We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Island paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namena Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savusavu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namena Island Resort
Save
You added Namena Island Resort to your Saves list
Private Mail Bag, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Savusavu
almost heaven
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Personal Island paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our group of 6 had 2 nights on Namena Island....to ourselves. From start to finish it was a great experience. Kiri would call us for meals on the Fijian drum. Take an island walk along the trails. Red footed boobies nest all year long. After 40 years of diving I have never seen better, not even in the Red Sea (Rad Mohammed, Dahab, Elat)
New owners said expansion is planned for 2014 so I only hope it is done with utmost care and respect for nature.

Room Tip: There are no bad views/rooms. South bure has sunrises, North bures have sunsets. If you are challeng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We only stayed for 2 nights, but we had an amazing time. With only 4 of us staying on the island we were outnumbered by the wonderful staff. Great food, amazing snorkeling, stunning setting. We'd love to go back.

There are rumours that the new owners are planning to accommodate more people and go upscale with the accommodations (and I assume price), which would be a shame. Namena is a treasure, and the fact that it is not touristy is a huge attraction.

Room Tip: All of the bures are private and set apart from each other. Quite stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was a much needed escape full of the most amazing diving, private beaches and beautiful scenery with incredible staff who made our stay unforgettable.
We were offered 3 dives per day to different locations within a 10 minute boat ride from the island. Each location provided an amazing show of colorful sea life including sharks and manta rays!
Our bure was the closest to the dining building with ocean views from every window. The view was breathtaking with coral right below the balcony we could watch for turtles and even saw a reef shark! The beach was beautiful white sand and was so private we were often the only people there.
The food was very fresh and delicious. Keri who was there for all our meals was incredibly friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable!
We were very sad to leave but can’t wait to return!!!

Room Tip: We were in the first bure which was a nice short walk to the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wow pretty much sums up this breathtakingly beautiful island! If you are a scuba diver you will be so impressed with dive after dive of the worlds very best! We spent 9 days at Christmas with our family and with just 6 cabins on the whole island it felt like we had the whole island and beautiful beach/ocean to ourselves. We dove everyday and I've never experienced such amazing consistent diving. It far surpassed my diving the great barrier reaf and florida keys. Best was our dive with a big manta ray! If you are not a diver the snorkling around the reaf of the island is fantastic as well. Food was a little too good and staff felt like a part of our family from the very start of our time there. Highly recommend this resort for a very unique memorable vacation!

Room Tip: If you have children with you we would recommend staying at a cabin lower down closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Namena Island Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and hope you will be one of our many regular returning guests at Namena Island Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Fiji is a long way to travel for us, but after getting to Namena Island it was well worth it!!! The cabins (bures) were very private and very nice. Every cabin on the island was a perfect ocean view, and the staff was very good at keeping the cabins clean and looking great.

The food at Namena was great, and although it was for the most part quite simple food, it was also delicious! I probably put on at least a few pounds in the week that we were there, despite plenty of great diving, swimming and hiking for exercise.

The group that we went with were all avid scuba divers, and my wife and myself are more casual divers. But the diving and snorkeling at Namena was absolutely incredible! I've never seen a larger, more colorful variety of either coral or fish species, and diving "Grand Central" was something I'll never forget! The snorkeling (right from shore, never mind the guided tours) was honestly better than the scuba diving I've done in several great dive destinations around the world. I saw more interesting things snorkeling from shore at Namena than I saw on 10 dives in Belize, and when we went out on the guided dives it was really something spectacular.

"Grand Central" is one of the most popular dive sites in all of Fiji, and the liveaboards were coming from all over the place just to dive here. We all felt a little bit spoiled sitting on a nice sandy beach (on solid ground!) between dives, as opposed to being stuck on a rocking boat for several days on end. Obviously liveaboards are a great option for certain destinations where accommodations on land aren't an option (like some friends of ours that dove in the Galapagos), but with the cabins sitting on Namena Island only 10 minutes from Grand Central, staying on a liveaboard just doesn't seem to make sense anymore. When we went to Grand Central, we saw large schools of Trevale, Barracuda, and THOUSANDS of other fish in just a short dive. But my main reason for heading there was to finally dive with some larger sharks - and as expected - there were plenty to see! The divemasters at Namena really know their stuff, and they plan the dives according to tidal movements and a really clear understanding of the the fish movement and patterns. It wasn't ever a question of whether or not the dive would be good (they were all good!) but just a matter of how many big sharks you would see, or if you were lucky enough to see the Manta Rays that day. Everyone in our group (except for me!) had great encounters with large Manta Rays while we were there. I was testing out the fishing (outside of the marine reserve) when that Manta dive happened. But the fishing was great too, so I can't complain too much!

Overall this island was the most secluded piece of paradise that anyone could ever imagine. I would recommend this trip to any couple interested in a private, romantic getaway or anyone truly interested in some great diving. The food was good, the staff was amazing, and we'll be going back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: All of the rooms here were good (we were able to check out most of them). If you're bringing ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S, Owner at Namena Island Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and all your dive and deep sea fishing adventures. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back on Namena Island soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a beautiful place. The staff are superb, the diving is lovely, the location is amazing and only 12 guests when full - heaven! It is quiet, totally relaxing (no wifi and only variable quality signal in Club room). Food is OK and plentiful but not sophisticated - hope you like fish in coconut milk.. Sponge cake for dessert 7 out of 8 nights was a little boring. Bugs galore but there are nets, no air con, solar power tiny fans, propane gas for kettle - all totally perfect for a wonderful get away from it all, certainly comfortable, quiet, restful. we've loved it. That is why we've been twice. However Tom Moody has sold the island. The new owners have plans to increase the capacity to attract families (this will take time - it is Fiji). In the meantime there should be some minor improvements which will be good. But if the way it is now appeals to you, go soon. Sadly we won't go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson az
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

It is very difficult to put into words how lovely the island,the water and the people at Namana are. My family and I spent several days there in late July, our ages ranged from 10years to 47 years and each of us had a life fulfilling time. Everything is simple, and pure, all your needs are met in such a natural way its simplicity seems extravagant. A simple bed in a room (Bure)with several slideing doors open to one of the most grand views you could ever hope to see- beautiful flowers blooming, in red and pinks and oranges lit over shades of green all over looking the crystal clear blue waters, the melody of waves rolling in and birds singing accompany the soothing sounds of silence. The silence you can find there opens your soul.
We took several drives, with terrific guides- completely catered to what we wanted (like everything else there), we did alot of snorkeling as well, kayaking, hiking around the island, playing vollyball (and sucking horribly at it), the food was delicious. And everyone there is so laid back, yet completely attentive and top of everything. Conversation was a delight, smiles and laughter were plenty. This is not a westernized posh resort, it is a little peice of paradise that far outreaches any expectation you may have. If you want nature, beauty, to sleep deeply, to awaken yourself, experiences like non other- than come here.

Room Tip: All bures have great veiws, and are beautifully kept. We had two; the girls in one down the path fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Namena Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namena Island Resort

Address: Private Mail Bag, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namena Island Resort is a privately owned Fiji island resort. 6 Bure's (cottages) strategically located to maximize ocean views and enjoy the ocean breezes. Maximum guest capacity 12 people. 3 gorgeous private beaches. Namena is rated the "Best Dive Destination In Fiji" and ranked as one of the "Top 10 Dive Destinations in the World". Namena Island is surrounded by a reef designated as a marine reserve with over 22 world famous dive sites all within a 10 minute boat ride from our boat jetty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moody`s Namena Hotel Savusavu
Moodys Namena Hotel
Moodys Namena Resort All Inclusive
Namena Island Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namena Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.