We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taveuni Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Taveuni Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matei | Taveuni, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Taveuni Island
CO
1 review
“fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The resort is perfect place to relax and get rid of your stress. The villas are beautiful and sit on top of a cliff overlooking the ocean, which makes for great sunsets. The staff are great and everything is on island time, when you want to eat you, eat when you want to snorkel you go snorkeling. The food is excellent and every day there is something different. When you have relaxed enough there are plenty of activities to keep you busy from diving, to walking to waterfalls. Taveuni was definitely the prettiest island in Fiji. Go here!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
165
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I went to this resort on vacation and absolutely loved it. We were totally off the grid with no tv, radios, cell phones etc. We were in an oceanfront bure (a free standing structure) overlooking the Somosomo Straight. Our bure was modern, clean and each room was very spacious. The glass walls facing the water open completely to give a wonderful airy feeling to the room and full access to a private yard. The food, which you can enjoy in the main dining area or in your room, was fresh and delicious and changed daily depending on what the local markets had to offer. Some of the meals we enjoyed included lobster tail, papaya salad, sweet & spicy coconut and various fresh fish. Also we enjoyed beef, chicken and pork with a Fijian island asian/tropical twist. And the desserts were heavenly. The resort offers numerous activities so that you can be busy every day if you choose, or you can relax on property and lounge by the pool. We did the Korolevu Island BBQ and snorkeling trip as well as the Tavoro Waterfalls Hike in the Bouma National Heritage Park and enjoyed both very much. We also had a lot of fun going out in the resort's kayaks one morning looking for the local dolphins. We were also lucky to be able to participate in a Meke Night which the resort organized during our stay. It included a traditional Fijian buffet, a variety of ceremonial songs and dances by a local family and a Kava ceremony. The best part of the trip were the friendly staff. One thing to be aware of though, is this is not really a beach property. Though it does have a small beach it is also used to store the kayaks and dock the motor boats.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

You must be diligent when booking this resort and follow through with the contract you sign. Our contract stated that we were to be up graded to oceanfront bures; only one was; we were to be compensated with excursions since they were unable to upgrade the second one. We were not. Also, our agreement stated that all non-alcoholic beverages were included and we were charged for every non-alcoholic beverage. So, you must be diligent in your booking and then demanding that Ric and Do honor the agreement (and payment they received IN FULL before you arrive), or they will not--with a straight face. I also had many bedbug bites. It is too bad because the resort has beautiful views and wonderful Fijians working there. We were unhappy with the lack of integrity they showed. I would go to Nakia next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Taveuni Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
It is with regret that I feel obliged to answer this lady's review.
Firstly it says we did not honor the contract, there was never a contract signed between the traveling party or the resort, nor was one given to us by the client or her agent.
Thus there was confusing information on both the non alcoholic beverages, which the resort does and always has charged for and the upgrades promised, which are usually on space available. Both of these issues have been addressed. When we realized our error, that she had been told she would get an upgrade whether it was available or not, we gave this to her immediately. Her children chose not to move, as they loved their bure and she then wanted compensation for this by the hotel manager. She was given two of our most expensive tours free of charge.
Her agent reimbursed her for the copious quantities of non alcoholic beverages drunk by her children as the agent had misinformed her about this.
The only charges she was given were for a taxi ride to the ATM by her daughter and husband, 3 snorkeling trips by 3 of the family members and a spa treatment for her and her daughter.
We all feel this was an unjustified criticism as we (the managers, resort staff and agent) went above and beyond expectations to accommodate her extreme demands. Bedbugs????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This was one of 5 hotels we stayed in during our trip to Fiji, and it was absolutely the best!

The food is fantastic, although a word of caution here, you get a few choices from a set menu - so don't expect a la carte dining, although the hosts are happy to cook something you suggest - with a limited choice you would expect good food, and the food here is absolutely fantastic. The set menu style is typical for this part of fiji, and don't take it for granted, Matangi island resort had a similar limited choice - and their food was positively awful.

The accommodation is truly amazing. The rooms are huge, with a beautifal view out onto the ocean, that at a elevation of about 50 metres above sea level, gives you an incredible view over the sea channel which on a sunny day is just amazing. The actual rooms themselves have a very open feel, as they are mainly made of windows / sliding glass doors, giving this a wonderful, bright airy feel! i can't really think how they could improve the living space here, it looks amazing!

Another word of warning, this resort is not "on the beach", i think that is one of the things that makes it special, as the view over the channel is incredible and you can walk directly down to the beach in a couple of minutes...

Finally, the hosts are brilliant, they get to know you personally, take a real interest in your life and make sure your get the best out of your time their, "Do" the host is a really lovely lady and will take time to make sure you are catered for in every way!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

My Fiance (at the time) and I were looking for a secluded romantic spot on the beach to share our special day. A friend recommended Taveuni Island Resort and it was absolutely perfect. The resort itself is small and intimate and the staff is friendly and treats you like a member of the family during your stay there. We are an active couple who loves adventure and Taveuni island has plenty to offer. We loved the waterfalls, hiking, kayaking, snorkeling and our day at a private island!

For those looking for a secluded, private spot to get married or go on a honeymoon i would highly recommend this place. It is perfect for spending time with your new husband or wife or rekindinling the flame! We plan on going back for our milestone anniversaries!



See our pics: http://zoomfiji.com/index.php/weddings/jenny-mark-taveuni-island-resort/

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

The ultimate holiday destination for lovers!
Felt at home with ever friendly staffs. The room was just perfect, the decore was infused with local and modern touch. Panoramic views of the ocean and forever stretches of white sandy beaches.
The service and the food was just amazing....I would definitely go back again!!!
The most memorable and romantic holiday i ever had with my partner:)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Great service and food! They have an amazing ocean view from the patio.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taveuni Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taveuni Island Resort & Spa

Address: Matei | Taveuni, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taveuni Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning resort is a perfect destination for those seeking a luxurious, romantic, adventurous location. This jewel of the Pacific accommodates just 14 privileged couples in large, private, beautifully appointed bures, each enjoying unsurpassed panoramic views. This is a verdant paradise for nature lovers and lovers of nature, home to dense rain forests, 100's of waterfalls & rivers, white sand beaches, world class fishing and diving and wonderful cultural experiences. Enjoy our friendly staff, organic foods and homemade pasta's & gourmet island cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Taveuni Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taveuni Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Taveuni Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taveuni Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.