We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, quite and private” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroha Taveuni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aroha Taveuni to your Saves list
Aroha Taveuni
South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view, quite and private”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

There is a cosy resort. It has run by a really nice couple. Really enjoy for 'let me be', it's like to be the one of family. My room always to be first day check in when I come back from dive trip. Really nice, Hi you guys, enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
66
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very big thank you to Dennis and Ngaire we had the most amazing stay and you both made us feel extremely welcome and at home from the first day that we arrived. Everything was handled with such ease. We have never enjoyed accomodation on our travels like we did with you. Excellent value for money and everything so well equiped and so very clean. The grounds are amazingly maintained and hats off to your wonderful staff. the rooms themselves are more than we were expecting and just beautiful. The fresh flowers each day and fruit were just a lovely gesture. My boys absolutely loved the location and enjoyed your beach, we loved the snorkeling straigh off the beach and your friendly relaxed atmosphere was something else. we have a rule when travelling that we do not go to the same place twice, we will definately make an exception with you we loved it so much we will be back. Taveuni is definately worth another visit with so much to see and do and we will only ever stay with you. Thank you again for making our holiday so very special

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were a company of two couples for my birthday in May 2013.
This is the best place to stay we have had in 10 years of active travel.
The hotel's owners Dennis and Ngaire and their great team is always ready to help fulfill your every desire: barbecue, cycling, diving, island trips - everything is done simply ask and with a desire to please the guests.
A cake that is baked them cook for my birthday was a very pleasant surprise and is perfect!
We'll be back!
PS: Hello my friend - Mini dog :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. We loved every minute and barely left the bure at all except to sit at the pool or by the beach. I can't say enough good things about Aroha, or its owners Dennis and Ngaire. There was an attention to to detail here that is rare in the service industry, including things I have never experienced before. Know this: they pre-separate the mosquito coils! If you have ever dealt with mossie coils before, you know they are annoying to separate. This was a small detail that makes a huge difference in your stay. Similarly, the kitchen supplies are topped up daily--never had to ask for anything. They don't just leave you instant coffee but real grounds and a plunger. There is fresh fruit for you every day. Twice we cooked dinner for ourselves in the petite well-stocked kitchen and twice we ate at the house. The house chef Cookie was brillant, especially the all-veg meal and the fish meal. There is wine and beer on premises at no markup, and there is a small grocery store down the road (5 min walk) with the essentials (ginger, garlic, onion, egg, rice). There is a fair degree of privacy, although the bungalows are arranged in duplex format. This is really the kind of place you can stay a long time. It's one of the best places we stayed at on our tour of the South Pacific.

Room Tip: they all seem nice. we had one with the private patio/sun deck and I think it was the best one :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Taveuni is a beautiful island and the Aroha Taveuni Resort is a beautiful place to stay. Your vacation starts with Dennis picking you up at the airport and driving you back to the resort along some of the most beautiful coastline you can imagine. Once at the resort you will be escorted to your room. There are 5 bures (cottages, I suppose). The bed arrangement can be two twins or a queen, as all rooms can manage this switch. Four of the rooms have marvelous outdoor showers, all with views of the lush green rain forest mountains that run the spine of the island. The bathrooms are double-sinked - quite civilized. Breakfast and dinner were served at the main house every day and the food was delicious. In the evening, dinners were either Fijian or Indo-Fijian depending on which cook staff was manning the kitchen. Dennis and Ngaire make you feel totally at home and they can point you to all of the things to experience and do on Taveuni. This is a first class place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is the capability of combining two adjacent rooms if you have children. Some of the bures have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just recently we spent six days at Aroha Taveuni. Wow what a wonderful place to stay. The bures were beautiful and fresh and clean, the gardens were wonderful, the staff were fantastic and Ngaire and Denis are great hosts. We came home feeling so refreshed and felt like we'd made a heap of new friends. While I like to relax in the gardens and read, then swim, then read some more, my husband enjoying kayaking and snorkelling and he had a ball going down the natural waterslide close by. I have to say that this was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable holidays that I have had. You have to experience this place yourself to know what I am thing about.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beautiful water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Taveuni is a great Fijian island, off the beaten path, no massive resorts or tourists everywhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Aroha Taveuni. The burres are lovely, with an outdoor shower and beautiful verandah overlooking the straits. You can cook on your verandah, walk into the village for dinner or, the best option, eat at Aroha. The food was excellent. Ngarie and Dennis went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. I'd go back in a hearbeat....and if you are a diver I'd suggested Taveuni Dive

Room Tip: All rooms are great, rooms 1 and 2 have a deck in front of the bure (in addition to the verandah)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aroha Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Taveuni

Address: South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is the newest on Taveuni Island,our one and half acre beachfront property overlooks Somosomo Strait and is situated in the centre of Taveuni, very close to the Meridian Date Line,restaurants, shops and markets. We offer self catering accommodation, (or evening meals provided with prior arrangement). Tours, sightseeing,village cultural experience,diving, fishing, horse trekking are some of the attractions available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aroha Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroha Taveuni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.