We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashpacking Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures to your Saves list
Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Yalava by the Sea | P O Box 2394, Labasa, Vanua Levu 828, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Warragul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Flashpacking Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We recently went to Fiji for our honeymoon. Not wanting to do the normal resort holiday we booked for six nights at Palmlea. A decision we did not regret. Joe and Julie made us welcome from the begining. It's the perfect place to do as much or as little as you like and the guys at Palmlea are happy to make your stay as unique as possible.

Malti the chef is amazing and we have not had better food. Absolutely increadable it's worth going just for the food.

Inoke, Ganesh and Faizal are all welcoming and more then happy to show you aroung the farm and get you invovled in the everyday workings. Una is also a fine example of how lovely and welcoming the Fijian people are, happy to stop and chat and always had a huge smile.

The trip wouldn't have been the same without Tilly the Australian cattle dog who welcomes you with such excitment everytime you walk into the lodge that you feel as though she will miss you when you go.

Thank you palmlea you helped make our honey a great memory.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Three days was far too short. everything wonderful. Views, pool. relaxing, peaceful and great food. What more could one possibly ask for. It was very hard to leave and I will definitely be back for a longer stay. Perfect for one's mental health and the annual leave from stressful city and work life.

Room Tip: All rooms quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Palmlea farms is the quintessential fiji country island experience. We spent 4 nights with 2 little boys on this eco farm resort and it was a flat out 10 across the board. The host/owners are very kind, warm, friendly and fascinating to spend time with. The cottages(bures) are cozy and well designed and laid out. You will have the feeling you want to move in and stay. The food is excellent because it is organic farm grown and prepared by Malti who is an excellent cook. The selection of food is also great and each item you eat taste as if it was home made but with the quality of a top chef. The owners are gourmet cooks and they have passed that on and you can taste it in every meal. The farm itself is so well executed and laid out that you feel immense space , peace and privacy. It was so nice we simply did not even want to leave. There are enough activities to keep you busy and relaxed at the same time. The entire farm has spectacular views and a Fiji trip will not be complete without a stop here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We spent a wonderful and amazing 7 nights at Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures a few days ago (July 2013).

When we alighted from the airplane we were greeted by the lovely Julie who took us to our new home via a very comfortable and air conditioned four wheel drive.

Travelling with two young children (18 months and 4 years) can be tiring at best but we immediately felt the stresses dissolve breathing the refreshing clean Vanua Levu Fijian air.

When we arrived at Palmlea we were delighted to see the lovely main reception area/restaurant which showcased amazing views of the landscapes and ocean. Simply Magical.

We were greeted by the Palmlea family (the staff will soon become members of your extended family!) and offered refreshing coconut water and sugar cane and taken to our immaculate Bure.

The Bure itself is worth a mention as it was lovely and so well maintained - Joe's background in architecture truly shows in the design of this beautiful accommodation.

The grounds of Palmlea are beautiful, natural and offer plenty for everyone to explore and relax. There are many options for day trips and things to do around the resort too.

We spent our days relaxing by the pool (which is great for children), eating the amazing food (designed by Joe & Julie and cooked to perfection by Malti the Palmlea chef) and exploring the area.

Palmlea is one of those magical places that can be whatever you would like it to be - a remote get away to relax and unwind or a place where you can explore the breathtaking beauty of the Fijian landscape and culture. A special mention goes to Leone - our Dive Master - who took us on a great diving adventure and Tia the lovely young woman who was our nanny for the week and won our hearts and the hearts of our kids.

It was an absolute pleasure to get to know Joe and Julie and their dedicated Palmlea team. We loved every moment and we will be back!

Room Tip: Every part of Plamlea is lovely. The larger Bure is perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Luved this place! It's very clean and organic as all the foods are freshly grown and prepared! Being surrounded by mountains with unspoilt natural flora & fauna--this place rejuvenates (thanks NO POLLUTION and abundance clean air& ahhhh the natural fresh food--best part of the meal when you end it as the deserts are equally yummy!!)----you'll feel like a new person!
The pool is clean and inviting! And as you walk your way down the greeny to the sea-side--I swear you can feel mother nature at her best!
It is a great place for couples and family alike as the owners are really accommodating and in no time you;ll feel at home!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrogin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent the end of our Fijian holiday at Palmlea and we saved the best til last.
We flew in from Nadi and the drive to the resort was a bit bumpy after the rains but when we arrived you could feel any stress evaporate. You can do as much or as little as you like and we decided on the latter. I dont often read but finished a novel in 3 days. The so called lap pool is huge and devine with views out to the bay. Julie is a fantastic host but be aware this is a place that you wont be bumping into other guests. Food was amazing. It was fresh and cooked with love. Lambasa town is a nice relief from Suva and Nadi which can be a bit pushy. My favorite spot was the private Jetty which was a brief walk though the farm and mangroves. We stayed in one of the Villas which was very charming, it is not 5 star but comfortable and it is an ecofreindly resort/farm. My wife is Malaysian and Julie organised for her to have some fresh sugar cane to gnaw on, it brought back some great childhood memories for her. We will have fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labasa, Fiji
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I recently held our wedding at Palmlea Farms. We also booked accommodation for ourselves and my parents and sister. Considering we only booked one week before our wedding they did a wonderful job. They decorated the main villa in traditional fijian style, organised the food, drink, and wedding cake. The cake was a delicious coconut cake!

Palmlea has a calm and peaceful vibe, with my dad picking up a book for the first time in 20 years!

The couple that run the resort are very friendly, and are well versed with local knowledge.

It was a blessing to be able to have our wedding in such a beautiful spot, with the venue being able to organise almost everything.

We highly recommend Palmlea to visitors and local toursits!

We were also lucky enough to have our wedding at the same time that a couple with degree's in 'eco tourism' visited the resort, with them offering to take our wedding photos..for free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures

Address: Yalava by the Sea | P O Box 2394, Labasa, Vanua Levu 828, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Vanua Levu > Labasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Labasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji’s eco agri-tourism Resort overlooking the Great Sea Reef, 18 minutes from Labasa Airport. New one and two bedroom ocean view Bures provide deluxe accommodations. Resort is limited to 12 guests. International & local cuisine are served in the licensed Restaurant & Bar. We offer environmental and organic themes. An alternative to escape the crowd. Our uniqueness lies in the versatility of the food & guest services, which can be personalized for each guest.Would you like to spend one or two weeks to an isolated spot in the Fiji Islands that is breathtakingly beautiful, serenely quite, private, personal, relaxing and most of all non-commercial. Adventure, Romance, Organic food. A place that is Eco accountable. Search no more. Palmlea Lodge and Villas (Bures). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures Fiji/Labasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmlea Farms Lodge & Bures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.