We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Savusavu
Milwaukee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Been to Fiji 3 other times Namale is the best so far. Staff was great. It was our 44 anniversary and they baked us a chocolate cake and sang for us before we had our anniversary meal in the candle lit cave. Snokeling was not the greatest we;ve seen in Fiji. Had 2 breakfasts at the blow hole, that was nice.. Also had couples massage with wine and appitizers. way cool.,, Pricey but worth it as a once experience Patrick and Irene Barwick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Patrick and Irene,

Bula and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Namale and that your experience was memorable. Thank you for choosing to stay at Namale and also for allowing us to be a part of your anniversary celebrations. We truly appreciate it.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    26
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
206
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the moment you get off the plane and see that your pilot is wearing flip flops you know that you are not in Portland anymore. Everything from the very beginning went just as we thought it would. One surprise was the upgraded room. (thank you) I have never met a staff so intent on pleasing their guests, and I work in the service industry. They showed me a new level of service. My wife mentioned Corona beer, it appeared in our room that afternoon chilled. Made mention to my wife about a certain cookie that was served, appeared in the room that afternoon. The up graded room had big screen movies, great for late night after the Kava party with the Kava boys. Even the grounds people remembered our names. If you want to learn about local history, head to the dive shop and go to school. Very informative. Who cares about stars, have traveled the world and this was the best service that I have ever had.

Room Tip: Get one with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

From pilots with flip flops to lovely Fijian staff with big smiles on their faces, the Namale experience is filled with love, joy and happiness. We LOVE sharing our culture, our tradition and our history. Whatever your outcome, the Namale family is always bound to deliver! We trust that you will cherish your memories and recall with much joy and happiness your time at Namale!

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Being a five star junkie I was really looking forward to staying at Namale as it has a great reputation. The staff greeting and their general care throughout the stay was exceptional - warm, engaging and they go out of their way to make sure that your stay is magical. The quality of the food was also good. Rooms are spacious (we stayed in a honeymoon bure), but we felt a little tired looking - in need of an upgrade. There was also no place to sit at a desk or eat in your room if you wanted to. I loved the eco feel to the place and their approach in the room, it was just missing the wow factor for me. The spa was really good. Would I recommend this place - yes I would - on the basis of the spirit and friendliness of the staff, it is infectious - but I would spend more time outside than in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Bula vinaka and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you felt supported during your time at Namale. Thank you so very much for your feedback and for the opportunity to review and work on your comments. Part of the success of Namale is "LISTENING" to our guests and improving the experience based on feedback. It is a result of past feedback that we have reviewed menus, improved our wine selections, heightened the spa experience, invested in more horses and also scheduled renovational work on our bures and public facilities. Do be on the look out for update on our website and Facebook page. We'd love to introduce you to the changes at Namale! Thank you for your comments once again! As always, we're listening and we're actioning!!

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were completely overwhelmed by the hospitality and staff at Namale. Being greeting by the Fijian welcome song was heartwarming but only the beginning. It was as if they opened the door to fantasy island.

When the staff brought us to our bure, it was as if we entered another world. We opened the door to extravagance unparalleled. I refer to it as a "pinch me" setting. The 2 bedroom oceanfront home made of Fijian hard wood and tastefully decorated fulfilled our every wish. The master bedroom was beautifully decorated with comfortable bedding, a huge bathroom and walk in closet. When the staff showed us our backyard, we were speechless. The staff was tickled pink when they saw our response. At first we were unsure of which of the 4 showers to use. This quickly became a moot point. The outdoor shower over looking the ocean would be just fine.

There is nothing like listening to the lullaby of ocean waves for sleeping. The gentle curl of waves hitting the reef rocked us to sleep every night.

The most difficult part of the trip was deciding which item on the dining menu to have. We just said the heck with it and tried one of everything. My favorite was the fresh catch of the day with eggs for breakfast or the scrumptious lobster for dinner. Our other memorable favorite thing was the cheese platter with crackers and toasted coconut after a day filled with activities at 4pm in our bure. My husband would be resting on either the outdoor bure bed or on the pad in our private pool. He referred to it as "rush hour in Namale". Quit frankly, it was very much the opposite.

The experience was exactly what we needed to fulfill and restore our hearts, minds and souls together. I have a beautiful green pearl necklace to remind me daily of this vacation.

In one word: GO!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that we were open the door to a world of luxury and exclusivity when you made Namale your home away from home! The food is divine, the staff personal and the experience memorable. Thank you for choosing Namale and for allowing our team to be of servie to you both.

Cherish the memories; together with your pearl, and keep us close in your hearts.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I took my girlfriend, Madison for a life changing trip to Namale. Before that, the farthest she had traveled was to Disney World. (We live in Canada.)

Madison goes by her middle name, not her first name. The staff took us on a tour and the wood working people made us a new carving, before we got to our bure. We didn't even know to expect a carving with our names on the door.

Madison has a slight mobility issue, and our bure was the farthest from the dining bure. We were up before dawn everyday and at breakfast early. Our driveway was about 100 metres long and after the first day, someone would be at the end with the Bula Cart so they would arrive within one minute of us calling for a ride to breakfast.

One day, we were on the beach, and as we started walking up the hill, someone from the dining bure called for a Bula Cart for Madison. The staff at the spa saw wild dolphins and called the dive shop, Sam found us immediately and took us out to see them.

Pa-u-la made sure there were always fresh young coconuts awaiting us in the refrigerator of the dive shop when we would return from snorkeling. Emosi, Sam, and Pa-u-la took me on the most amazing dives.

We were there during a Tony Robbins Seminar, the Life Mastery seminar. Turns out, that was perfect. The participants were on a cleanse and in the meeting room far from us, it also meant they were not in the dining bure. Basically, we had 520 of the 525 acres and all the staff to ourselves the entire week.

Bill, Nawdla, Shannon, Perry, and Kaila had arrived to stay just 10 days before we got there. I'd known Bill for years, and Madison and I became friends with the rest of the family immediately.

Tabua was our Bure, beautiful, private, spacious, and with a deck overhanging the Koro Sea. I loved that Bure and missed it when we upgraded to the treehouse bure. The treehouse bure, Nansee did have a private plunge pool and stunning 270 degree views.

One day we had a private lunch at the waterfall in the rain forest. No sounds, except the sounds of nature. As we were arriving in the Namale van, another Namale van was leaving. Someone goes over and scoops the leaves from the waterfall just before you arrive. The attention to service and detail is like no where else I've traveled.

We travelled there in Feb, 2011. The date range here does not accommodate those times. To leave Canada in the winter at -17 degrees and arrive in Fiji in summer at +35 degrees, then return to Canada and -17, made me believe in the possibility of a parallel universe.

Namale is by far the best travel experience of my life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that after all these years, the Namale experience is still familliar to you both and has stood out! 3 years on, the experience is bigger and better but more importantly still sincerely personal. Thank you for sharing your review and experience with our Namale family. We trust that Namale has found a special place in your hearts.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mtichell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I recently had the most wonderful vacation at the Namale Resort and Spa. From the moment we were greeted by members of the staff singing a welcome to us, to our leaving, when they sang farewell to us, we were treated to absolute warm hospitality. The facilities exceeded our expectations, the landscaping was exotic, the amenities were numerous, and the food was varied and completely gourmet. The very best feature though, was the overwhelming friendliness and thoughtfulness of the staff. This team of people were the best we have ever encountered in our travels. Not only did they grant our every wish, but they seemed to anticipate our needs. Our mini-bar was stocked with items we preferred, room service was always available, drinks and wine were top quality and it was all included in the price---not added on at the end of the visit. The resort managers were always accessible, approachable and truly saw themselves as part of the wonderful team at Namale.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Bula and thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you were able to experIence Namale and that you deemed our lovely little resort as your TOTAL package for a holiday experience filled with exclusivity, privacy and Fijian authenticity. Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you during your time on property.

We trust that you will cherish your Namale memories.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a place! We went to Namale for our honeymoon and it was unbelievable! Gorgeous grounds, great food (and cava) and very friendly staff. We stayed in the honeymoon buree with our own private plunge pool...amazing and romantic! What ever you want to eat, they will do the best to get for you (I had lobster 3 times). You can basically do what ever you want. We wanted to ride a horse on the beach...not a problem. A horse each was at our buree within hours! I would love to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Go the honeymoon suite on the rock in the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NamaleResort, Guest Relations Manager at Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Bula Vinaka and thank you for your review.

Just as much you wish to return again and again, we too would love to see you enjoy new and exciting experiences again and again :) Thank you for choosing Namale and thank you for allowing our family to look after you. We pride ourselves in offierng experiences that are exclusive, private and authentically Fijian. We trust that you will cherish the memores of your Namale experience.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Hudson Mitchell
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa

Address: Hibiscus Highway, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Savusavu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
#2 Family Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the edge of the Koro Sea on volcanic uplifts is the luxuriously all-inclusive boutique Namale Resort & Spa. Located 10 minutes outside of Savusavu Town on the northern fringes of the Fiji Islands, paradise is within your reach. Namale is nestled among 525 acres of lush tropical flora and offers an authentically Fijian experience to its guests. Namale’s 19 units of luxurious accommodation feature traditional Fijian architecture with modern influences and are each unique unto themselves. Dining is never a dull experience at Namale with its many private dining decks and outdoor locales including the base of Namale’s privately owned waterfall. Namale houses a one-of-a-kind indoor entertainment centre and a fully-equipped fitness centre which are complimentary for guests’ use. Namale also offers an array of activities for guests to enjoy including horseback riding, kayaking, snorkeling, knee-boarding, nature excursions, Fijian village visits and so much more! Guests are also able to access two world-renowned diving sites; the Namena Reserve and Somosomo Strait. The jewel of Namale is its award-winning Spa & Sanctuary. Noted as the "#1 Spa in Fiji" by Luxury Spa Finder Magazine, the Spa features a hydrotherapy room housing 7 different treatment pools including aromatherapy tubs, a waterfall massage pool, hot tub and plunge pool. The hydrotherapy room has ceiling to floor glass walls that take in breathtaking views of the Koro Sea and Pacific Ocean beyond. All bures feature cordless intercom phones, spacious clothing & luggage storage, mini-safes, souvenir Namale sarongs, fully stocked mini-bars, tea and coffee making facilities, Pure Fiji amenities, hairdryers, mini hi-fi players with I-Pod docking, iron/ironing board, complimentary wi-fi internet access and full air-conditioning. “Namale was a place for us like no other. My wife, daughter and I will treasure (our stay here) for the rest of our lives. The staff, the resort, and the breezes at night are unique and very special”- Ken Nolan, Motion Picture Screenwriter – Blackhawk Down*Namale Resort & Spa does not hold a minimum night stay policy and is able to accommodate children 12 years of age and above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namale The Fiji Islands Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort And Spa
Namale Hotel Savusavu
Namale The Fiji Islands Resort & Spa Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namale the Fiji Islands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.