We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for going to Namena. Expensive. Quite stuffy.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving

Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving
Leisiacevu Rd., Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
679-885-0694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Attractions in Savusavu
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Savusavu, on the northern Fijian island of Vanua Levu, Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving offers unparalleled access to some of the world's most spectacular seascapes. Want to try SCUBA before signing up? No problem! Join our instructors in the pool to learn the basics. But be warned - you'll be hooked! For those already certified, we offer something more adventurous. Join Jean-Michel Cousteau's hand picked dive team as they explore newly identified, but as yet unnamed dive sites. Be amazed at the coral heads of Namena or cruise the walls and canyons of Shark Alley. Our team is waiting for you. Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving Dive Center has everything you need for a Fijian SCUBA diving adventure. From adrenaline filled boat dives to relaxing snorkel excursions, we are sure you will find what you need.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good for going to Namena. Expensive. Quite stuffy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

All of the JM Costeau outfit is snobby and stuffy. They are pleasant and professional, but really uptight because they are trying so, so hard to present themselves as an exclusive resort.

Go here to dive Namena if your other dive shop isn't going to Namena. Costeau seems to go to Namena more than anybody else (twice per week, maybe). They are considerably more expensive to dive with, but if they are your only option to get to Namena, absolutely do NOT miss Namena.

The meal option on the Namena trip isn't worth the F$30. You have to decide if you want to grab better food in town for F$8-12, or pay JM Costeau an extra $20 for the convenience of them bringing it for you.

Once done with the dive, don't even think about having a drink at the bar while waiting for you cab back to town. They have a full page of rules that you are asked to review before stepping into their bar. The place feels like a funeral. And the drinks are double anywhere else.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“2 dives by lunch....how could it be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great facility, not always the best guiding but now on the new boats, namena reserve so much more accessible with les divers needed.

Btw, of shore snorkeling is awesome for experienced muck divers

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fishing and snorkelling - 3 great days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We used Jean-MIchel Costeau Diving boats as a fishing charter and as a snorkelling adventure to Namena marine reserve. While the boats where decked out for diving there was ample room for fishing and the gear and tackle we used was sufficient.

Everything was so close 15 - 20 Minutes and you had lines in the water fishing. 45 Minutes and we where at the Marine reserve which was spectacular.

We had three great mornings out with George, our captain, who was a very good driver who did his best in rough weather to keep us all from being tossed around too much. Caught sufficient fish without being excessive but being so close once you had enough you could come in and you where only charged for the time used.

Great days out thanks guys.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing to say the least...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

For how much it cost to dive/snorkel, it lacked a 5 star experience. The staff in the office acted annoyed by our large group & were unprepared. The gear was cheap & they didn't have a variety of sizes. There was no guidance for the new snorkelers in our group, and was a bit scary for the newbies when we were dropped in the middle of ocean. The snacks on the boat were not 5 star... coconut cookies were good, but old watermelon did not cut it. The dive instructor even fell asleep on the boat on the ride home! Robin was a great guide, and the best part of the trip. Better training of the staff could give this trip a more professional touch. I've been on snorkel trips all over the world & this by far was the poorest. The locations were beautiful, but the lack of excitement & information about the locations from the staff made it not that thrilling. I would never return to resort for any reason.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
“Seamless Diving in Fiji”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my second time at this resort/dive center and it exceeded expectations both times. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and very experienced. My only regret is that I did not know about this place when my children were young; seems like such a great place for families with young children who want to feel confident that their children are well cared for while they are out diving. As it is, my entire family loves this place (and my "children" are adults with significant others!). I just want to shout out a huge VINAKA to the whole dive operation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving also viewed

 

Been to Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean-Michel Cousteau Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.