We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secluded island paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Namena Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savusavu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Namena Island Resort
Save
You added Namena Island Resort to your Saves list
Private Mail Bag, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Savusavu
Belton, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A secluded island paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I think there are few places left on earth that would qualify as a true island paradise, but this is one of them. To get here, you have to take a sea plane from one of the main islands, and the owner and his wife will greet you at the dock as you pull up. There are no more than 6 or so "buras" (huts) for rent, so you don't get much traffic on the island. White beaches, jungle hikes, big spiders, sea breeze, beach volleyball with the Fijian staff, and the most delicious fresh meals prepared on the island by the chef are what you'll experience here. If you're a diver, you'll be hard-pressed to find better diving in the world. The island's instructor and divemaster take you to their own little-known local spots. I've dived the Great Barrier Reef, the Caribbean, the Red Sea, and Brazil, and nothing has compared to what Moody's Namena can offer with it's cliff diving--if for no other reason than because it's secluded and untainted by mass tourism.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We spent 10 days here for xmas 2011. We chose this resort, because I had stayed at the Moodys' previous resort, in Panama, back in 1976.

Resort: Serene, quiet, and feels like you have the whole island to yourself.
Great scuba diving, snorkeling, hiking, bird (and bat) watching. We built each day around the communal meals, and the morning and afternoon dive. Leaving plenty of time for hikes, walks, naps, reading books. The friendly staff continually pampered us, and we left the island feeling like family.

Scuba: great fish life due to well-policed marine preserve. The island is surrounded by a barrier reef, and most dives are a 10-minute boat ride to breaks in the barrier. For our entire trip, the two of us were the only guests diving, but there were typically 2 or 3 snorkelers along, who would swim in shallower areas while we drift-dived bommies and walls. Later on this trip, we dived Taveuni. Both locations had world-class diving. Both had plentiful soft corals. In Taveuni, we saw more diversity of hard corals. In Namena, the fish life was bigger and more plentiful (marine preserves are a great idea).

Food: A good mix of standard American to Fijian to curries, all prepared with finesse. Many freshly baked items that were always a treat. Lots of fresh fish caught by one of the other guests (outside the marine preserve). Many fruits and some vegetables are grown around the island. Most meats and vegetables are brought by boat from Savusavu, where much of it is locally grown. Xmas lovo on the beach was a big occasion, and we wished we had stayed for the New Year's lovo.

Our bure: a spacious cabin with beautiful woodwork. On top of an oceanside cliff, providing breezes and fantastic views. It was a short walk to the dining bure, but was completely private. It was a joy to sit on the deck, watching boobies, frigate birds and fruit bats fly by. Plumbing was a masterpiece of engineering, relying on rain water and seawater. Lighting was provided by solar-panel charged LEDs.

The island and resort are very comfortable for guests. It's amazing what the Moodys and their staff have accomplished, when everything must be produced on the island or brought in on their small boats. It's clear that building and maintaining a resort in such a remote location was and is a herculean task. It's also clear that Tom Moody couldn't have imagined living his life any other way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We spent a week at Moody's Resort and loved this very special place. On just 110 acres, Namena offers the perfect combination of tropical forest with hiking trails, sandy beaches, cliffs covered with flowering bushes, and bird sanctuary. The surrounding lagoon and barrier reef boast a wonderful variety of hard and soft corals, lots of interesting dive sites patrolled by inquisitive but never threatening sharks. What a treat to see this pristine underwater environment after seeing so many deteriorating reefs and dwindling fish stocks in other better known locations in the Pacific and Caribbean. Our heartfelt thanks to Tom Moody and his wonderful staff!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

We just left Moody's Namena Island Resort today, and though we are excited to continue our adventures through Fiji it was bittersweet to leave. The experience was hard to describe, at once authentic and also a throwback to a different type of vacation. Tom Moody has spent years creating an ecologically correct resort before it was fashionable. He created, out of nothing, a working community on a dry island that had never been settled by anyone in recorded history. He created a waterworks using rainwater, composting toilets, solar lighting, and uses fresh fruits, vegetables and seafood from the island and surrounding sea. The food was amazing and it shows that he has had the same cook (Kelly) for 17 years. Like any Fijian village, the staff are mostly related and all from neighboring Vuana Levu, particularly the area around Savusavu. The service was impeccable and gracious. Our bure (cabin) had an unbelievable view of then Kora Sea and the Namena Reef. We were constantly entertained by Red-footed boobies, Frigate birds, cute (!) fruit bats and an assortment of smaller birds like Pacific doves, kingfishers and Banded Rales. The diving was exciting, beautiful and visually stunning, and our dive master George was terrific (as were the boat driver Vitale and Gina our dive helper). The reef, bohmies and the amazing collection of soft and hard corals, nudibranchs, sharks, barracudas, Spanish Mackerel, eels, giant clams, banded shrimp, etc were magical and pristine. Mr. Moody has mandated that 90% of his island be a nature preserve, and established a marine preserve to protect the surrounding barrier reef. I cannot say enough about Namena, except don't go if you are not a bit adventurous. It is not for anyone, especially if you want to stay connected to the outside world. But, uh, I think that is the point. Just don't tell everyone...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast of California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic vacation here May 23 - June 4, 2011. The corals, fish, staff, and island experience are phenomenal! We highly recommend it. If you'd like to see our amateur video from the experience, you can click on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vp7HHlXNdzQ. We found out about this in the book "1000 Places to See before You Die."
It's the best snorkeling and diving that I've experienced (including the Great Barrier Reef, Hawaii, Cook Islands, and the Channel Islands). The great thing is that you can enjoy so much simply by snorkeling. Since I came with a cold and couldn't dive deep and my wife only snorkels, we were grateful that so much was visible from the surface. With no more than 12 guests on the island at a time, it's an extraordinary experience. Each day we went to new sites on the reef. Even over two weeks, we continued to see new species of coral and fish. Moody's Namena is not set up for the 4 tanks a day divers.
There's a morning dive and an afternoon dive opportunity (along with snorkeling). But, with the reef only 10 minutes from the island, you save the hour boat ride across the open seas to get to this marine reserve with the best diving in Fiji. So, from a diver's perspective, Namena Island is a great opportunity too.
This is a delightful place to go to get unplugged and enjoy true island life. Internet connection, room service, spa, swimming pool, and definitely parking are irrelevant. Vanaka vaka levu, Moody's Namena, for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Namena is an absolute gem. We stayed for 15 nights, half of which we had the entire island and all the staff to ourselves (due to seasonal wet season bookings - ha! fooled them! ). As we are snorkellers we were thrilled to access both the walk-in reefs around the island as well as the extremely short boat trips out to the surrounding reef. The underwater world is difficult to describe in words, phenomenal, outstanding, unbelievable, original, natural come to mind, but still fall way too short. We don't dive, but a couple of divers with us for the first week shared many a tale over our dinner table each night. The bures are more than adequate, offering very comfortable accommodation in an eco friendly resort, (meaning: no hair dryers, no switches for a/c). We had compost toilets, and solar lights, and the breeze blew every day for the freshest a/c one could ask for. The food is Fijian family style and we loved it. Sharing a dinner table every meal with the other guests and the owner is something special. We'll be back, and hopefully soon. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

If You want to get a pleasure from wildlife it's the exact place to be.
The real treasure of the resort is the staff. When You are leaving the hotel You feel like You are leaving your home.
The Fijian nature is surrounding You all around.
The best place for diving and snorkeling (mostly for corals).
But each traveler will have to know he will play under Namena rules: 3 time-a-day meals in the exact time with the owner talking during and after; No plug-ins in the rooms (bureis); only one room has diod bulbs (others are lighted by gas lighters or small bulbs); birds and sea sound all day long; mosquitoes during DAY light (and of course in the morning!!! apply bed net); hotel territory NOT lighted yet (torch with solar battery applied). almost no mobile network (working very bad), no Internet (only on staff laptop).
If You accept all mentioned above You will have one the best vacation in Your life.
Don't forget books, spirits, shampoo and others - no possibility to buy something on the island - no shops.
It's worth to visit this remote island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Namena Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namena Island Resort

Address: Private Mail Bag, Savusavu, Vanua Levu 00000, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Savusavu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Savusavu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savusavu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Savusavu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namena Island Resort is a privately owned Fiji island resort. 6 Bure's (cottages) strategically located to maximize ocean views and enjoy the ocean breezes. Maximum guest capacity 12 people. 3 gorgeous private beaches. Namena is rated the "Best Dive Destination In Fiji" and ranked as one of the "Top 10 Dive Destinations in the World". Namena Island is surrounded by a reef designated as a marine reserve with over 22 world famous dive sites all within a 10 minute boat ride from our boat jetty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moody`s Namena Hotel Savusavu
Moodys Namena Hotel
Moodys Namena Resort All Inclusive
Namena Island Resort Fiji/Savusavu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namena Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.