We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Island Taveuni” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garden Island Resort to your Saves list
Garden Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Garden Island Taveuni”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

As part of my visit to several resorts in Fiji in April, I had the chance to stop at Garden Island in Taveuni. Not a scheduled stop but one that I wanted to see. There had been a lot of changes there and I wanted to see them first hand. Please note, I did not stay there, dive there, or eat there, it was a quick visit to see the upgrades. They now have a very nice pier that goes out a good distance. They are adding to that pier to allow for power yachts to use. The resort is not the typical Fijian ambiance, in fact it is very European in its styling. The bottom floor rooms all have a Jacuzzi on the porch, the uppers do not. All the rooms have been upgraded and are very nice. I like this resort but if you are looking for that Fijian ambiance, you will not get a lot of that, but if you want a clean, well run resort with access to some great diving and have a smaller budget, this is a great resort for you! The owner, Philip, is very nice and made us feel very welcomed even though it was an unannounced visit.

Room Tip: spend the extra and get the jacuzzi rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    35
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
62
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taveuni
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

There may be wonderful cottages right on the ocean and beautiful expensive rooms on the island of Taveuni that make you feel tropical but if you’re looking for the most comfortable room the Garden Island cannot be beat. Beautiful King size beds with wonderful pillows all imported sheets that make you feel comfy wonderful and cozy. The room can also boast about air conditioning TV, DVD player and streams of hot and cold water for your shower. What I love about the rooms at the Garden Island is I can just stay in my room and enjoy my vacation from there, not recommended of course. Also included with your room is room service when you would like a meal sent up. Least I forget the rooms in the Hotel also have a Jacuzzi, nice while you are having a drink at sunset. All imported tiles completes the room along with Wi-Fi, coffee and tea maker and lots of towles.The hotel in addition has its own restaurant, bar, pool and dive shop right at your fingertips. Centrally located the Garden Island which is reasonablebly priced is your best choice. Perfect also for large groups and conventions with pick up service from the airport adds more value to this fine resort.

Room Tip: lower rooms for the Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at Garden Island over spring break and loved every moment of it. The resort itself is beautiful and spotlessly clean, the rooms are homey and comfortable, and I got to wake every morning to a beautiful ocean sunrise. The resort is right on the beach and you can easily swim or snorkel in the clear water. Garden Island's expert dive master gave me a half-day dive class and then to Rainbow Reef. It was my first time diving and I had a blast seeing the beautiful reef and the creatures that live there. The staff is friendly, the food is delicious, and I had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. Would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Taveuni!

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and have a beautiful view, but the ones on the ground floor are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Dive team are extremely professional, the Rainbow Reef is spectacular.
The room could not have been any cleaner, every morning we had our choice of tea or coffee as we sat on our patio watching the waves, what a site.
I have traveled a great deal around the world, the members of the staff are well trained and very friendly and professional.
Breakfast was wonderful, every morning we were greeted by fresh baked muffins on our table , then off to the buffet, which offered many choices.
The fish was always fresh and cooked to perfection, as I do not eat red meat, I do feel I am some what of a fish foodie, the chicken was always moist and flavorful, and the deserts oh my, always save room for the best deserts you can imagine.
I always looked forward to my massages in the afternoon, oh what a treat.
I would like to thank the staff and management for a making my visit to the Garden Island Resort a wonderful experience.
You will be seeing more of me and many of my friends in the future.
thank you again for a wonderful vacation.
Elaine

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, loved the patio and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at Garden Island Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay at Garden Island Resort. are extremely pleased that our delicious food, friendly staff and world class diving was able to make your trip to Taveuni a memorable one.
Thanks again for your kind words, we look forward to having you back with us at the next time you visit Fiji.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Garden Island Resort oct/Nov 2012 and had a wonderful time. There were 5 of us that came for a scuba diving vacation. The dive staff was wonderful and took very good care of us and took specail care for some of the novice divers. The reefs were full of life with lots of critters to see. The resort itself was great also. The management made us feel right at home and went out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. The resort staff was awesome and friendly We loved our rooms very modern and comfortable. Thanks to all who made our Fiji trip very memorable and we have decided to return summer 2014 - so Garden Island please have our same rooms ready and waiting for us. Thanks again Randy, Janie, Kevin, Shanna, and Ashley

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First of all...who is CHI International? Do not be fooled they are not part of the acclaimed CHI Hotels & Resorts. This is a poorly managed family business an I have no idea how they have achieved a 4 and a half star rating on tripadvisor.

Whilst Fiji is a great destination and the diving was spectacular, it was unfortunately overshadowed in the end by blasé management that seemed to worry more about caring for their private guest than paying guests. The management did not make us feel welcome and were barely able to offer a smile.

Every time a problem was brought forward to the management, they tried to blame it on something else such as the guest. 8 people got food poisoning after the same meal and their initial response was that blamed it was not their food but a stomach virus???? Shower hot water lasted about 2 minutes.

The resort itself is also nothing special but luckily we spent most of the time on the reefs.

None of the above can be blamed on the Fijian staff whom fortunately they did their best to make the stay pleasurable. We were lucky to spend most of our time with them. I wish the Fijians managed the resort...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at Garden Island Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We're sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience at Garden Island and we appreciate your feedback. We have discussed your situation with management and will be addressing issues that need to be improved. We're glad you were able to remain objective and appreciate the beauty and splendor of the resort. We hope we will be able to dive with you again.


For clarification, CHI International is a family owned luxury hospitality company from Hong Kong that manages a wide range of stylish properties across the globe including Garden Island Resort, modern hotels and residences in Hong Kong and Shanghai. For more information please see http://www.chi-international.com.hk/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Food poisoning, Poor Dive Shop (bump & smash your dive gear) & new owners that never went to "hotel school." I was there during the 2d week of October, when the owners' relatives were visiting. I can't explain the whole, awful experience in 200 words or less so: Honestly, stay-away from this place. The"new" design is straight out of an overpriced & tasteless FLA condo.

Our dive group all got Food Poisoning which the Owner insisted was the "flu". Owner never checked on us and never apologized.

Dive shop staff are nice but that is where it ends; not professional.

I've never written a bad review here. Dear Reader, you do not know me, nor I you, but caveat emptor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Island Resort

Address: Waiyevo | Waiyevo, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to beautiful panoramic views of the ocean and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves at award-wining Garden Island Resort on Taveuni, Fiji. With world class dive sites only moments away, and a coastal 9-hole golf course at your pleasure, there are a bevy of recreational pursuits to be enjoyed including coastal walks, bird watching, hiking, natural waterfalls and horse riding to name a few. Comprising of 15 Ocean front spa suites with a private patio and outdoor spa, and 15 Ocean view rooms fully refurbished with private balconies, each room offers a private space for luxurious comfort and personalised service making Garden Island Resort your home away from home. Garden Island Resort is a PADI 5 Star Dive Resort with a fully equipped dive centre on site with professional and friendly dive crew offering PADI courses, and nitrox for advanced divers. Only 15 minutes away from the Rainbow Reef and over 20 dive sites, you are only moments away from world class diving and amazing soft coral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Garden Island Taveuni

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.