We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place you need to know about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aroha Taveuni

Save Saved
You added Aroha Taveuni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aroha Taveuni
South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The only place you need to know about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was the easiest trip we ever took. Once we booked with Aroha, Dennis and Ngaire became our personal concierges. They are as involved as you want them to be. The rooms are airy, clean and tropical. The outdoor showers are heaven after a busy day. The food, if you choose to eat here, is made by probaby the best cook on the island. We were begging her to return with us If you are into scuba or snorkeling, they work with Taveuni Dive, who were super accommodating. We came with our family of seasoned divers, and us, the snorkelers. Our 11 year old was a little nervous about being out in the "big shark filled" ocean, but one of the dive staff, Josh, had her feeling so comfortable that by the end of the trip she wanted to try their Discover scuba program. When we make our way back to the island, and of course we want to go back, there is no question where we will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ngaire and Dennis are amazing!
I stayed at their resort while on a medical mission with the Loloma Foundation. They are incredible hosts, the food is beyond incredible with fish+++, comfortable and contemporary accommodation, breathtaking and beautiful views. The staff are also great...both Theresa and Halo were so very kind and friendly. I will stay here anytime...either with the Loloma mission or with the husband I hope I will meet some day!
Beth

Room Tip: A great place to stay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Aroha owned by Dennis and Ngaire They picked us up from the airport personally. They are wonderful hosts. They are happy to arrange hikes and excursions around Taveuni. Or if you prefer, they will leave you alone. There staff is extremely friendly It is a casual boutique B&B.Your burre is surrounded by beautiful Fijian foliage . Each burre has a fully equipped kitchenette. Each morning our kitchenette had fresh fruit and assortment of cereals we do not get in the States. We wandered into the village for lunch usually which was only a 5 min walk. I would strongly suggest requesting Cookie prepare dinner as it is genuine Fijian and absolutely delicious. You can wake up in the morning and walk onto the beach which is less than 100 feet away, or you can take a dip in the pool which is pristine . Aroha is a great base to explore Taveuni or just kick back and relax. Dennis and Ngaire can easily arrange diving as well. They have complimentary internet access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at Aroha for 11 days. If you want to experience the true Fiji, this is the way to go. No locked in resort feel, mix with the locals in their own environment. Our hosts and their employees were fantastic. The accommodation was perfect and worked well for our family. We can't wit to go back. Missing our newly made friends already.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed 11 days with our family and I cannot say enough about the hospitality of the hosts and the wonderful time we had on Taveuni.
Bures were clean and very comfortable. Having a small kitchen was great for some of the meal preparation we did, likewise if we decided to have dinner cooked by the on-site chelf, that was such a delicious treat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend Aroha.

Room Tip: All the rooms have fantastic views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I cannot say how pleased I was to find Aroha Taveuni when we made our choice to go to Fiji. Ngaire and Dennis made sure that our trip went without a hitch. After taking the Air Pacific flight from Nadi to Taveuni, it was wonderful to be picked up by Dennis who gave us a quick overview of the island on our way to their place. The lodgings are spotless and while there were other couples staying at the same time, we had complete privacy, but also had the chance to interact with the owners and other vacationers if we wished.

Ngaire provides a list of attractions and can arrange a driver since this is not the place to consider a rental car. However, if you just want to hang out at Aroha it is a lovely spot as well. We took advantage of the opportunity to go to Bobby's Farms, which primed us for some of the birds and plants we would later enjoy during the coastal hike to Laveuna Falls. Wish we had more time on the island to do more hiking and snorkeling/diving.

Also, the dinners offered by Cookie at Aroha Taveuni take advantage of the fresh and local ingredients and should definitely be put on your agenda while visiting. The breakfast was provided each day in a small kitchenette in the bure, which was perfect so one could get up when you wanted; there was far more great fresh fruit and whatnot than we could manage and we are big fruit eaters! Ngaire even provided extra leftovers from dinner for us to nibble on the next day.

The locals were super friendly, and we felt incredible safe while walking about. Ngaire and Dennis have a beautiful spot of land and a terrific house; we especially enjoyed the infinity pool, which was spotless.

Finally, Ngaire was so nice when I asked to change my reservation since we could not get a flight on the originally booked arrival date. AlthoughI could not get agoda.com to change the date and I would have just paid for the extra night, Ngaire went to the trouble to get the nights lodging fees back. Even had I paid for an additional night, the lodgings were far better than the posh resorts at Port Denareau in Nadi! I would highly recommend if you stay on Taveuni to consider Aroha Taveuni as your top choice. We scoured the island during our visit and did not see anything that could compare.

Room Tip: There is slightly more privacy in the southern bures, and they have small little decks with umbrella...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the Aroha resort in November 2011. Our main goal for our stay on Taveuni was getting our PADI diving cerificate. What a pleasant surprise we had when we arrived at the resort.
the atmosphere was relaxed, the cottages beautiful and clean and everyone super friendly.
Dennis, Ngaire and their wonderful staff made sure that our stay was as memorable as it was relaxing. Cookie's food is something we still talk about after all these months. Her food is really fantastic!!
We can definately recommend this place to everyone going to Fiji. If we are ever in this part of the world again this is the place we will be staying again.
Thanks again for everything.
Lots of love, Elmire and Oscar

Room Tip: There is no difference, all rooms are as great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aroha Taveuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aroha Taveuni

Address: South Coast Rd, | Naiyalayala, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Taveuni Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is the newest on Taveuni Island,our one and half acre beachfront property overlooks Somosomo Strait and is situated in the centre of Taveuni, very close to the Meridian Date Line,restaurants, shops and markets. We offer self catering accommodation, (or evening meals provided with prior arrangement). Tours, sightseeing,village cultural experience,diving, fishing, horse trekking are some of the attractions available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Aroha Taveuni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aroha Taveuni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.