We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt Rotten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sau Bay Fiji Retreat

Save Saved
You added Sau Bay Fiji Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat
Waiyevo | Box 203, Taveuni Island, Fiji (Formerly Almost Paradise)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited date discounts
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spoilt Rotten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Highly recommend to anyone. My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved it. We were greeted by the staff with a song. The cottage we stayed at was wonderful, clean and modern for somewhere so isolated. It even comes with an outdoor shower. There are plenty of activities to do, some you pay for and some you don't. You can go snorkelling right out front and take a hike to the top of the mountain to what the locals call "Top of the world" views. I recommend wearing some covered and comfortable shoes as it can get steep at times. My wife didn't bring any so we used the reef shoes from the resort. You can also go out to other places to snorkel as they know all the great spots.
The food is wonderful, and nothing is too much for the staff to handle. Seriously, the food was great - continental breakfast with the option of having a hot breakfast, always a three course lunch and dinner. The desserts are so good, we ended up taking desserts back to the cottage as we were so full with dinner/lunch. They even top up your cookie jar in your room. The staff also took us to another island to have a picnic. They pack your lunch with plenty of food and snacks. We had the island to ourselves, to snorkel, kayak, explore and relax. There are other villages and islands to explore as well.
I thought I would have a hard time coping with out wifi (I'm very addicted to my iPhone/Computer), but there was so much to do when you wanted to, and so much not to do when you wanted to relax. There are no set times per se for activities as it is very flexible.
We also did a village trip to 2 islands. We bought baskets and paintings. Scuba diving is amazing, I got to see a small shark. The coral and the marine life is so colourful and lively. Overall wonderful trip, perfect honeymoon from start to finish. We couldn't have had a better time at Sau Bay. Carol, Nigel and the Staff are all wonderful people who aim to please.

Room Tip: At the moment they are building another larger cabin down the end, we stayed in cottage three which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Bula guys!
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are so happy that you two had some quality time together on your honeymoon and that our Sau Magic has been sprinkled on your life together!
Wishing you both all the happiness in your future together.

Lolomas from us all at Sau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We needed to get away and find some serenity and here at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat we found it! Relaxing in and around our very comfortable cottage, reading in the hammock, snorkelling just off the beach and seeing beautiful coral reef life, being taken out by boat to more precious reefs, kayaking, fine dining made possible by the amazingly multi-talented chef, Danny, who also played guitar and sang at night, we couldn't have wished for a more perfect experience! Added to this were the unique visits to neighbouring villages, by boat, where we were warmly welcomed and given much insight into both Fijian and Polynesian cultures. (When I say unique visits to the villages, these were authentic experiences, off the beaten track, as this is not a place which is frequented by hordes of tourists.) All of the staff were attentive, and friendly and we felt we were being looked after by a close family. This was a holiday we will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Bula Heather!
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and kind words about Sau! We really enjoyed having you visit with us; so happy that you found the beauty, serenity relaxing.
We saw/heard you fly over on your return to Nadi; glad you had the extra time to visit the wonderful Bouma Waterfalls.
Vinaka to you both...and hope to have you visit our shores again.
Your Sau Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the time we were greeted at the boat dock for the short trip to the resort, to the serenade as we departed, the staff and service were first rate. The divemasters and boat captains took us to the best locations in the area and some of the premier Fiji dives, including Rainbow Reef and the White Wall.

The resort is small and personal. The staff make you feel like family. The food is great and definitely gourmet. Lots of seafood (which I liked and usually don't like fish), but there were always other options. In addition to the diving, take the opportunity to kayak into the mangroves, hike to the "Top of the World" and experience the local culture by seeing some of the nearby villages. -and of course lounging on the lawn while overlooking the water

The resort is relatively new, but is already top notch. And Nigel and Carol have big plans that will make the resort even better. Although its a long flight (10 hours from Los Angeles and then an interisland flight), it is worth the effort.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. They all look out on the bay. With the breezes in the evening in July, air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Bula Pat!
Thank you for your wonderful words and review. We did so enjoy having you stay and sharing with you the magic of our underwater and topside beauty.
From you Sau Family - on your return, close your eyes and dream of us; your flight will be over quickly!
Lolomas your Sau Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I got married at the resort in July last year. Our stay was amazing from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble and all our needs were met. Our wedding was perfect in everyway. We loved the food and have been craving it since we left! The staff were all lovely and amazing. We are travelling back in October and can't wait for some more relaxation away from our busy lives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Bula vinaka to our wedding couple!
Thank you for your wonderful review. Your wedding was so special - we want to thank you for introducing us to some of your Scottish heritage - it was wonderful.
We so look forward to seeing you in a few weeks again!...dont forget the kilt!

Lolomas from your Sau family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Firstly my apologies for such a late review. Boy, life gets in the way when you get back to the real world! My stay at Sau Bay was simply exceptional. I loved it while I was there and now with hindsight see it as the highlight of my 3 week trip to Fiji. Sau bay is nestled in a pristine bay, with beautifully appointed beachy chic bure's complete with quality fittings, linen and even Aircon. Carol was a gracious, lively and interesting host and her staff could not do too much for me. As I was writing my experience in Fiji, I asked if I could could have a writing table in my room. Of course a table appeared and this attention to service was the standard of my whole visit. Nothing was too much trouble and all staff went out of their way to accommodate my every request. The food was exceptional, utterly delicious, generous and beautifully presented. Guests could do as much or as little as they liked, and there was no set meal times or agendas to adhere to. I loved that. I truly had a relaxing break and enjoyed the company of lovely staff, blessed dogs and beautiful scenery. This place is heaven on a stick and I can't wait to go back. Thank you Carol for allowing me to use your office to get wifi when I needed it. For your fascinating insight into life and sharing your experience of it with me. And congratulations for nailing and pitching your accommodation perfectly. Definitely a must visit. Perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Bula Meagain!
Thank you for your beautiful words and great review.
We loved your visit and were happy that you found our little piece of paradise for part of your Fiji Experience.
I thoroughly enjoyed our little chats and look forward to reading your Fiji story!
Come again!
Lolomas from your Sau Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I visited Sau Bay in May of this year and were blown away with the resort and the hospitality. We stayed for 7 nights during which time we had the whole place to ourselves. Even though we were the only ones there we were looked after as if we were royalty. The room was beautiful with lovely cotton linen and beautiful flower arrangements refreshed each day. A lovely outside shower was a nice touch. Carol and Nigel are wonderful hosts and we thank you so much. But it is not just Carol and Nigel that make this place so special, it is also the rest of the wonderful staff. The restaurant is located by the waters edge and the bar/restaurant hostess , Betty, is a star and always made us welcome. Our meals, thanks to the Chef, were so amazing in their presentation, variety and taste. Also thanks to Barishka.
We walked to the top of the world a few times and snorkelled and kayaked in front of the resort.
Bale was the dive master and with Tui took us to some fantastic dive sites including white wall, rainbow reef and purple wall. Although my wife is not a diver it was no issue for her to come along and hop in the water and snorkel. The fish and coral were spectacular and great to see so many sharks in their natural habitat. Thanks Bale for some amazing memories.

Sorry Carol for taking so long to post this review, life seems so busy compared to Sau Bay. Will we be back - we sure will!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Bula from us all at Sau,
Thank you for your great review and kind words about our wonderful staff! We are sure that by writing this your 'Sau Magic' was once again sprinkled on you!
We are very privileged to be able to share our little bit of paradise; showing off our topside and underwater beauty.
We look forward to welcoming you 'home' again. Meantime, we hope that you take some time off from you busy life back home in New Zealand!
Your Sau Family
PS Some lovely photos of you having dinner - will email them to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Sau Bay Retreat is located in a lovely lagoon just minutes from the world famous Rainbow Reef. The dive master Wise (Waisel), Nigel and Carol Douglas have the best knowledge of Fiji's great dive sites. The accomodation is very comfotable with great ocean and lagoon viiews and the rates very reasonable for such a remote location. There is some great bush walking, snorkelling and kayaking to be experienced minutes from the resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SauBayFijiRetreat, Owner at Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Bula from Sau!
Thank you for your kind words and great review. It was wonderful to be able to share our tiny corner of Paradise with you.
Hope that you will visit our shores once more.
Lolomas
Nigel,Carol and Staff Family at Sau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sau Bay Fiji Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sau Bay Fiji Retreat

Address: Waiyevo | Box 203, Taveuni Island, Fiji (Formerly Almost Paradise)
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat - off Taveuni:We are located on the North Eastern coast of Vanua Levu. We are only accessible by boat. Fly to Taveuni island and transport across to Sau Bay will be arranged. Sau Bay Fiji Retreat is set on 99 Acres of virgin rainforest overlooking our Bay of crystal clear water, with fringing coral reef, offering an intimate and tranquil escape. Less than 10 minutes from Rainbow Reef which is a world renowned scuba area. Our three Oceanfront Sutdio cottages,one Oceanfront two bedroom Suite and one luxurious African Safari tent provide a harmonious balance between modern comforts & beach-house chic, creating an ambiance of harmony, romance & privacy. A journey that is equal parts Fijian paradise, contemporary elegance, breathtaking natural beauty & serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sau Bay Fiji Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sau Bay Fiji Retreat Hotel Taveuni Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sau Bay Fiji Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.