We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best eating in Savusavu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf And Turf

Surf And Turf
Savusavu, Vanua Levu, Fiji
8853033
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 restaurants in Savusavu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best eating in Savusavu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is just great. Ate there several times. Gourmet food at reasonable prices - the Chef has previously worked in some of the World's finest kitchens. Don't forget to try their home made ice cream for dessert!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    62
    30
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay food, but most expensive meal in Savusavu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This seems to be the fancy place to eat in town, although we aren't sure exactly why. It was good, but our meal was $90FJD compared to the average $45FJD we spent everywhere else. Many of the locals haven't eaten there because of the price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lobster bisque is amazing and is $5 FJD during dinner but only appetizers are reasonably priced any entree is just too much! Food is very good though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dinner twice in a week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Been here twice in a week. itis expensive for the local fare, but definitely great quality food. The first time I went I had the lobster tail and Filet mignon - which was to die for. Absolutely gorgeous and they even did a proper blue steak for me - which a lot of places struggle to get right. It was $65 FJD - expensive for here, but good vs UK. My friend had the seafood platter which looked lovely and was value at $75. On the second visit we were going for a slightly cheaper meal - I had lobster pasta at about $30, and It was a bit too rich and the lobster a bit overcooked, but still ok, while my dad had steak diane which he loved. Would go back for a treat, but will stick to the purer surf and turf type menu items. I hear from others that the curries are great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surf n Turf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Top quality food. Probably the most expensive fare in town apart from Cousteau's, but relative to prices in Australia or the UK, this place is downright cheap. A Surf n Turf (steak and lobster tail) will cost 60FJDJ. Special mention for their ice cream. Absolutely delicious and you can even pre-order large tubs to take home.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf And Turf also viewed

Savusavu, Vanua Levu
Savusavu, Vanua Levu
 

Been to Surf And Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf And Turf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.