We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an breath taking experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Savusavu
london,ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's an breath taking experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I write reviews when I travel but I have waited almost 3 months to write this review as I know it will be hard to find the words to describe the absolutely best travel experience of my life. My husband and I saw this resort on Oprah's greatest things 2011 show and we knew this was where we wanted to honeymoon after our 25th vow renewal. I actually have tears of joy writing this remembering all the staff and the warmth and love we felt from them. They are truly amazing people. If I had to write one negative thing it would be that the private pool in our nanise room was too cold to go into in October. The room, food, beverages and activities were amazing. Loved going to the Kava Bowl and having a party with a great group of people we met there. The champagne flowed thanks to being able to just pick up a house phone and order it. We made some new friends there that I am sure we will keep in touch with over the years. I just wish I had the contact information for Brenda and William who were guest sent by Oprah. Hint hint if you can help me with that.
There really are no words except book it. This is not a place to take a casual girl friend but the love of your life. If you are looking for the ultimate luxury stay Namale will surpass your wildest dreams.
Any questions feel free to message me.

Room Tip: Nanise is a romantic honeymoon sweet and you will love the sarongs and bath products provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Bula Vinaka and thank you so much for your review.

It always brings a smile to our face to hear from our guests. We feel so privileged to look after guests as in this day and age, we are all spoilt for options. The fact that you choose Namale means a lot to us. Thank you for allowing us to share our customs, our traditions and our love with you both.

Vinaka Vakalevu
Team Namale

PS - email Hudson@namaleresort.com for the address that you need :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    20
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
176
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I spent our 12th wedding anniversary at Namale. We had the most wonderful time and we will never forget the beauty and tranquillity of Namale Resort and Spa. We were upgraded to an ocean front bure, which was beautiful. The highlight was the pool right next door, which we practically had sole access to during our stay. The grounds were beautiful - truly, truly paradise. We did all the wonderful things other guests talk about, like lunch and swimming at the waterfall, horse back riding, scuba diving (where our boat was visited by a pod of dolphins), walks along the beach, dinner at 'lovers deck' and played games in the kava bowl (a massive room filled with bowling alley, virtual golf and other activities). The food was amazing, meals consisted of beautiful cuts of meat and fish with fresh fruit and vegetables. The fresh baked goods each day were simply delicious. The cocktails were awesome and always looked gorgeous. The bar tender (Siti) made whatever we asked him too. The nightly entertainment was great - especially the kava band (we loved those guys). The housekeeping was also really special - each day our bure was immaculately cleaned with messages in petals left on our (big beautiful comfortable) bed.
Like many people have said, it is the staff, however who really make Namale special. They were so friendly and warm. It was like being back home - that wonderful feeling of being looked after was amazing. A big thank you to Villi, Siti, Bale, Errol, Mau and all the other staff for making our time there so special. We loved our stay and will never forget the hospitality you showed us. We really hope to return, but if not we will always have our memories of the beautiful time we spent at Namale.
Vanaka to the team for making our time so special. You guys are all so amazing.
Warmest wishes to you all for a wonderful 2014
Debbie and Stephen.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Debbie & Stephen,

Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review. Thank you so much for being a part of our family and allowing us to reach out and touch your hearts with our sincerity, warmth and love. We truly appreciate the opportunity to share our home with you.

Happy 2014.

Vinaka Vaklevu,
Team Namale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Namale Resort offers guests looking for a vacation in paradise the ultimate in luxury and privacy. Guests have a choice of luxury villas, called bures, with responsive service from friendly staff. My bure had a beautiful infinity pool looking out over the Koro Sea. The guest to staff ratio is 3 staff for every guest so the service is great. PIck up the phone to order food or beverages to have it delivered to your bure. Choose from a myriad of activities on the 500-acre lush tropical resort, horseback riding, fitness center, ocean-side trampoline, diving, snorkeling, golf, spa or just relaxing. Dine in the lovely restaurant or select a romantic location for your special meal. This is an ideal place for a destination wedding, honeymoon or romantic escape.

Room Tip: Choose a room with private pool, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that Namale was your choice for your Fijian escape. Anticipating guests needs and making sure that the Namale experience is an amazing one is part of the ethos for the Namale family. Treasure the memories and hold them close to your heart.

Vinaka Vakalevu
Team Namale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

There is, literally, not one thing I can say that is bad about Namale. My husband and I stayed there through Christmas and New Year's Eve and from the moment we arrived until the moment we left the resort and especially the staff exceeded our every expectation. No sooner had we landed in Fiji at the Nadi airport than were we greeted by a Namale staff member who helped us check in for our connecting flight to Savusavu, and at the Savusavu airport we were met by another staff member who drove us to the resort --- and absolutely everything was handled for us for the rest of our stay.

The grounds are simply stunning -- beautifully landscaped and immaculately maintained. Just walking around the property feels like a visit to a botanical garden, and around every corner another gorgeous view of the Koro Sea awaits. We stayed in Duavata, and felt like we were living in a dream. The 'house' is really several connected bures with a private infinity pool overlooking the sea and numerous places to relax and enjoy the stunning beauty. It also has a luxury bathroom with a garden jacuzzi tub that looks out on the pool and the sea, two private outdoor bathrooms and it's own kitchen, and every day was restocked with beer, wine, fruit juice, sodas, water, amazing coffees, teas and fresh made cookies! The bed is like something out of a romance novel. Need I say more?

We paddle boarded, snorkeled, swam, played tennis, jumped on the water trampoline, hiked around the waterfall, swam under the waterfall, worked out in the gym, relaxed in the spa and did four scuba dives - included two at the phenomenal Namena Marine Reserve --- and must do for divers! We also enjoyed the nightly shows presented by local song and dance troupes and we drank a little kava, taking in some Fijian culture and traditions. We didn't get around to bowling, watching movies or playing any of the games in the recreation room -- but it looked like there was a lot to do in there, too.

The food at Namale is, without a doubt, the best we've ever had at any resort, spa or on any cruise, and is comparable to what you'd expect to find in a high-end California restaurant. Think: Decadently healthy. Lots of very fresh fish, vegetables and fruits and high quality meats, imaginatively prepared and gorgeously presented. We became addicted to the coconut chutney and requested it with nearly every meal!

But the best thing about our stay at Namale was, hands down, the staff. They are truly the friendliest people we've encountered anywhere. They were so easy to deal with, from start to finish, and extremely accommodating. Everyone at Namale seems to follow the lead of the co-general managers, Bill and Nowdla Keefe, who welcomed us warmly and worked tirelessly to make sure the trip was the best of our lives. They even planned a special New Year's Eve party for us and the other guests there — with a huge spread of delicious food, a live performance of Fijian dance, a magically decorated room and a DJ, dancing and balloon drop.

We enjoyed three 'special meals' while we were there: at the beach, the waterfall and the cave (as well as many special meals in the main bure and in Duavata). It amazed us how much effort had to go into the special meals, as the staff had to set up tables, light dozens of candles, decorate with fresh flowers, and then serve us food and drinks in a remote setting. And yet we never caught even a hint of grumble from any of the staff members about the extra work --- not like we'd expect from hospitality workers in the U.S.

This truly was the best trip of either of our lives and we will be forever appreciative of the efforts the Namale staff made to make it so.

Vinaka!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We are truly humbled by the amazing things that you had share about the Namale experience. We take great pride in looking after our guests and ensuing that they have an experience that is always amazing, memorable and wonderful. Thank you for spending time with us. We truly appreciate it.

Vinaka Vakalevu
Team Namale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife & I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Namale in Sept.2013, absolutely amazing! Billy the van driver from Namale, picked us up at the airport and made us feel so welcome to his home land. Once you arrive at the resort, you are welcomed by the staff with song and drinks. We stayed in the Lomani Bure in which we had our own private plunge pool, wonderful!! Clean, I can't say enough how clean it was, every morning there would be two or three people cleaning our Bure, inside and out. The room was stocked with what ever you wanted to drink, I don't drink so Hudson made sure when we arrived that our room and the resort was well stocked with non-alcoholic beer, this I enjoy. We would stay in the Rosi villa next time, so much bigger. The food is all high class, anything you wanted you received. The spa is like nothing we have ever experienced, so relaxing you didn't want to leave. You could do anything you wanted, they would see to it that it would happen. You are treated like family, but in a great way lol. We rented a car and a driver who took us all over the island, highly recommended to see their culture. The river jump is out of this world, we still talk about it. A must is having lunch at the waterfall, bring your bathing suits, no one informed us about this, wish they had. The golf course is great, no pressure to move fast. I have to say that everyone is so sincere, it's sad that you have to leave, my special friend Vili would go out of his way to make us happy, I do miss his big smile. Namle is a must on everyone's list of vacation choices, Our sincere thank you to Hudson, Rosie, Bill and Nowdla, Vili and all the staff, we miss you all and hope to one day return to see you.
Happy New Year
Vinaka,
John & Melody

Room Tip: Any room with a plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear John and Melody,

Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review. Your kind words bring much joy to the Namale family. We thank you for allowing us to pamper you, spoil you and share with you a bit of our Fijian customs and traditions. We trust that you will cherish your time on property with us and we thank you sincerely for choosing Namale.

Vinaka Vakalevu
Team Namale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and i honeymooned at Namale in July 2013 and everything was so perfect. To break down my review;

Room Quality
We stayed in the Rosi villa as i had wanted a plunge pool. The room was huge and equipped with a pool table, plunge pool, hot tub, private deck, outdoor shower, indoor shower, indoor tub, walk in, fully stocked bar fridge, Apple TV and large projector screen. The room was cleaned thoroughly daily.
Best Part: The room is stocked with fresh cookies every day! Complimentary laundry service daily. Complimentary sulus in the room to keep.
Negatives: The Apple TV dropped out from time to time but it's no fault of the hotel, internet connection in Fiji is just sub standard.

Food
OMG! The food was amazing. We enjoyed every single thing we ate. The seafood is so fresh. Everything is tasty, generous serving sizes. The food is pretty much unlimited and you can eat anything you want, anywhere you want up until 10pm with a single phone call to reception. The chefs absolutely have to be commended. I loved everything especially the dine outs.
Best part: One of the chefs, Imlesh, made us fresh curry every night which we had a midnight snack. It was yummy and huge serving sizes.
Negatives: Absolutely None. Perfect!

Activities
My husband and i did some kayaking and horse riding. There were other activities available but we didn't do them. Of course they were all complimentary. We made full use of the spa. We really liked how they had discounts on certain treatments every night in the newsletter. It made the treatment prices reasonable. We had couples massages and it was lovely.
Best part: Dine outs! We loved visiting the waterfall.
Suggestion: I'd love for Namale to provide jet skis! We would have loved to do that activity.

Customer Service
The customer service is by far the best thing about Namale. Booking was easy. Hudson and his team were so friendly and so helpful. All of the staff were excellent. We would like to shout out to Vili who transported us around the island. He is such a lovely guy and such an asset to the hotel. My husband and i are locals in Fiji, based in Nadi, and we can honestly say that as locals, when we go to hotels on the mainland we are usually not treated as well as tourists. Namale is the only hotel we have been to where we treated the same, if not better, than tourists and we really appreciate that!


To conclude,
Namale is one of the nicest places we have every stayed. I encourage anyone to book it and you will not be disappointed. SavuSavu is so beautiful and Namale is beyond. We went to Hawaii straight after Namale and honestly i found Hawaii so disappointing after Namale.

To the Namale team. Thank you so much for looking after us. We will definitely be back! We recommend your hotel to everyone we know! Thank you!

Regards,
Amit and Sharon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Amit and Sharon,

Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review. We are delighted that we had an opportunity to look after you both. Thank you so much for choosing Namale. We are humbled by all the wonderful things you had to say about us. The entire Namale family take pride in offering an experience that is like no other in Fiji. We look forward to welcoming you back home again sometime soon.

Vinaka Vakalevu
Team Namale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I once again returned to this truly amazing vacation location and I found that the facilities are continuing their renovations which only enhanced my previous enjoyments.
What I did find out this visit was that they have, in labasa, is a great dentist at very reasonable prices---would recommend him to anyone.
Back to the resort, the "main Bure" menu has been greatly improved and the presentation of the food is very pleasing to the eye.
My previous comments as to the quality of the facilities available to the guest remain at a high level--their golf course has been greatly improved and is now a pleasure to play.
Go to NAMALE if you want a real relaxing and enjoyable vacation

Room Tip: Ask for the Ana Bure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleManager, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We love the fact that you were able to relive and better your Namale experience. We take great joy in welcoming our returnees back home so thank you so much for making the pilgrimage to Namale. We look forward to an opportunity to look after you again in the not too distant future.

Vinaka Vakalevu
Team Namale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#4 Family Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the Koro Sea on volcanic uplifts is the luxuriously all-inclusive boutique Namale Resort & Spa. Located 10 minutes outside of Savusavu Town on the northern fringes of the Fiji Islands, paradise is within your reach. Namale is nestled among 525 acres of lush tropical flora and offers an authentically Fijian experience to its guests. Namale’s 19 units of luxurious accommodation feature traditional Fijian architecture with modern influences and are each unique unto themselves. Dining is never a dull experience at Namale with its many private dining decks and outdoor locales including the base of Namale’s privately owned waterfall. Namale houses a one-of-a-kind indoor entertainment centre and a fully-equipped fitness centre which are complimentary for guests’ use. Namale also offers an array of activities for guests to enjoy including horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, knee-boarding, nature excursions, Fijian village visits and so much more! Guests are also able to access two world-renowned diving sites; the Namena Reserve and Somosomo Strait. The jewel of Namale is its award-winning Spa & Sanctuary. Noted as the "#1 Spa in Fiji" by Luxury Spa Finder Magazine, the Spa features a hydrotherapy room housing 7 different treatment pools including aromatherapy tubs, a waterfall massage pool, hot tub and plunge pool. The hydrotherapy room has ceiling to floor glass walls that take in breathtaking views of the Koro Sea and Pacific Ocean beyond. All bures feature cordless intercom phones, spacious clothing & luggage storage, mini-safes, souvenir Namale sarongs, fully stocked mini-bars, tea and coffee making facilities, Pure Fiji amenities, hairdryers, mini hi-fi players with I-Pod docking, iron/ironing board, complimentary wi-fi internet access and full air-conditioning. “Namale was a place for us like no other. My wife, daughter and I will treasure (our stay here) for the rest of our lives. The staff, the resort, and the breezes at night are unique and very special”- Ken Nolan, Motion Picture Screenwriter – Blackhawk Down*Namale Resort & Spa does not hold a minimum night stay policy and is able to accommodate children 12 years of age and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort And Spa
Namale The Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Namale Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort & Spa Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.