We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Taveuni

Save Saved
You added Paradise Taveuni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Taveuni
P.O. Box 69 | South Vuna Road, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Taveuni Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with a group of over 30 people to this wonderful resort in July of 2013. Terri and Allan and their kids were a delight to be around with smiles on their face and always a joy to be around. We went for scuba diving and the diving could not have been better. The name of the hotel says it all, Paradise, because that is what it is. Now it is a little bit of a trek to get there with the bumpy roads, but once you are there you just do not want to leave. Your rooms are beautiful, the food was good, and the staff and spa they have was absolutely great. I will go back again to this luxurious little island with people that have a great heart and a beautiful island, and a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not use to humidity get a room with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    25
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
132
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 2 wonder weeks in Fiji
The first week on Beqa Lagoon Resort and the second at Paradise Taveuni
We had a Five Star vacation at PARADISE TAVEUNI RESORT !!
This is a beautiful resort location, with a wonderful and very friendly staff , great food ,and fantastic diving.
what more can I say , it was the best dive vacation we ever had for a small resort
that we prefer to visit on our vacations around the world!

Ed and Linda Schuyler

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Recently, while staying in a house rental on the other end of the island, I decided to check out this resort that us heard so much about. I contacted the owners, Terri and Allan Groton and stayed for one night.
Beautiful welcome by the managers and their delightful children and staff, greeted with floral leis, ice cold coconut milk, in coconut, and delicious foot rub in front of the bure they had provided, right on the waterfront.
Lunch..what can I say, delicious Wahoo, freshly caught, with fresh salad. I explored the beautiful grounds, and after spending time with local children, had the most amazing body massage. Thanks Katya!, then dinner time. The most succulent meat-in-your-mouth steak, fresh lobster, and salad.
After a lovely restful night in my beautifully decorated and immaculate bure, Coral, I explored the resort, marveling at the wonderful variety of flowers and trees. Breakfast, I had a plate of fruit (the papaya is to die for), toast, pineapple juice and freshly brewed coffee. Delicious.
I then had a keg massage.Thanks Tom, that was the best. Then lunch. Felt I'd eaten so much the previous day that I had soup and delicious freshly baked bread.
Terri and Allan are the most amazing hosts, and arranged transport for me back to the holiday rental at Matei.
I would recommend Paradise to anyone who would like a pristine environment, solitude if you desire, beautiful friendly staff, massages to die for, scrumptious meals and a view that speaks a Fiji.

Room Tip: Any of the bures would be wonderful, but if you like to hear the gentle waves at night, definitely r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Once you have traversed the incredibly bumpy road to Paradise, it is hard to leave.
Allan and Terri who have owned this peaceful, adult only resort for the past eight years, have dedicated themselves to making it a diving haven. Due to the fact that it is between two famous reefs not only divers but also snorkelers are within 30 minutes of a magical underwater world. A wonderful experience too good to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I am sitting here in Paradise just finished my breakfast. The divers are out for the first dive of the morning. For divers this is a great place. The world famous Rainbow Reef is a half hour boat trip and there are several other dive sites within 10 minutes

Service in the dining area is great and I enjoyed every meal. Allan and Terry and staff welcomed us and have made every effort to give us a great experience. There is a spa for relaxation and I can't think of anything they could have done to make my stay better.

Several resorts in Fiji have a small enclosed outdoor courtyard with a shower. This morning while I was having my shower there was a gentle warm rain. How do you beat that?

I came with my son and he was treated like a prince

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks recently in Fiji, one week on another island and resort and week #2 at Paradise Taveuni. All facilities, staff and owners, Terri and Allan were amazing. The food, the diving, the accomodations, the grounds were truly Paradise. We are attempting to hit all of the best dive sites in the world with only an occasional duplication of locations, but Paradise Taveuni will definately be one of those places to visit more than once.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bure, no AC, but best Bure's at the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We're writing this as a way to say thanks again to Paradise Taveuni, especially Allen and Terri our owner/hosts and everyone on his team. In particular, we'd like to send our warm appreciation to Mikeali, the amazing Sapo, Naomi, Sunny, Satesh, the team at the Pro Dive Shop, and really everyone who took such great care, every moment quietly and industriously making sure our stay was idyllic and truly Fijian. We stayed at Paradise from 10/21-10/28, dove about twice a day every day in the morning and got massages, swam in the salt water pool, took out kayaks on the calm ocean, took hikes and much more. There's almost too many great things to say. The service was superlative. The food delicious. Diving amazing. Rainbow Reef is unlike any other place. Do this trip. You won't regret it.

The house reef is great for diving (or snorkeling). Within hours, we were in the water and Allen took us right over to where the blue ribbon eels live, and we happened upon a sea snake, a big happy shark, fantastic coral, and much more (Also just a tremendous night dive). Rainbow Reef: We saw 3 sperm whales on our first day and got to go in the water with them. Some of our favorite sites were the Fish Factory, The Zoo and Great White Wall. We even had lunches on a private remote beach in an unreal setting. Boat rides ware short and we had tons of time for landlubbing activities.

Some of other unforgettable moments include our hike with Sapo and finding the elusive and rare flower on Mount Tagimaucia. Always flexible, Paradise fulfilled our special request to hike the mountain (the standard is to be driven), and we were rewarded with silence dappled by great stories and a cool rush of water from a waterfall on the way down.

We also highly recommend reserving for the Romantic Dinner (amazing service, watch the sunset, and dine under a blanket of stars) and slipping helplessly down the Volcano water slide, jumping 20 ft into deep water under Bouma Falls, watching/experiencing Sapo explain the Lovo meal preparation and just spending time, feeling like a treasured and honored guest. The Pure Fiji products provided are awesome. Buy some or you'll regret it later.

Just short of perfect: It rained quite a bit, but even then the diving was amazing and the rain was relaxing. We swam, took walks and naps. The hot water in the shower feels awesome after a dive, but as is probably typical of such a remote location, it can be tricky. We figured it out and enjoyed nice hot showers. Rest assured, Allen, Terri, Mikeali and the team will take care of anything, so just ask and it'll be done. We're likely coming back!

Pictures were taken by my fiancé with a Canon 6D with Ikelite strobe.

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanfront Bure. Honeymoon has the best view, Cowrie is uber convenient if you want to be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Taveuni

Address: P.O. Box 69 | South Vuna Road, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Taveuni, situated on the southern tip of Taveuni, is Fiji's freshest new boutique Resort. Its unique Deep Water Frontage allows Guests to dive, snorkel and swim from the lava flow edge into pristine warm tropical waters any time. To experience the culture of mystical Fiji, spend time in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Paradise Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Taveuni Hotel Taveuni Island
Paradise Taveuni Island
Paradise Hotel Taveuni Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Taveuni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.