We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Namale is Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Savusavu
Agoura Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Namale is Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

We just returned from our stay at Namale. I have to say this place is truly amazing. The service and the people along with the absolutely beautiful surroundings make it a 5-star resort. Our bure was right above the beautiful beach. We just walked down the steps from our balcony onto the grass and down to the beach. The beach has so much coral and shells with hermit crabs by the water that you need to wear flip-flops. But higher near the lounge chairs you do not. Because of the coral reef right in front of the beach, you cannot really swim there. However, there is a swimming hole on the beach you can swim and snorkel in. For me, this did not really matter. We loved walking the beach and looking at the amazing sea life in the tide pools. There are two pools if you want to swim. You can also arrange to have a picnic lunch anywhere on the property. We loved the one in the cabana on the beach. It was so romantic and beautiful. The resort is very private and there are not a lot of people staying there. The spa is amazing. We did the couples massage and even though it was kind of expensive, it was definately worth it. The food was terrific and the drinks were great. They serve the top of the line champagne and wines. We sat in the jacuzzi one afternoon and went through 4 or 5 bottles of expensive french champagne with a few other couples we met. I would love to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    20
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
176
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a week in Namale. Let me just warn you about a couple of things. Most of the reviews posted here appear to by Namale or travel agents.

Although the grounds and staff are nice. The dive shop and food/wine are absolutely horrible and not at all what you would expect in this price range.

Food
We were expecting 5 star cuisine. What we got were average meals with ingredients that tasted second rate or spoiled. For example: beef burgers that appeared to have no beef in them, only filler. "Seared" tuna that was actually some second-rate tuna that was fully cooked. The list goes on and on. To top it off - At least half-a-dozen guests we spoke with left with food poisining as we did.

Wine
Sure. You can drink whatever you like but disregard what the web site says. The wines are all dirt-cheap, unknown, Australian and American wines.

Dive Shop
Let's not even go there. They are knowingly providing divers with bad air. The air is smells bad and any experienced diver will tell you that is an absolute no no. They refused to address this concern and merely stated that they would require an update to their compressor to improve the air.
Management

The Fijians on staff were great and friendly and tried to help. Management was another story. They were condescending, rude, and refused to address any complaints.
In a nutshell - DO NOT GO TO NAMALE. CHOOSE ANOTHER PLACE IN FIJI.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2006
In response to World Traveller's comments dated 4 July 2006. It is always disappointing to have a dissatisfied customer, as the whole team here at Namale works extremely hard and understands the distances people travel and money they pay to stay with us. We feel privileged that people make the choice over so many destinations to be at Namale.
Unfortunately, it was quite wet during this time and I truly believe this had a big bearing on World Traveller's experience. Other guests here during that period gave me great feedback on the food, wine, diving and spa. Anyone considering a stay with us I would be happy to share all of these comments with you. I addressed each and every issue from World Traveller and attempted to rectify each concern but to no avail. We take the utmost care and professionalism in our dive facility and food and beverage outlets and again, consistently receive great feedback. Thankyou for taking the time to read both sides of the story.
Danielle, Resort Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

My husband and I just got married at Namale. I cannot even begin to describe how wonderful it was. Namale is a beautiful resort. The flowers, plants and trees were unbelievable, the animal life was so much fun and the people.. well the Fijian people as a whole, both at the resort and in the villages.. I just cannot say enough good things!! They are the friendliest, warmest, most genuinely sweet people I have ever met.

Our wedding day was absolutely incredible. Every detail was taken care of. We opted for the traditional Fijian wedding package and I would tell anyone wondering which to choose that it is ABSOLUTELY worth the extra cost. My only suggestion to those thinking of getting married here, would be to scope out the place and pick places that you definitely want pictures ahead of time, because on the wedding day we ran out of time and didn't get pictures everywhere we would have liked.

We were fortunate enough to arrive at Namale on the same day as four other couples and we had such a great time with all of them. We truly felt like we had all of our friends right there with us!!

Although in the hot season, having A/C in the bures would have been nice on some days, this was a small thing in light of the many great things. Namale (but Fiji in and of itself as well) is an amazing and wonderful place and I would definitely recommend it! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2006

We just returned from a week at Namale for our Wedding/honeymoon. The wedding was perfect and the staff was outstanding. Rooms were large and seperate. Activities were fun and we never ran out of things to do. the views were amazing and the location was perfect next to two fijian villiages. This is the best place I have ever stayed and I will go back again and again. Only two negatives would have been the heat (no air conditioning in the room) and that they charged my new wife $4.00 for something to help her bug bites. If I am playing this much for a hotel I think that it would not be too much to ask for them to throw in $4.00 for bug stuff when asked. Overall a great experience. Don't miss this place - it is a once in a lifetime expereince.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Namale in May of '05 for our honeymoon. It was absolutely amazing. We have traveled all over the world and Fiji was one of the places we had not been to yet. We chose Namale because of it being all inclusive (with a great selection of alcohol), beautiful grounds, amazing spa, no kids, great service, limited guests,and many activities. We were very happy we chose it. One of my favorite features were the fresh flowers that we were EVERYWHERE. A woman walks around every day and replaces flowers all throughout the resort. The spa was fabulous. The food was amazing. The menu changes daily and we were never disappointed. When we asked if we could simply snack on some chips the chef let us know that they did not have chips but that he was willing to slice some potatoes and make them from scratch. That is the service you can come to expect at Namale. They were willing to do anything to make your dreams come true. I also enjoyed the fact that every employee of the resort greeted us by our first names every time we saw them. Whether or not it was the manager, gardener, or waitstaff everyone greets you by name. After reading our registration papers the resort found out it was both of our birthdays and had a cake made for each of us and sang to us. It was so nice of them to go that extra mile. I will say that one of the negatives of Namale is the beach. There is not a large white sand beach that you may expect. So if you are looking for that you may want to reconsider. This was not as important to us as the other features of the resort. I must also mention that some people say that the bugs are bad in Fiji, we did not have a problem at all.
It was truely unique and romantic! We look forward to the day when we can return.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

I chose Namale after reading the reviewer that stated, " If you have the money go, if not get the money and go." so very true...don't want to tell you to much and ruin the surprise but this is the best place in the world...or at least tied with it.

The staff, food, service, diving, band boys, accomodations, feeling, spa, everything are superb!!

Fiji people are the best...will make you wish the whole world was like them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

Simply put, the place is amazing if you are looking for an incredibly romantic getaway. I have no complaints, only compliments, and would have paid more if I new how good it was going to be. We celebrated our 20th anniversary there, and have travelled extensively. This resort and it's staff are simply awesome.

I'm actually reluctant in writing the review as part of me wants to keep it a secret, but I'm not sure I'd go again as I don't know how it could be topped. If you can afford it, go. If not, find the money and go anyway.

It is also true the people of Fiji are definately the friendliest people on earth.

Bula!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Family Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the Koro Sea on volcanic uplifts is the luxuriously all-inclusive boutique Namale Resort & Spa. Located 10 minutes outside of Savusavu Town on the northern fringes of the Fiji Islands, paradise is within your reach. Namale is nestled among 525 acres of lush tropical flora and offers an authentically Fijian experience to its guests. Namale’s 19 units of luxurious accommodation feature traditional Fijian architecture with modern influences and are each unique unto themselves. Dining is never a dull experience at Namale with its many private dining decks and outdoor locales including the base of Namale’s privately owned waterfall. Namale houses a one-of-a-kind indoor entertainment centre and a fully-equipped fitness centre which are complimentary for guests’ use. Namale also offers an array of activities for guests to enjoy including horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, knee-boarding, nature excursions, Fijian village visits and so much more! Guests are also able to access two world-renowned diving sites; the Namena Reserve and Somosomo Strait. The jewel of Namale is its award-winning Spa & Sanctuary. Noted as the "#1 Spa in Fiji" by Luxury Spa Finder Magazine, the Spa features a hydrotherapy room housing 7 different treatment pools including aromatherapy tubs, a waterfall massage pool, hot tub and plunge pool. The hydrotherapy room has ceiling to floor glass walls that take in breathtaking views of the Koro Sea and Pacific Ocean beyond. All bures feature cordless intercom phones, spacious clothing & luggage storage, mini-safes, souvenir Namale sarongs, fully stocked mini-bars, tea and coffee making facilities, Pure Fiji amenities, hairdryers, mini hi-fi players with I-Pod docking, iron/ironing board, complimentary wi-fi internet access and full air-conditioning. “Namale was a place for us like no other. My wife, daughter and I will treasure (our stay here) for the rest of our lives. The staff, the resort, and the breezes at night are unique and very special”- Ken Nolan, Motion Picture Screenwriter – Blackhawk Down*Namale Resort & Spa does not hold a minimum night stay policy and is able to accommodate children 12 years of age and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort And Spa
Namale The Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Namale Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort & Spa Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.