We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under Our Skin...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Turtle Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Island Resort
Save
You added Turtle Island Resort to your Saves list
Yasawa Islands, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turtle Island
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Under Our Skin...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

We went to Turtle Island for our Honeymoon in January and found paradise! Paradise was made up of not just the crystal clear blue water lapping on white sands but also of the delicious creations from chef Joseph, the bubbles of free flowing champagne, the warmth and beauty of the Fijian people who call Turtle home, the relaxing, earthy vibe of 'Turtle time' and the whole experience of being there.

We arrived on the same day as the new managers Ron and Margaret. They certainly hit the ground running and proved themselves not only to be excellent managers but also wonderful caring people too.

My husband and I adored our time on Turtle and shed tears when it was time to leave. Not being a fan of crowds, we loved the fact that there are only 14 couples allowed on the Island at any one time. Living in a big city it such a luxury to have a whole beach to yourself! In addition to this, the fact that this was put in place to preserve the environment, makes it even more special. All too often I have seen a beautiful place ruined by overcrowding, lack of sustainability and greed. God willing, Richard's forward thinking will not see this happen to Turtle.

We both felt that spending time on our honeymoon with other couples who had been married for years and even those who were honeymooners themselves was a brilliant way to start our life together as a married couple. It served to bring us even closer and so excited about our future together. We were even lucky enough to be part of a renewal of vows ceremony. The ceremony was truly beautiful and what an inspiration to us, just newlyweds.

I agreed that Turtle Island is not for everyone. If you are a lover of natural beauty, romance, good food and wine, the simple life and don't tend to sweat the small stuff, then Turtle is for you.

Turtle Island really got under our skin and will remain in our hearts and minds for years to come. And yes, we too have booked our return!

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — A bit hot
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    17
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
143
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

I too feel compelled to comment on the previous poor review and concur entirely with the subsequent 'balanced response'. My partner and I were married on the island. We spent a truly magnificent 2 weeks there, met wonderful people, both staff and guests and have booked to return. Our wedding was everything we hoped it would be and more and the memories we have taken away more than compensate for the price tag. We had no trouble at all in ordering anything and it was always delivered promptly and with a smile. There was an excellent choice of wines, which were never in short supply. The food was excellent and plentiful and if we didn't fancy the menu of the day we only had to ask for something else. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Management of the island had just been taken over by Ron and Margaret, who had only arrived 5 days prior to our arrival. Given that fact I think they did a wonderful job in catering to the needs of their first group of guests (and their first wedding).

No, Turtle Island is not the Waldorf Astoria, we are not greeted by obsequious gloved and hatted attendants, transported in limousines or called sir or madam. Neither are we suffering the arrogance of the big cities, the traffic of New York, the pollution of Bangkok, the hawkers of Bali, etc. etc. As for the price tag, yes it's significant, but then again so is a very average 2 star hotel room in New York. Everyone is called by their first name, we don't wear shoes if we don't want to, we can eat and drink what we like, when we like and go where we like when we like.

In summary, the Fijiian staff are genuine and sincere people, the location is idealic and the service excellent. A holiday is what you make of it and we made this one the best one of our lives.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in paradise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

My Partner and I have just spent two weeks on Turtle Island and we had such a fantastic time. The Fijian staff are such wonderful people and the Managers Paul & Amanda are so accommodating and they run the Island with great proffesionalism and such warmth, they catered for our every needs. Joseph the executive chef was a chef of very high quality and would have no problem cooking anything we required.
The Island is the best place in the world that we have been to and would not hesitate in going back again. You have to try it to believe it!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Relax and enjoy everything
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

What a huge disappointment. Turtle was once one of the world’s great island resorts – sadly those days have gone. While still being an incredibly beautiful place, the level of service has dropped so dramatically as to make the $US2,000 per night rate utterly ridiculous.

The let down started at the airport where we expected to be met by a Turtle representative in the arrivals hall. We weren’t. We had to search the terminal to find the Turtle office, which along with the transfer bus and seaplanes, is grubby and run down.

After a long flight, we then had to sit in the office for more than an hour while we waited for other guests to arrive. There were no refreshments or reading materials of the type you would expect from a resort charging these kinds or rates. We basically felt as if we were heading towards a three-star backpacker’s – not one of the world’s great resorts.

Where once the finest wines and French champagnes flowed freely – guests are now given the cheap stuff and basically have to beg for more if they want it. There is a barely disguised frugality which is so blatantly about maximizing profit margin that it’s truly insulting.

There is minimal attention to detail – mini bars are not restocked, dirty dishes are left lying on the beach for days, bathrooms aren’t cleaned, tissues are not replaced.

Requests for additional wine or mineral water can take an hour or more to be fulfilled and need to be continually chased up.

Guests are forced to visit the local school upon arrival to give a motivational speech to the students – even if they protest they are repeatedly asked until eventually they cave in. At the end of your stay you’ll be asked in the strongest terms to give a speech to the whole staff at on your final day – a group which can consist up to 100 people. Basically this is an enforced ‘thank you’ – whether you want to or not.

We were there at the same time as a number of returning guests, all of whom expressed their disappointment at the changes and vowed they wouldn’t be back again.

It’s really sad to see such an icon reduced to this. We felt particularly sorry for some of the honeymooners we met, who had obviously saved for their ‘trip of a lifetime’, only to be let down.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

We have travelled all over the world and particularly love tropical vacations. Even we were not prepared for the degree of pampering and luxurious relaxation that greeted us at Turtle Island. Extravagant service delivered in a low key, Fijian-friendly, loving way came at us in ways we could not have imagined. The setting was perfect, idyllic. The food and libations uncompromising. The amenities would satisfy anyone of unlimited means. No doubt the best vacation we've ever had, and to top that, we will be coming back again and again!

  • Liked — The best service in an ideal location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Try it: you'll love it!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

My Husband and I just got back from our first 7 day stay at Turtle. We honestly felt like this was one of the best trips we have ever had. It immediately became clear that our expectations were by far exceeded. We knew it would be beautiful and have excellent service but we truly didn't expect to make the friends that we did. The "Family Table" concept may not appeal to everyone but we loved it. We took the opportunity to have a private beach picnic and to dine by ourselves on the pontoon but always looked forward to getting back to the group. Lunch went on until 5:30 one day we were all having such a good time. The fabulous food and wine always makes for good conversation but the other guests we met, the entire staff, esepcially our Bure Mama, and the managers Paul and Amanda really became our friends. It is amazing how quickly you can get to know someone when you are in such a beautiful, relaxed environment. We have already signed up for another 10 day trip and we can hardly wait.

  • Liked — The laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't wait!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

We just returned from our 8th visit to turtle island and had a wonderful trip. Reading the last review did make us think abit about our experiences but we came to a different conclusion Having visited fiji many times over the last 15 years the airport is newly remodeled and far improved from the "old days". .There is still no doubt that you're not in Kansas anymore and that you're in a foreign country-and a little on"island time". Some may get upset at a little wait .... the Turtle reps were there when we arrived and promply took us directly to the seaplane base with no lay-over in a day room. We were at the resort by 8:30 am in time for breakfast. Yes, the seaplane was as old as I am-but the D.H. Beavers are still considered among the best seaplanes ever built. The new Australian manager of the resort has done much to improve service and address many of the issues raised in past reviews-they had been nearly two years without a onsite manager. We had many special requests outside the usual honeymoon sort and we found them very accommadating. I had brought my kiteboarding gear and the staff took me by boat or cart to many deserted beaches to launch and sail in private away from any crowds that one would find back home. Our Bure(hut) had been recently remodelled and was in excellent condition. The island was uncrowded and we were able to visit our favorite private beaches every day we wanted-even making several trips to Long Beach in one day (our favorite). The food was even better than our last visit and in good hands with the new chef Josef. The fishing was excellent all week and most days at lunch we were eating the fish caught just a few hours ago that morning by the guests. We attended a grand wedding that week which i admit was I not initially enthused about (we had seen a few too many in the post Trista and Ryan era)- but after meeting the couple during the week we got caught up in he event as did everyone else- 3 couples even extended their stay to attend. The wedding was about as perfect as could be-and that couple is already booked to return. I would say that really Turtle is unchanged and we found that if one only asks your wishes will be nicely taken care of-well maybe not really quickly (fiji time again).

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Island Resort

Address: Yasawa Islands, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Turtle Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Turtle Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Turtle Island - located in the Fiji islands. You have found one of the most unique all-inclusive private islands in all the world. Be one of only 14 couples sharing the most beautiful and lush 500 acre private island resort… where each couple can have their own private beach and is assigned a dedicated personal concierge, your bure mama. We provide our guests one of the most intimate, private and romantic experiences. Your private island includes private beach picnics, romantic private dine outs, spa treatments, horse back riding through the winding island trails or on your own private beach, scuba diving, champagne sunrise breakfasts, an amazing and friendly Fijian staff is ready to make all of your dreams come true. This exclusive private island paradise awaits you and your partner for a romantic week to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Island Hotel Turtle Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.