We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving with great people!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KoroSun Dive

KoroSun Dive
Hibiscus Highway | Savasi Island Resort, Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
+679 934 1033
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Bula Re! We're a family owned & operated dive store operating out of Savusavu for over 11 years now and our rates include all quality gear and taxes, no hidden surprises in our hidden paradise when diving with us! New diver or pro, we offer you truly safe, professional & friendly scuba diving adventures with some of the best diving in Fiji,and most certainly Savusavu. Variety is the spice of life and as you take the plunge under water you'll wonder why you waited so long to come & dive with us! About 15 minutes from our marina to our local dive sites we have many varied sites to explore which offer some of the best scuba diving in Fiji. Scalloped hammerheads, pelagics, soft corals, swim thrus & caverns & we also dive the world premiere dive sites of Namena Marine Reserve, Rainbow Reef & White Wall in the Somosomo Straits when weather and numbers allow. Combine the fantastic underwater seascapes with our well earned reputation for safety and service & you'll have yourself a dive experience that won't disappoint. When you're not blowing bubbles down under, the local landscape, climate & people will rival the underwater thrills. When it's time to leave we're pretty sure you won't want to!
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great diving with great people!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We just returned from Fiji and had a wonderful diving experience with Koro Sun Dive. We stayed at KoroSun Resort out of where Koro Sun Dive is run by Colin and Janine. They are a husband wife team and run this amazing dive school. Thanks for helping us get certified. Must say Colin is super knowledgeable and so much fun to dive with while Janine is a sweetheart and takes very good care of everyone. The best thing about Koro Sun dive besides the people is that its a PADI as well as SSI certified dive school. We just loved all the dive sights they took us to and even though it was our first time diving they took us for better dive sites than beginner level after judging that we were comfortable in the water. Thanks for a lovely birthday gift- my open water diver certificate. Sorry for the late review. Got my permanent card by the way! Yeh!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Bula Vinaka and Yay! You both got your certifications!!! You were fun people and we certainly had a good time under water as well as above during the surface intervals. We learnt so much about India and found out you'd won your trip to Fiji, so lucky! How fantastic it was to train you, dive you and have fun with you!! And we're happy you had such good diving and enjoyed your time with us so much. We can do links on websites....???!!! Lolomas, Colin & Janine and the rest of the KSD Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great small dive operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I had three days of great diving with Koro Sun Dive May 17-19, 2013. This is a small, wife-and-husband run dive operation that provides friendly and personal service to divers. They have a good boat with lots of shade and a dive crew that takes care of all set-up and tear-down. We used their equipment except for mask and snorkel so we did not have to pay excess baggage fees, and it all worked well. There were a small group of divers our first two days, including a family of 5 on the second day, but we had our own dive master for each dive, and on the last day we were the only divers and received personalized treatment. My wife does underwater photography and her needs were all taken care of. The dive sites were just minutes from the dock. We saw everything from big sharks to several different nudibranch species, pipefish, and shrimp. The reefs and fish diversity seemed to be in excellent shape. We stayed at Koro Sun Resort, which we liked very much, but made all of our diving arrangements directly with the dive shop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Bula Vinaka!
We welcome your review and are pleased we could provide you with the service you required! I'm sure your wife took some great photos and are happy to have formed a lovely friendship with you both over the course of our emails before the dives, during diving, and then after diving too!
Yes we are a small dive operation, but have also catered to dive groups as large as 36 (we've gotta get those extra boats of ours back in the water!), but prefer to cater to smaller numbers (1-14) and provide the personalised service you've appreciated.
We're pleased you liked our gear and boat as air baggage limits are prohibitive and we are happy to include all gear in our pricing. We could however, suggest that you could bring a boat and leave it with us when you leave next time...can never have too many boats out here.!!! LOL.
We are glad you enjoyed your Koro Sun Resort experience, but can say that as you liaised directly with us at KoroSun Dive (a separate business), it means we can answer your dive questions immediatley and provide you with accurate and up-to-date information about diving our sites and more. This direct method is our preferred means of communication with our guests.
And yes, as you say, our dive sites are mere minutes from our KoroSun Resort marina and we offer a range of diving in this shor boat ride - swim thrus and caverns, pelagics, turtles, pretty soft corals etc. 3-5 days is an optimal time frame to dive with us. Lucky us to make divers happy when we do what we love huh!?!
Again, thanks for the review, and we wish you many happy diving experiences in the future. Best regards to you both, the KSD team! Vinaka and Moce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Dive company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My Partner and I recently spent 3 days diving with Colin, Janine, Steven and Mr T at Koro Sun. Our main goal was to see the Hammerheads and the team didn't dissapoint with Hammerheads on 2 out 2 dives at dreamhouse. (ok we didn't get to see the shoal and on one of the days we got to see a hammerheads bum in the distance but hey, they're wild animals what can you do!)

What i enjoyed most about diving with Colin was the way that he took the time to point our niudibranchs, shrimps, leafy dragons and all the small interesting things that make reef diving so special (as well as the obvious pelagics at Dreamhouse). Each dive enabled me to see something new and I've come home with some awesome photos!

Colin and the team were exceptionally freindly, helpful and most importantly professional. I'd certainly recommend them to anyone looking to dive in Savusavu. We'll certainly be back again sometime to have another crack at getting hammered!!

Vinaka Vakalevu Colin, Janine, Steven and Mr T

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Bula RE and vinaka vakalevu for a wonderful review! We certainly enjoyed your diving with us as much as you enjoyed diving with us! We did have extra curricular fun, and Colin had great stories to tell about the smile on your partner's face on your last dive!!
Yes you did have some awesome pics and I'd love a copy if the perfectly centered hammerhead one if you'd be so kind (low resolution as internet as you know is not uber fast here).
We're totally looking forward to seeing you back here and any other Kiwi friends are welcome too - gotta offset this Australian dominance that seems to pervade!
Cheers guys,and stay warm while under water in NZ! J-9, Skipper Skipper, Sir Stevo and Mr T, the KSD Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved diving with these guys....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have to agree with all the previous comments here.....Colin, Janine, "Mr T", and "Sir Steven" are just a pleasure to dive with. Their enthusiasm knows no bounds and is exceeded only by the constant humour displayed on the boat. That doesn't mean they aren't serious about safety though and they look after their divers very well whilst on the boat.
As a moderately experienced diver they put me at ease straight away and I watched them literally take the novices by the hand whilst underwater. My first experience of the "Big Blue" - being in deep water with no reference points - felt entirely natural with Colin leading the charge. Didn't get to see any Hammerheads, but there were plenty of sizeable Grey Sharks and other pelagics to keep the interest levels up. They also have some of the most stunning corals I've yet seen, along with plenty of unusual and intriguing small creatures. Coral canyons and swim-throughs just complete the picture.
Vinaka vaka levu guys!
Kim.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Bula Re from Savusavu and Vinaka for the review, our new found friend! We likewise enjoyed your above water humour and adrenaline filled tales!! Stick to underwater diving, the rollercaosters and avoid the skydives is my advice on your past experiences!
Glad we could share our underwater world with you and maybe next time we can scoot on out to world class Namena and thenfind you those scalloped hammerheads at Dream House!
Yes safety is a priority for us, but it's closely followed by fun, and as family owned and operated dive shop we cater to all ages, nationalities and genders.
Stay well, and I'm sure we will meet again. Sota tale, the KSD Family, J-9, Skipper Skipper, Sir Stevo and Mr T! :O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Dive Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

For an amazing diving experience on Vanua Levu you must try KoroSun Dive.
Colin and Janine provided the most professional dive experience we've ever had. Their knowledge of the dive sites and personal attention made us extremely comfortable during our dives. They are a great team with a great crew that added up to a fantastic experience. We highly recommend Colin and Janine if your diving in Fiji.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeejeeJ9, Owner at KoroSun Dive, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Bula Re you two!!!

We did have an awesome time with you as well! The first snorkel, then drinks at the Planters' Club, then diving and the dive training...The fun times above and below water certainly have stayed with us, and we're just waiting for your return to us after Bali! Colin WILL get her certified!!! Keep the paperwork and it will be a happening thing!!! She's gotta come to Namena with us next time!

Vinaka for the review, and lolomas (loves) The KSD Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KoroSun Dive also viewed

 

Been to KoroSun Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KoroSun Dive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.