We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taveuni Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taveuni Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Taveuni Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matei | Taveuni, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 6 amazing nights for our honeymoon at Taveuni Island Resort.

The resort is a family owned resort were Rick, Do & Matt take pride in providing the best experience we could have while we were on the island. Along with the Fijian staff members everyone was attentive, lovely and most importantly friendly.

Our secluded bure was beautifully furnished and had amazing views of the ocean!
Understanding the location of the island and how often they have deliveries to the island, the food was delicious! The menu was thoughtful as the food accommodated to the climate and was perfectly portion.

Overall the resort is amazingly beautiful with landscaped gardens, cozzie bures to relax in and yummy food. Your trip can be packed with amazing activities and adventures or it is a great place to just unwinded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
152
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nadi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 nights stay at this amazing resort ,what a beautiful resort ,great food ,excellent staff who enjoy what they do.
It's a family run business with very high standards in all areas .The accommodation is outstanding ,attention to detail is evident in this well run establishment .The views are breathtaking and service is very personal l will defiantly return to this magical haven.The flight into the island is one that should not be missed as the aerial views are sublime.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I just got back from this resort for our honeymoon. As soon as we arrived on the island we were greeted by Ric(one of the owners) at the airport. He took us to the resort where we were greeted by other members of the staff and they even played a song for us as we were greeted. We were checked in by Rics wife who told us immediately that our accommodations were being upgraded to a full ocean view room; how great is that!?! She showed us around the property and made sure we knew that if we needed anything just to ask. The resort has plenty of things to do ranging from sea kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving, to full day excursions around the island. The food at this resort was great. It was a little to much for me and my wife as every meal was a 3 course meal. Needless to say you won't get hungry while staying at this resort. Everything was top notch and all the employees were very friendly and willing to help out in any way they could. The wife and I will definitely be coming back here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Taveuni Island Resort & Spa for 7 days and 6 nights at the end of December 2013 for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased with the experience. The staff is attentive and receptive to all needs and requests from the minute you walk onto the property and are extremely helpful in arranging all activities both on and off-site.

The resort itself is beautiful and impeccably maintained. Our bure had an incredible ocean view with room to sit out and relax in complete privacy (which we generally preferred to do since there is limited seating at the pool and beach).

The food, while simple, is incredibly fresh and delicious and the use of local ingredients really seems to make a difference.

All in all we would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a memorable experience in Fiji.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Taveuni Island Resort has breathtaking views of the ocean from its cliff top location. The resort property is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Each room is a spacious individual bure with a bed area, living area and wet bar. The glass doors fold back so you get a real feeling of being outdoors and indoors at the same time. We requested the Veidomoni bure because it was set closest to the cliff edge. It has a long deck with panoramic views of the ocean. We loved the room, but because there were empty rooms we also looked at Senibitu and decided we liked the open plan design a bit better, so we moved to that room. But really, we would have been perfectly happy in either. We enjoyed the food in the lovely open air restaurant. At each meal we had a choice of two entrees, which often included a fish option but the staff did accomodate special requests. The resort is a labor of love from the family that owns it and it shows. Do, Ric and Matt and the Fijian staff were friendly and helpful throughout our visit. There is a small beach can be reached after walking down a sloped walkway. We used the beach to launch kayaks and to access the boat for an afternoon snorkeling trip, but were quite content to lounge in front of our room enjoying the view and take the occassional dip in the pool. Some people mentioned construction going on near the beach in their reviews and we did hear some tapping sounds while in the pool, but the small project looks about 95% complete and they seemed to only be working on finishing touches at that point, so it should not be a concern. We went to Taveuni for the diving and the rainbow reef did not disappoint. We have been diving in some of the best dive locations in the world and this location ranks right up there with the best. We were surprised to learn that Ric pioneered diving in Taveuni and although he doesn't dive any longer, his legacy lives on, since we enjoyed many of the sites he discovered including the famous Great White Wall. We had a half day free, so Matt arranged a shortened version of a waterfall tour which was absolutely spectacular (we were sorry we did not have a full day for it). Taveuni is very lush and green so it does get a lot of rain but was pretty sunny when we were there except for a few brief showers. At the time we went, flights to the island from Nadi were limited and overpriced, which may discourage some visitors, but I understand two new airlines are planning to launch service soon, so hopefully travel will be a bit easier going forward. We were very happy with this trip all the way around, great hotel, amazing diving and a beautiful island. We highly recommend a trip to Taveuni and a stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Veidomoni has beautiful panoramic views at the cliff's edge. Mokosoi and Senibitu have more ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Taveuni resort for 8 nights on our honeymoon. Firstly - we were there alone for almost all of the vacation! Which meant that we had this beautiful place to ourselves, including the staff, the pool, the restaurant. At some point it felt that we have our own personal chef taking our orders..
We were upgraded to a ocean front bure which had complete privacy and the most amazing view. The bure is huge with an outdoor shower overlooking the ocean. We had one room that we didnt even use it was so big.. The bed is comfy and the terrace is magnificent. The views are equisite - we couldnt believe what an amazing sunset we saw every day.
We had total privacy which was amazing and appreciated.
The cons of the place are as such:

The food is ok - but not amazing and not at a 5 star level, felt more like a 3 star restaurant. The staff is generous and does everything they can to help you.

The excursions are well over priced, and we were not even informed that there is a bus that can take us to the same spot for 10% of the price. We actually really recommend taking the bus - it was a great local experience.

Do not have a massage! It is not a professional massage lady - it is just one of the waitresses that rubs your body in oil without knowing what to do. I was also over charged for it as i saw on the bill only after i left the resort.

The Ac needs some working on while the room did not cool down during the day.

Lastly, it was unclear that when they pack your lunch they ask you what you would like to drink and the drinks are not included..

All in all we had a great honeymoon there, and we will never forget those sunsets!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Spectacular location and views, fabulous accommodations and food, pure Fiji products. Conveniently close to the airport. Rick and Do ensure an atmosphere that is attentive, private, welcoming, and completely relaxed. A perfect combination of class and island relaxation. World class snorkeling and diving. Altogether a Heavenly experience! We will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taveuni Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taveuni Island Resort & Spa

Address: Matei | Taveuni, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taveuni Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award winning resort is a perfect destination for those seeking a luxurious, romantic, adventurous location. This jewel of the Pacific accommodates just 14 privileged couples in large, private, beautifully appointed bures, each enjoying unsurpassed panoramic views. This is a verdant paradise for nature lovers and lovers of nature, home to dense rain forests, 100's of waterfalls & rivers, white sand beaches, world class fishing and diving and wonderful cultural experiences. Enjoy our friendly staff, organic foods and homemade pasta's & gourmet island cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taveuni Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taveuni Island Hotel Taveuni Island
Taveuni Island Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taveuni Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.