends - often around the long dining table where everyone was welcome. And my fingernails grew! No washing up, cooking, making my bed, cleaning - we were looked after so well by Keni and Mereoni and their family and constantly helped by them and Raj the resort manager. Nothing was ever too much trouble. One of my highlights was visiting Fijian villages and hearing the beautiful voices of the choirs and being able to share some of our songs with them.
Keni encouraged us to leave any problems we had behind us when we travelled home. But I had none to leave. The singing was a joy - especially up high in the yoga hut looking out across the water through the palm trees, sitting with a Pina Colada in hand and friends old and new around me, singing songs that bound us and checking out the sunset as it irradiated the night sky. Some terrific new connections and kindness from so many people. What a week! Thank you JJ, and all the Daku family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We came to attend a singing course. The opportunity to combine two of our favourite activites (singing and snorkelling) on a daily basis was incomparable. Easy access to posh resort (Costeau) for diving, savusavu for trinkets and indian tailors!, reefs for snorkelling and even a local scooter hire place. Who could complain!

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive or overbearing. Our bure was spotlessly clean and comfortable, with good beds and actually hot hot water (not always the case in fiji) and fresh towels every day. Food was excellent (particularly the kokoda!).

You may need to remind them to make coffee but they'll do it in a jiffy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I came to Daku for five nights and stayed for almost three weeks. It is a non-resort resort in the best ways – beautifully located, very relaxed atmosphere, handsome and very clean rooms (try to get the ones with the showers that open to the stars), great and tasty food, and extremely friendly owner and staff who will do everything they can to help you out yet will in no way overburden you with too much service. One spectacular bonus is the special groups they host – I was lucky to spend a week with choir singers who came from all over Australia and sang with the very talented choirs in the local villages, and half a week with a Yoga group – dinners held at a communal long table invariably result in the creation of some of the most interesting conversations…. In the midst of it all I decided to do a diving course at the nearby Cousteau Resort and not only got a great deal money-wise because of the close relationship with Daku, but also had a great instructor and amazing dives. If you do decide to venture to Vanua Levu and Savusavu, highly recommended in their own right, this is the place to be!

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Great program for choral singers, Rachel gets the best out of everyone, beginner to advanced. Daku's strength is it's friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks to Raj, Kenny and all the Daku extended family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

I have just spent a fabulous week at Daku Resort just outside Savusavu. Daku Resort itself is beautiful with lovely views over Savusavu Bay, but it was the staff, who were so welcoming and friendly, that made this a special place to stay. Unlike some resorts, where it’s hard to tell which country you’re actually in, Daku felt like an immersion into Fijian culture but with all western comforts.

Mealtimes at Daku were an especial highlight – the food was delicious (I still remember the curries), and the fact that everybody sits together makes it very sociable.

Delia, owner of Daku, happened to be in residence, and could not have been more helpful in ensuring everybody was well looked after. She invited the guests who were interested in snorkelling along on a couple of early morning trips to Split Rock which is just up the road from Daku. It’s a great snorkelling site, accessible from the road, and mentioned in all the guide books.

I borrowed a yoga mat and did my own yoga practice in Daku’s new Yoga Shala. There are yoga retreats held here and I could not imagine a more peaceful and scenic environment – the views from the shala, at the top of the resort are spectacular.

I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I stayed at Daku for 7 nights in May 2010. I'd checked out other options in Savusavu and decided on Daku after reading all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. It was great value and I wasn't disappointed.

The resort is value for money, small and intimate and the staff are friendly and helpful. Raj, the resort manager goes out of his way to ensure you're looked after during your stay.

This isn't your typical Western Fiji beach resort. There's no golden sandy beach on your doorstep, no children's club, no disco... and that's what I liked about it. There's a good sized swimming pool and you can snorkel just across the road or the resort can recommend other good locations when you arrive. Kayaks are available for hire and it's a short F$2.50 taxi ride or 20 mins walk to town.

If you're looking for 5 star accommodation with gold taps in the bathroom and room service this place may not be for you. If you want good quality, down to earth, clean accommodation and enjoy interacting with people - you'll love it. Come and relax at Daku and visit Fiji's hidden paradise - Savusavu.

I took the dive package which included 10 dives with' L'adventure Jean Michel Cousteau' which proved to be good value. The resort arranged a complimentary` taxi every morning to Cousteau's resort which is 5 - 7 mins down the road. From there the Dive shop will whisk you away on their modern, fast dive boat to some good reefs. Selo the Divemaster is one of the most relaxed and safe dive masters I've had the pleasure of diving with. A highlight was the trip to Namena reef 30mins South by Boat - world class diving! Local reefs have been damaged by the 2010 cyclone and hard corals may take some time to recover, but the soft corals are back and turtles, sharks and fish life seemed abundant. Other guests chose to dive with Koro Sun Dive and they were very happy with their service and professionalism - I don't think you can go wrong with either operation.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daku Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.