We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most unbelievable place I have ever been” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taveuni Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taveuni Palms Resort to your Saves list
Taveuni Palms Resort
P.O. Box 51 | Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pay 5 stay 7 nights
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The most unbelievable place I have ever been”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I cannot begin to describe how wonderful this "hotel" is. There are only 3 villas and they are completely secluded, you will not see another guest. Each villa comes with a staff of 8 including, breakfast, lunch, and dinner staff, chef, massage therapists, driver, etc. When looking at the website I thought it is just too good to be true, but it is real. Every picture is exactly how the villa looks, the beautiful views, and the way the staff sets up for dinner. I went here on my honeymoon in July and I couldn't have picked a more spectacular destination. Taveuni island is the most beautiful place in the world and I cannot wait to go back. I would do the 20+ hour travel again in a second. Taveuni palms is paradise. The stay is completely care free and private. Our meals and trips were planned for us every day to perfection. We woke up to "bula bula" a warm welcome from the staff, breakfast, and a friendly meeting to tell us our plans for the day. Each morning they told us what the 4 course dinner would be, asked us if we wanted to change anything. The resort is unbeatable, the staff are amongst the friendliest people you will ever meet, the island and local people are delightful. There is absolutely NOTHING bad I can say about this trip. Every time I had a thought it was done for me before I had to say anything. Cold beverages and massage therapists were sent to our villa at the end of every day. This hotel is expensive, but it included everything you want to do and we spent almost no money once we were on Taveuni island. The experience is completely worth the cost!

Room Tip: Villa comes with 2 bedrooms and master villa comes with 4 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have recently returned from our visit to Taveuni Palms resort and all of the above reviews are true! We stayed in the Grand Villa and it is really amazing we would highly recommend this place to anyone. We plan to revisit in the near future. The location, staff and food are beyond words.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This place is truly amazing. We just returned from 8 incredible nights in the Grand Villa. After reading all the other trip advisor reviews I had high expectations and these high expectations were exceeded!! The views are breathtaking. The master bedroom has door that open all the way to a beautiful view of the pacific…a very peaceful morning sight. We spent most of our lounge time at the pool but there is also a cabana at the beach (to get to the beach you have to go down about 85 or so stairs on a well landscaped path). Any request we had was met with “of course we can do that for you”. As has been posted before the food is always beautifully presented (we learned quickly that we always wanted to bring a camera to the table!). Not only does it look good but it tastes great! We loved all meals but were especially spoiled with dinner. Our favorites were the coconut crab, papaya soup and lobster! We tried many foods that I typically wouldn’t order from a restaurant menu but we trusted the chef’s recommendations and loved everything. We also enjoyed a few day excursions. Our favorite day excursion was the bourma falls hike – we went to the 3rd fall and swam in the water – it was definitely a hike but worth it! But most of all we enjoyed relaxing by the pool. We felt so spoiled -- the pool cabana has a service call button built into it. When you want an ice cold lemonade you just press the service call button and they will bring it right out. They have great pool floats and we could just spend hours enjoying the view and relaxing.

What sets Taveuni Palms apart is their customer service. On our last day, the Resort Manager, Sarah, was tracking our flights and informed us that our flight from Taveuni to Nadi was cancelled but she had already booked us on the flight later that afternoon. Later we were informed that our flight from Nadi to Los Angeles was cancelled but that Air Pacific had made arrangements for us in Nadi. Then our re-booked flight from Taveuni to Nadi was cancelled. (We had fabulous weather the entire trip but just on our last day Nadi seemed to have some trouble weather). We stayed the extra night at Taveuni Palms and thankfully got to delay our inevitable goodbye! Taveuni Palms was in constant contact with the airlines and even helped with rebooking our flight that we had missed from Los Angeles due to our cancelled Air Pacific flights. They really took great care of us the entire time. When you are in a foreign country without your cell phone or computer and have bumps in the road regarding an itinerary it can certainly be stressful however I was never once stressed out as Sarah and her team were very proactive regarding the situation. They even booked a day room for us in Nadi when we learned that when we finally were able to leave Taveuni we would have a long layover in Nadi. My husband and I kept on commenting how any other hotel would just leave us to figure it out ourselves. We really gave Sarah a workout as she was running between the office and our villa updating us on what was going on. When it finally was time to leave (24 hours past our scheduled departure) we said our goodbyes and sat in the heat at the airport. Just as we were talking about the uncomfortable heat and how we wish we could jump in our private pool or relax in our air conditioned room, up pulls Sarah with 2 ice cold bottles of water as she realized it was hot out and that we might like some water. Even after we had left they were still thinking trying to make our trip enjoyable!!

Kelly and Tony have really created a magical place. They found one of the most beautiful locations in the world and created a paradise with some of the most friendly and dedicated staff you will ever meet. Everybody we met truly went above and beyond to ensure we had the best vacation. I am still in awe of the level of service we received. Without hesitation I strongly recommend this paradise to anyone interested in a true luxury vacation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We have just returned from an amazing honeymoon at Taveuni Palms. The resort is 5 star all the way. Every meal was delicious, the villa is incredible and the staff are all just amazing. We stayed in the lower villa and enjoyed our own private beach, HUGE pool, and the most gorgeous villa. The villas are totally private, you cannot see anyone else and they are so romantic. The resort is like heaven on earth.
We did a boat trip with Gareth the onsite resort manager and John the snorkel guide and had probably the best day of my life. We saw turtles, dolphins and my husband caught a large Wahoo on the way home. I can only repeat what has been said in all of the other reviews below. Taveuni Palms is everything it promises it will be and more. Just go you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Taveuni Palms is simply Heaven on Earth! Our family of four enjoyed ten magical days in the Grand Villa and we loved every moment. I had researched many properties on trip advisor before booking this holiday and after reading so many great reviews I had high hopes and expectations.
We arrived to be greeted by the happiest, most genuine and loving people on the planet who made our stay a 6 star experience. We enjoyed amazing food, great activities, fantastic views
and so much more. We were also fortunate enough to get married in this paradise and Kelly and her staff moved mountains to create the ultimate wedding and the best part for us - every detail was looked after and it was amazing to not have a care in the world.
Our Chef Richie made the best ever rice milk from scratch every morning and every request was met with a smile, our fridge was stocked daily of all our favorite items and my children especially loved the one on one cooking classes.
We all left feeling completely relaxed,rejuvenated, inspired and very thankful for all the Joy, Joy and yes more joy we experienced at Taveuni Palms. A very sincere thank you to our Taveuni family for making this the best holiday of our life.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Wonderful owners, staff, food, accommodation, views, company. I would highly recommend this affordable luxury and will be coming back as soon as possible :) ..don't miss out!

James, Wales, United Kingdom

Room Tip: There are a varity of locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Needed a break with our two daughters (8 and 10) and this resort delivered big time
We arrived with reasonably high expectations only to have them exceeded. My wife describes it as one of the best holidays of all time! Privacy when you want it, activities too many to mention, fantastically friendly staff who will be as engaged with you as you want, and brilliant accommodation, views and food.
Self contained, brilliantly relaxing, a perfect break for a stressed executive family
Thankyou Taveuni Palms

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taveuni Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taveuni Palms Resort

Address: P.O. Box 51 | Matei, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taveuni Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate private, luxury Fiji resort awaits. The perfect honeymoon, wedding or vacation of a lifetime in your South Pacific Paradise. Voted as the "Best Boutique Honeymoon Resort in the World" Taveuni Palms Resort combines an unparalleled luxury resort with the lush oasis of Fiji's Taveuni Island. Unspoiled white sand beaches, warm turquoise ocean, world class diving and snorkeling - welcome to paradise. Each villa sits on its own private acre and offers its own private pool, beach, 5 private dining locations and a personal staff of seven. Taveuni Palms resort has been voted by the World Travel Awards as "Australasia's Leading Boutique Resort", "Australasia's Leading Villa's" and "Fiji's Leading Resort" and won the "Luxury Villa Resort" category for Fiji at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Taveuni Palms also won "Best Honeymoon Resort in the World" at the Boutique Hotel Awards and has been listed by FORBES as one of the most luxurious honeymoon destinations in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your Taveuni Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taveuni Palms Hotel Taveuni Island
Taveuni Island Palms Hotel
Taveuni Island Palms Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taveuni Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.