We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Taveuni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Taveuni to your Saves list
Paradise Taveuni
P.O. Box 69 | South Vuna Road, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were in Paradise at the end of May and if was as beautiful as the site showed. I was sick with the flue but everyone was so nice and I was well looked after nothing was to much trouble. I was given a drink called witches brew for my cold it worked so by the end of my holiday I was feeling better. My partner had a great time he went snorkelling & diving and had a great time with the Kava ceremony. When we arrived we were told by the end we would be like family, when we left we did. We miss them all and had a great time. It is well worth what it takes to get there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    27
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
146
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Remote hotel.Need to take 1.5 hour bumpy ride from Matei airport.No TV.No radio.Spotty internet access.Below average food.Hard mattress.2 active lizards and 1 tarantula in the room.Many toads in the lawn at night.40 minutes boat ride to Rainbow reef.
Some of my dives were cancelled due to weather.2 tours were available.1 tour was a hike to a water fall and the other was a trip to a village.No exercise equipment..
Hotel staff was very friendly and tried hard.Dive staff was competent and friendly.The property is in a beautiful location but there is no beach.Pretty sunset.
Alcoholic beverages were watered down.Stick with the beer

Room Tip: Ocean view deluxe bures are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Being our first ever island escape (and vacation for that matter), we were more than a little apprehensive about our trip. Me being the eternal pessimist, expected the resort to fall short on all counts. Trust me, once you get to the resort and see the smiling, friendly faces of the staff waiting to greet you, you know you’re home and all those thoughts just vanish. Everyone one of the staff makes you feel like they’ve known you all their lives. Here are some highlights

1. Bure - We stayed in the ocean front bure. If you’re coming all this way to be on an island, you have to stay as close as you can to the ocean. It was spacious and airy. Made with all natural products round the area, it was still modern and well-accommodated.

2. Wifi - For those of you who are used to resorts with a TV and wi-fi in the room, this isn’t that kind of place. There is no TV and no wi-fi. I thought it would be an endurance test for my wifi-addicted better half - but we had our laptops loaded with movies and took our books with us. So we weren't short on options.

3. Food – it was hard to say no to anything on the menu. But their breakfast and lunch were slightly better than their dinner. They bring a menu about 2-3 hours prior to lunch and dinner so you can choose one dish from each course. Have dinner in the wedding bure at least once. Its amazing to see the lightning strike both the sky and ocean at the same time.

4. Activities - their primary "hook" is their PADI certified dive shop. Alas, neither me nor my partner swim, so we had to settle for snorkeling in the house reef with life vests. But all the divers there seemed happy, so I don't think there's cause for complaint. But we did go hiking at the Buoma national park and it was arduous, but well worth the short breaths.

All in all, a wonderful experience - one that we'd love to have again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the ocean front bure, which were very quaint, airy and comfortable. They do have new Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I and our two young children (4 and 6) were fortunate enough to spend 12 glorious days in Paradise in April 2013. From the moment we arrived at the resort we were impressed by the beautiful surroundings not to mention the wonderful staff who were always cheerful, attentive and happy to assist. In fact we would go so far as to state that the gorgeous staff were what made our holiday so special. We stayed in the Hibiscus Bure which has a wonderful, uninterrupted view of the ocean. We loved the outdoor shower and Jacuzzi, The bure wasn't air conditioned but we found that, at that time of year, we were comfortable enough with the ceiling fans. Given it's tropical location there were quite a lot of insects and found that requesting a mosquito net over our beds was the best way to combat any problems (and saved having mosquito coils burning the room which we found made us cough).

Our package included a daily nanny service for our children from 8.00am until 4.30pm and, although at first we thought we would not utilise the service all the time as we were keen to spend some quality time with our children, we found it enhanced our experience by having the nannies there with us. There were four different nannies helping us with the children during our time in Paradise and the whole family got to know them and became extremely fond of them. They were absolutely wonderful with our children and it was great to talk with them and learn about the local lifestyle and customs. The housekeeping, grounds, tour, spa and wait staff were also wonderful and always happy to oblige. Our children also got to know the resort owner's children, Jessica and Thomas, well and spent many fun filled hours playing with them and exploring the resort and surrounds.

Our package also included a 2 course breakfast, 2 course lunch and 4 course dinner. There was a wonderful variety of choices on offer, particularly given the remote location of the resort, and the ingredients were always beautifully fresh. The seafood was some of the freshest we've eaten and we highly recommend upgrading to the romantic seafood banquet. The staff set up a beautiful table on one of the piers by the water and we enjoyed a stunning sunset while sipping on cocktails - heaven!

We also took advantage of the many wonderful spa treatments available and were both completely pampered by Star, one of the resort's lovely beauty therapists who was always smiling and ready to share a laugh.

The snorkeling straight off the resort was excellent and its close proximity to the shore meant that our young children were also able to experience it without having to swim offshore.

We highly recommend attending a church service, a reef snorkeling trip and a tour of the local village. We found it incredibly worthwhile for us and our children to get to know the lifestyle and to meet the wonderful, warm local people who are so full of life and good humour.

We were also fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to get to know a number of local people who, although they are pretty much self sufficient in the village, face extreme financial struggles in educating their children. The resort administers an educational sponsorship program for the children of staff and we felt privileged to be able to join the program and be given the opportunity to meet our sponsor child.

We have done a bit of travelling in our lives and the entire family rate this as our best holiday yet and a life changing experience. We are already planning our next trip to Paradise and this time getting a dive ticket is on the agenda for at least one of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, Ca
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Enjoyed five nights and four days of diving here in May. Beautiful rooms and gardens on cliff overlooking the ocean. Pool and outdoor dining room have great views of the ocean.
Diving
Dive operation on site has 2 small boats with good shade but no head, and a larger boat which we never saw. Loved the large very clean rinse tank. Wet suits never dry completely overnight in the outdoor drying area. Tank fills were consistently 3000 pounds. No nitrox available. Rated PADI 5 star diver operation and offer dive instruction. They take care of all your gear except your wet suit. Many divers rent the dive gear and wet suits which looked relatively new and in good condition. Dive group goes up together at around 50 minutes dive time. No nitrox available. Dive trips to great spots at Rainbow Reef like the White Wall, Annie’s Bommie, Fish Factory, Yellow Tunnel and other places which are generally 30 to 60 minutes from dock. Extra charge to go to Rainbow Reef if do not meet minimum number of divers of $80 FJ for two divers. Boats provide fresh coconut, cake, water, towels. Saw pods of dolphins, pilot whales, manta, and flying fish on the way to and from dive sites. Beautiful hard and soft corals. Best dives were Yellow Tunnel at Rainbow Reef and Annie’s Bommie. Many large schools of fusilars, midnight snappers, yellow snappers. White tip reef sharks on several dives and turtles on several dives. Easy access to house reef off of dock. Coral on house reef mostly damaged from hurricane two years ago, but still a lot of fish and life there including two blue ribbon eels, various sea cucumbers, trumpet fish, large snappers, clown fish, mantis shrimp, and Nudibranchs.
Food
Food is varied with meat or chicken, fish, and vegetarian choices at lunch and dinner often with asian, italian, or indian recipes. Basic meal package includes hot breakfast with french roast drip coffee (not the instant coffee that many other places serve), one course lunch and two course dinner, and unlimited sodas. Alternatives are a-la-carte pricing or deluxe meal package which includes 2 course lunch and 4 course dinner. Servings are generous. Good cooking and attractive presentation. Service is friendly and very good. Midweek they have a traditional Fijian Lovo feast with very good native dancing, singing, and musicians.
Rooms , Grounds, Public Areas
Tastefully decorated, large rooms with mini frige, hair dryer, some with outdoor showers and indoor showers, a few new rooms with air conditioning, all have overhead fans. However, not enough light for reading at night in the air conditioned rooms (some other rooms had reading lamps). Nice pool with view of ocean. Dining is outdoors with view of ocean. Wifi is free and available only in dining area and lounge. No phones or TV in rooms. Beautifully landscaped grounds.
Activities
Many organized activities some free and some at extra cost for nondiving days - spa, hiking, free kyaking, snorkeling, visits to gardens, coconut husking demonstration, sulu tying demonstration, Fiji night dinner party and entertainment, and horseback riding. They have several masseuses all of whom are very good.
Negatives
Some mosquitoes in the evening – normal for Fiji. A few flys at meal time can be pesky. May not be enough divers in the shoulder and offseason to go to Rainbow Reef for diving without extra charge. Boats have no head. Reef in front of hotel is damaged. Good snorkeling and diving requires a boat ride. Dim lighting in rooms. Dives are usually limited to 50 minutes bottom time. Only had two dresser drawers in my Bure. Our trip in May had a little rain most days and heavy rain on 2 days, but usually cleared up within a couple of hours with sunshine much of the day.
Positives
Great food, service, beautiful well appointed rooms and diving at Rainbow Reef. Very friendly and personable staff. Late checkout is offered at no charge if rooms are not needed for other guests. Bar prices are reasonable.
Overall highly recommended place to stay and dive.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front air conditioned room. However, the ocean front rooms without air have more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was in Fiji for 10 nights recently and visited 9 different resorts while I was there. I am a dive travel consultant (dive travel agent) and was there for the annual Fiji Fest for travel agents. Paradise Taveuni is a beautiful resort that has the most amazing food, bures, and diving. The diving is simply amazing. Although I was only there for 2 days I made the most of it and dove as much as I could. The Somosomo straight was amazing and the dive operation is first rate. The layout of the resort is beautiful. The staff is amazing and as i mentioned, the food was amazing as well. I had a great time there and have sent people to this resort in the past and I have never received a complaint. A True Paradise

Room Tip: Spend the difference for the air con room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were looking for a holiday to explore the real Fiji and that’s what we got. I would highly recommend Paradise to everyone I know. We’re a well-travelled family and this is right up there with one of our favourite holidays. We will certainly return and have friends planning there next trip there.

The road to Paradise is a bit rough and rugged but that’s all part of the adventure. Our driver stopped at a local store for us to get a few things but we really didn’t need much as the resort provided everything at a reasonable price or it was included in the package.

Paradise Taveuni took my breath away. This is a very special place and its not just the resort, facilities or activities…its the staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble; they all used our first name and made us feel really special. It was sad to leave as we really felt part of the Paradise community.

5 days was not long enough, I would recommend at least 7 and the food package was fantastic. The food was fresh every day, a highly varied menu and fantastic quality. You will not go hungry and they cater for kids if required.

Day 1
Rainbow reef, dive & snorkel; we saw dolphins & pilot whales on the journey out to rainbow reef. We swam with 2 manta rays and amazing fish life. In the afternoon we enjoyed the resort as the ocean was right on our doorstep. Always something to do or just relax and take it all in.

Day 2
As I hadn’t completed my open water dive course the dive instructor offered a free pool splash to give it a go. All went well so I had to opportunity to join the group with a discovery dive. (Staying at 12m or less). The staff in the dive shop were friendly, professional and fun to be around. It really didn’t matter if you were snorkelling, diving or just sightseeing. They catered for all. I have found my new hobby!

While we went for a dive one of the staff looked after our son and took him for a snorkel. No additional cost and no problem…. excellent customer service!

Fijian night was fantastic, we saw first hand how they cook traditional Fijian food and enjoyed Kava with the other guests and staff.

Day 3
Wild bore hunting was arranged for my 12-year-old son and husband. They didn’t catch anything but theyhad a great time in the jungle with a local guide/hunter. They even arranged for a 12 year old boy from the local village to accompany them so our son had another child to share it with. I enjoyed the diving on rainbow reef!

When we asked how they get the coconuts for us they immediately arranged for a staff member to climb a coconot palm tree, get everyone a coconut and we all drank it together.

Then as it was high tide we all jumped from the rock face into the ocean will the other gusts. Wonderful!

Day 4
The village tour was worthwhile. I would highly recommend you take supplies for the school or medial centre. The resort can let you know what they need before you arrive.


Day 5
Lovo reef snorkel – saw 4 reef sharks and used the day spa in the afternoon. This reef is amazing and I’d highly recommend it. Once again the staff looked after our son with a group of children from the local village and the two children who lived in site. They had a wonderful time at the pool, playing touch football and eating lunch together.


If you want to get off the beaten track and really experience the real Fiji while still having a holiday with a little luxury I would recommend Paradise Taveuni. They had thought of everything.

Thank you to Alan the owner and all of the staff for making out time so rememberable...

Room Tip: we looked at the bure and vale. Happy with both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Taveuni

Address: P.O. Box 69 | South Vuna Road, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Taveuni, situated on the southern tip of Taveuni, is Fiji's freshest new boutique Resort. Its unique Deep Water Frontage allows Guests to dive, snorkel and swim from the lava flow edge into pristine warm tropical waters any time. To experience the culture of mystical Fiji, spend time in Paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Taveuni Hotel Taveuni Island
Paradise Taveuni Island
Paradise Hotel Taveuni Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Taveuni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.