We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything a vacation should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Savusavu
Salem, Oregon
1 review
“everything a vacation should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

to know where to start is the problem...
the amazing week we spent with these beautiful people was enough to let us know that we want to return again and again.
from beginning to end, the hospitality shown, the extra attention to details, the truly caring way in which our requests were granted all made for a week of pure bliss.
without naming everyone, because i would inevitably leave someone out unintentionally, absolutely everyone made our stay so lovely.
everyone in reception, maintenance, housekeeping, kitchen, drivers, spa, the kava boys--the entire staff, just treated us like royalty, like we really were a part of their family.
even those who contract out to namale, such as willie, who quarantined our wood carvings for us and assisted us with getting them mailed to our home in the states, to billy our town driver.
we felt so extaordinarily special, and that is how vacation is supposed to feel.
for this being our first time out of the country and on a 'real' vacation, we really set the bar high, and we wouldn't do it any other way. we can't wait to come back and find our stone, sit with rup and kele, and have a namale smash.
vinaka vaka levu! sotatale!
jeff and valerie iverson

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    23
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
193
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Namale is fabulous. They really take care of you. It's all-inclusive so you don't need to worry about the bill when you check out. Everyone at the resort learns your name. They drive golf carts throughout the place and will stop and offer you a ride as they pass by.

My husband and I were married and honeymooned here. We did the basic wedding package. It does rain a lot so we were unsure if we would be married on the beach but it worked out and everything was perfect. They even ask what kind (flavor, etc) wedding cake you want and what you want for dinner that night--it will be waiting for you back in your bure.

The bures are perfect, I think ours was Annie? It was a great location, very private yet central to everything. They do your laundry for you, but be prepared for it to take a few days to get your stuff back as they dry them on the line and it does rain quite a bit. They'll take you to the waterfalls for a picnic lunch, just let them know when you want to go.

This place is perfect, the only downside is it rains frequently. I can't say enough good things about this place, it's a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Counce, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We had a great trip. It's true, the people are sincerely incredible, the grounds are flawless, and the service is impeccable. We would return tomorrow if we could.

I would caution you to confirm your reservation within a few days of your departure. We booked our Villa nearly a year early. We SPECIFICALLY booked the Duavata Villa. When we arrived, we saw our checkin paperwork, and our hearts sank. We had been relocated to a different Villa because NBC was filming a reality show. As you may or may not know, Tony Robbins owns the resort (not the island). While we ended up loving our Villa (Rosie), we couldn't help but feel "swept under the rug" every now and then. We were constantly redirected because some episode was being filmed on another part of the resort. That said, Tony Robbins and his Wife personally met with us and provided us with a complimentary three night stay for future use. After returning home, we received the paperwork and voucher nearly immediately via FedEx.

The point is, we loved the place, but would have appreciated the common courtesy of a simple "heads up." We are world travellers, love to spend money on it, and can't wait to go back. Just check with your travel agent first. Say hi to Kay, Rupeni, and Villi if you go! And, go to the dive shop and go deep see fishing with Emosi. Awesome time. Kava time!!!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We chose Namale for our honeymoon, and I have to say the best thing about this resort is the amazing staff! I can't say enough about them! They all know your name, always say hello, and they all go above and beyond to make your stay absolutely perfect. They are fun, friendly, and are all genuinely good people. The service at this resort is perfect. If we needed anything, we usually didn't even have to ask - it was taken care of. When we did ask, it was done within minutes - or less. The food is excellent, the bar (and bartenders) are excellent. Some all-inclusives tend to be lacking on the food & drink side, but not Namale. We had lobster, steak, and many other delicious meals all prepared to our liking. The menu changes every day (except breakfast), but they will make you whatever you want, and serve it to you anywhere at the resort - on the beach, in your room, at the pool, at their waterfall - you name it. Excellent wine selection, as well. The bures and villas are all huge, very private, and have every amenity you would want. The Kava Bowl has an indoor bowling alley, virtual golf, wireless internet, Apple tv, hundreds of movies to watch on a giant movie screen, video games, and more - for rainy days. The spa is spectacular! I am a spa junkie, and I had the best facial and massage there! The grounds are beautiful, as well. Aside from how beautiful the rooms and grounds and scenery are, I have to keep coming back to service and staff. The people there really enjoy their work, and you can see they take pride in it. We've stayed at many nice resorts around the world, and this is the best we've ever been to - and mainly because of the staff. Love Namale! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allisonc2002
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I went to Namale on our Honeymoon and we can't say enough. First the staff is one of a kind! I have never experienced service like this and we have stayed at a lot of high end places. The entire staff knows you by name, the arrange everything for you - I mean they thought of things I never even thought of and that is amazing! The spa is the best - again the ladies will treat you and take care of you like you are family. From the diving staff to reception to spa to the bula cart driver - everyone will treat you like you are family.

We loved our rooms - we stayed in one of the honeymoon suites - Nancy which we loved!!! Very unique and different the all the other rooms. We also stayed in one of the villa's - it was just a little over the top for our style. Huge! Everything was huge - the villa, pool. But if it's your style go for it. You get apple tv, surround sound and wireless intranet.

Food is great! And if you don't see anything on the menu just let them know and they will probably be able to make it for you. And you can't beat getting all your alchol included! Loved Vuelve for free! Drank it everyday!

If you are thinking of going here don't even hesitate. I know the website doesn't let you in to everything it has to offer. But if you are looking for a place with character and want to experience first class service go to Namale!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Namale was amazing. Everything from the staff that was amazingly intimate yet gave you space to the wonderful guests, the food, awesome activites and beautiful setting made it a perfect honeymoon. You really got to know people if you wanted to, and yet the resort allows for ultimate privacy. Never have I been somewhere that really gives you whatever you want whenever you want until here. Everything was beautiful, and the smiles never ended. Please come here on your honeymoon! I think it's also great for a family because everyone can do their own thing and come home for dinner. They will cook to whatever dietary needs you have as well. I can't wait to come back here and I was so sorry to go. They really do a great job!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I don't know what the naysayers don't see in this place. I take several 5 star trips a year and this place blew away all my expectations. Literally, we were weeping when we left after seven days. First and foremost the staff are incredible. Everyone, from the manager down to the ladies cleaning the rooms, introduce themselves to you, and then they remember your name, without fail, from that point forward. Everyone is so friendly its crazy. The spa was fantastic. I have about 500+ dives logged, and I thought the dive shop was great - very very very good service, very knowledgable, and they catered to all of our preferences. The food was also amazing. Its not an extensive menu - 3 appetizers, 3 entrees, 3 deserts, each for lunch and dinner. But it changes with every meal, and I have to say I went out on a limb a couple of times and proved that pretty much everything is fantastic, even if it doesn't sound fantastic. The soups in particular, they combine the wierdest ingredients, but in 7 or 8 days there we had a dozen or so soups and I've never been anyplace with such great soups. Of course we and other guests would from time to time just say that we were in the mood for "lobster tail" or a "hamburger" or whatever, and they would make it with a smile, even when it wasn't on the menu. Oh, and don't feel like going to the dining bure? Just give them a call and they'll deliver it to your own bure, or to a bluff overlooking the ocean, or to the beach, or to the pool, or to a secluded waterfall, etc.etc. The pool, the beach, the activities, the KAVA BOWL on the occasional rainy day, all top notch. Oh and nonstop champagne! We're already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#3 Family Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the Koro Sea on volcanic uplifts is the luxuriously all-inclusive boutique Namale Resort & Spa. Located 10 minutes outside of Savusavu Town on the northern fringes of the Fiji Islands, paradise is within your reach. Namale is nestled among 525 acres of lush tropical flora and offers an authentically Fijian experience to its guests. Namale’s 19 units of luxurious accommodation feature traditional Fijian architecture with modern influences and are each unique unto themselves. Dining is never a dull experience at Namale with its many private dining decks and outdoor locales including the base of Namale’s privately owned waterfall. Namale houses a one-of-a-kind indoor entertainment centre and a fully-equipped fitness centre which are complimentary for guests’ use. Namale also offers an array of activities for guests to enjoy including horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, knee-boarding, nature excursions, Fijian village visits and so much more! Guests are also able to access two world-renowned diving sites; the Namena Reserve and Somosomo Strait. The jewel of Namale is its award-winning Spa & Sanctuary. Noted as the "#1 Spa in Fiji" by Luxury Spa Finder Magazine, the Spa features a hydrotherapy room housing 7 different treatment pools including aromatherapy tubs, a waterfall massage pool, hot tub and plunge pool. The hydrotherapy room has ceiling to floor glass walls that take in breathtaking views of the Koro Sea and Pacific Ocean beyond. All bures feature cordless intercom phones, spacious clothing & luggage storage, mini-safes, souvenir Namale sarongs, fully stocked mini-bars, tea and coffee making facilities, Pure Fiji amenities, hairdryers, mini hi-fi players with I-Pod docking, iron/ironing board, complimentary wi-fi internet access and full air-conditioning. “Namale was a place for us like no other. My wife, daughter and I will treasure (our stay here) for the rest of our lives. The staff, the resort, and the breezes at night are unique and very special”- Ken Nolan, Motion Picture Screenwriter – Blackhawk Down*Namale Resort & Spa does not hold a minimum night stay policy and is able to accommodate children 12 years of age and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namale The Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort And Spa
Namale Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort & Spa Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.