We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay With Friendly People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daku Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Daku Resort to your Saves list
Daku Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade to Villa and pool
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Savusavu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Succasunna, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay With Friendly People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Had a fantastic time here. Very relaxing environment with two really nice owners and a friendly staff. It was great to take a quick swim in the pool when it got really hot. Additionally, the meals that they served for lunch and dinner were delicious (definitely better than any that I had in town). Highly recommend staying here if you get the chance!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    127
    19
    12
    1
See reviews for
74
116
105
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Daku resort...the Fijian staff was wonderful! so warm and welcoming and helpful, sharing their knowledge of language, flora, fauna, history and local venues. Good transportation or walk to town ($4 fiji taxi). Resort in need of repairs, eventually some done at our request for safety issues. Owner does not seem to take much pride in his resort, but staff work hard to keep it clean and presentable, always dropping fresh flowers in our rooms. Fiji time means you will need patience if you live at a fast pace, Do not expect culture to change at your demand, and you will learn to enjoy the slower pace. Concerns about the way the owners treat their staff, dismiss clients concerns, and behaviour style is aloof which could be taken as disinterested. This aloof attitude shows in the landscaping on the property, not much maintenance. Highly recommend the resort, and the Fijian people. Would recommend booking during times when the owners are not on site floating in the pool, dining with guests, and taking food from a customer's plate on the server's delivery to the table.

Room Tip: spray doorways before retiring each night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

JJ and the rest of the staff were so welcoming and hospitable. A truly relaxing place to stay. There is a communal feel around the resort which makes meeting other guests really easy. Alternatively if you wish to be left to yourself it is an easy place to chill.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had such a good time at Daku. It is a place where you can relax and also enjoy the company of the other guests. The staff is very friendly as well as the owner of the place who always makes sure you are enjoying your time and will find you all the information that you need. The bures are confortable and very charming. I recommend it to everyone!

Stef and Georges

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I recently spent 5 days at Daku Resort, and after 3 weeks of travelling what a blessing it was to be able to relax in such beautiful surroundings. The villas were comfortable, clean and every convenience was considered. The staff were very friendly and informative and I highly recommend the in house dinners. Yoga in the specially crafted yoga platform overlooking the spectacular views of SavuSavu was a highlight. I entirely enjoyed my stay at Daku Daku.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Diving at JMC and staying at Daku left us spending very little time at the resort, which was perfectly fine as we weren't looking for luxury or opulence offered by more expensive resorts. Daku was comfortable, clean and the staff very obliging. Transfers to JMC and/or Savusavu were readily organised by the forever helpful Kenny, George, Carlo, Raj and last but not least JJ. The familiar atmosphere during meals meant a set menu at a large table with all the other resort guests. If this is not your go, a taxi fare into Savusavu is only FJ$ 4 and there are various dining options in town. This was our first time in Fiji and we loved it. Remember to switch to Fiji time and forget - if you can - to wear a watch ;)
Diving was fabulous, coral and fish life very healthy and abundant - the JMC dive staff knowledgeable and as helpful as all other people we met.
We will certainly consider Daku again as it suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bure 3, overlooking a beautifully tended garden and seaview beyond. A double bed and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This trip was arranged through Road Scholar formerly Elder Hostel. We enjoyed the friendly staff and family atmosphere. All residents can get to know each other and eat together if they wish. There is some one always available to ask questions of or to help you. A couple chairs in our room would be nice so you didn't have to only sit on the bed or outside on the veranda. Got a few mosquito bites outside but not in the room so the little repellent machine must have worked. If insects and geckos bother you then Fiji is not for you. Our room had a fan and air conditioner. If the fan was able to be turned up higher, I don't think we would have had to use the air conditioner at all. More towels available at the pool would be nice.
We only stayed a day and a half because I broke my wrist (slipped on algae on concrete boat ramp, me not being careful enough!). JJ was a real help in this emergency. He helped make arrangements to get my husband and I on the plane home as quickly as possible. We hope to try this snorkeling adventure again here next year .

Room Tip: Not there long enough to walk the whole property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daku Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daku Resort

Address: PO Box 18 | 5 Lesiaceva Rd, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daku Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daku Resort is Vintage Fiji at Vintage Prices. All the pleasures of a bure in a traditional bayside resort without the prices of five star resort life. Accommodation - ranging from villas with their own pools to simple bures around the main resort pool. Food - ranging from gourmet dinners taken at the resort's communal table, through traditional Fijian dishes to a plate of fries for the kids when needed. Drinks - ranging from the exotic "Dakuree" cocktail through a competitively priced wine list to a bowl of Kava with the friendliest staff you'll ever meet. Activities - ranging from diving,snorkeling, kayaking and trekking to Yoga, and writing, painting and singing courses. Daku is no ordinary Fijian resort. It's for those who want something different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Daku Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daku Hotel Savusavu
Daku Resort Savusavu
Daku Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daku Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.