We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Bures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages
Save
You added Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages to your Saves list
9 Matei Rd, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% OFF LAST MINUTE!!
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Bures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Everything was absolutely fantastic! I was a bit leery at first when my husband bought the all-inclusive meal package because I'm a somewhat picky eater. However, the staff was absolutely fantastic and I LOVED every single meal. They had great variety and was willing to accommodate me whenever possible. In addition, they booked all of our excursions once we were there and able to choose what we wanted to do. The massages were high quality and it really added to the awesomeness of our vacation to get a daily massage. I definitely suggest using the recommended taxi drivers as the one road on the island is not the best and other couples had issues when not using the recommended taxi service. Overall, this was absolutely amazing and we enjoyed all 5 nights there. Very private and romantic. We chose to renew our vows and we were both speechless with the quality of what Coconut Grove provided. WAY above our expectations....we probably should have just had the wedding there because it was so nice.

Room Tip: All were very private and there isn't a bad choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    24
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
299
37
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed only two nights in between adventures on the smallest islands. It was lovely with such a gorgeous beach. There are only three bures so it is an intimate place. The staff is the best thing about this place, friendly to the last ( but that's Fiji all over!). After staying in backpacker resort the best thing about this place were the wonderful outdoor HOT showers! You won't regret staying here and there is plenty to do in Taveuni when you decide to venture further than the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed 6 super nights, very good food, wonderful staff, massage and candlelit dinner on the beach - heaven! Ronna runs a small well catered operation. Three Bures all with views of the beach and sea. The choice of meals each day, sourced from local products were excellent.
Staff always attentive. Close to a range of activities.

Room Tip: All rooms with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent six days there and enjoyed it all. The other reviews say it all. The welcome massage was a nice first for us and the complimentary candle-light meal beside the beach was much appreciated, as the was the bottle of wine from Ronna for the evening Mexican Train players.

Taveuni has a good feel about it and Coconut Grove fits right in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieFiji, Owner at Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Bula Dennis & Kay~

We have been told our website is ancient, needs more zing.
All I know is that we seem to attract the right guests because of our website, &. you are both a perfect example.
maybe we don't want "zingy" people? hahaha
The staff loved having you here with Tony & Dinah. When it is a good match we all have the best time.
Please consider a return visit & keep on playing those trains!

Vinaka, Ronna & all of your fans including Millie May
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 5 nights here, not long enough but a delightful respite from the usual demands of living and working. We were met with a song and farewelled with another song, a heart-warming Fijian touch. We were offered a half-hour massage on arrival by clearly well-trained staff who are multi-talented and charming.
Ronna was helpful and welcoming and we benefitted from her knowledge of the island and the culture.
The food was exceedingly good, tropical fruit smoothies were memorable, curries reminiscent of India, fresh and delicious, and sufficient variety to keep us excited. I have a serious fish allergy and though fish is always present on the menu, real care was shown to keep me safe and healthy. I greatly appreciated that.
I have to say that I had the unusual experience of the bill at the end of our stay amounting to less than I thought it might. I am so accustomed to being ripped off by hotels at any opportunity. But it was fair and reasonable throughout. Good value.
I would happily return to Coconut Grove, have no hesitation in recommending it, and feel like I made real friends through the experience there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieFiji, Owner at Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Bula Vinaka from your friends here at Coconut Grove

We love reading reviews from folks who have stayed with us & have enjoyed their stay.
The ladies are always thrilled when they see that they have done a good job having let you into their hearts & homes.

Thank you for your kind words.

sincerely,
Ronna and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 5 nights at Coconut Grove and couldn't be happier with the experience there. Relaxed and quaint atmosphere, but also plenty to do and the staff is very helpful in arranging day trips around the island. Excellent food, very fresh ingredients, and we were happy with nearly every dish we ate (and we are very picky "foodies"). Our room was very nice as well, quite romantic. Most of all, the staff is a wonderful team that makes the experience fun, relaxed, and truly special.
Highly recommend for a quiet getaway. Doesn't have all the glitz and glam of a 5 star city hotel, but if you are going to Taveuni that is probably not what you're looking for anyway.
Vinaka!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife suggested to go for our honeymoon to Coconut Grove, because she liked it last time very much. After a long journey the welcome was very friendly and warm. From the first moment on i felt a familiar ambiance.

The staff: As i said friendly and always asking for our wishes. They cooked the meals and the lunch packets as we wished.

The place: Its a nice and calm hideaway. If you're looking for a lonesome place with a private part of the beach, place for snorkeling / diving, canoeing - this is the right one. There are three little Bures, made of wood, small toilet, some space for clothes, and a outside shower (in our bure). Don't expect a sterilized room like in other high class hotels. You shouldn't forget this is nature paradise, not silicon valley. I don't want to be misunderstood: the bures are clean and tidy. The bed is perfect for a good sleep and the ceiling fan sends a nice breeze. But don't mind if there's sometime a cute gecko as roomie ;)

The food: Delicious and everything right cooked. Daily you have the choice among some dishes. I also liked the cooking class.

Others: I enjoyed very much the massage direct at the beach, next to my wife. Now they have two couches, so we could relax together. Also at the beach we had a candlelight dinner - you can imagine it was great. Furthermore we did the waterfall tour, with canoe and walking - recommendable.

Room Tip: The honeymoon bure is next to the beach, has a small terrace and a outside shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages

Address: 9 Matei Rd, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 3 criteria for a secluded beach holiday:1. golden, sandy beachfront (absolute beachfront)2. quiet (i.e. no little ones) & private (only 3 bures, all couples)3. great food ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages Hotel Taveuni Island
Coconut Grove Beachfront Hotel
Hotel Coconut Grove Beachfront

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Beachfront Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.