We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vale Sekoula, Taveuni, Fiji

french doors lead directly to your private pool
french doors lead directly to your private pool
french doors lead directly to your private pool
It doesn\'t get much better then this!!
Private pool with breathing view of the south pacific
Open concept living space
Cathedral ceilings
Taveuni Island
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ron R
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Destination relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My view is that this property is really aimed at a couple looking for a relaxing break. It is advertised as two bedroom, but the 2nd bedroom would only suite a child / teenager that doesn’t mind roughing it a bit. My wife and I are a middle-aged couple and we stayed 14 nights.
Good:
The rear deck and patio area is great and this is where you will spend most of your time. The view is fantastic and constantly changing with the weather, the time of day and boat traffic. Definitely the place to relax with a beer.
The kitchen is well equipped so you will be able to cook your own meals.
There is a good stock or reading material, music and videos (DVD) and the selection should please a wide audience.
The bedroom has a king-size bed and plenty of storage. The bed is comfortable and the linen is regularly changed.
The bathroom is spacious, clean and well maintained but note that it has a shower only.
The grounds are well maintained and tastefully planted with colourful plants and flowers.
The free Wi-Fi worked well and never missed a beat though streaming video struggled a bit.
The caretaker (Buna) is friendly and helpful but you can’t sit back and wait for her to offer assistance or advice. Our experience is that Buna will help with almost anything but you have to ask.
Not So Good:
We lost power twice during the stay and were left in the dark until Buna returned to kick the generator into life. Be prepared and have torches handy.
The pool was in poor condition when we arrived and was not usable for 4-5 days and was never clear in our 14 day stay. The staff are well intentioned but I don’t think they know how to properly maintain a pool.
The TV is an old analogue CRT “flat-screen” – make sure that you bring S-Video or Composite analogue signal cables if you want to plug anything in to it.
The TV is the only way of playing music. The DVD player can play music CDs or USB media. Note that it will not play any MP4 or x264 video but will play XVid and DivX. We plugged in an iPod via external analogue cable but you have to have a video signal before the TV will emit sound – so ensure that you have the DVD player turned on!
The Satellite TV did not work for the first two days. Some basic fault finding led to finding that the local lizards liked to live in the antenna LNA which had lost its plastic cover. Placing a plastic bag over the LNA kept them out and gave OK reception most of the time. The Satellite TV receiver died during the last power outage and we were without TV for the last four days of our stay. As everything gets flown in, it takes a week or so to have anything replaced.
The beach at the base of the property (56 steps) is ordinary at best. You will want to swim with reef shoes on. There is minimal sand – though enough for a wade, but the rest is a combination of rocks and muddy weed beds. We swam there a number of times as it was a better option than the pool – which was not swimmable at the time. Also note that we saw 3 sea snakes while we were swimming but they didn’t seem interested in us.
As the property is across the road from the airstrip, there is a constant background drone of the diesel generator. You wont hear it inside the house, but you will if you are on the back deck.
Location advice:
The property is directly across from the airstrip/airport. You will hear the diesel generator every time you are outside.
The local Fiji people are really friendly and helpful and most speak reasonable English.
You can walk to the local shops and restaurants but as there is no street-lighting, make sure that you pack a good torch.
The local shops will supply most things that you need with the exception of red meat though the odd bit of lamb is available. Expect to enjoy your steak when you get back home and not on the island!
Mossies and sandflies: We did have a few mosquitoes and flies but they were not really a problem. We had sandflies/midges and at times these were annoying. The local shops can provide repellent.
You can kayak out to the local islands and kayaks are provided. The 2nd island has a hut that is associated with the pearl farm and has OK snorkelling. The 3rd island has a sandy beach and better snorkelling but it is a lot further out. To get to it, we left early before the wind came up and it made it a much easier crossing.
Make sure you are contactable in case your flight details change. We got an email the night before our departure notifying us of changes to our flights – changes that would have made us miss our international flight home. I bought a Vodaphone SIM at Nadi airport ($35 Fiji) and never came close to using all the voice and data credit. Vale Sekula does have a phone that you can use for all local calls. If you don’t have a mobile/cell that works on the island then make sure you give this phone number to the airline.
Overall:
We enjoyed our stay and the place met our aim of just relaxing and unwinding.

2 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Fiji, view, rear entertainment area
Liked least: unreliable power, pool cleanliness, beach, TV
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2013
We just bought a queen size pillow top bed and headboard for the second bedroom.

We have had a handful of guests since these guests and the pool is now crystal clear. I have called all guests since the pool issue upon arrival and there have been no issues brought to my attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CheriHake
Yuba City, California
1 review
“Relaxing, Beautiful, But Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The property is beautiful and peaceful and very relaxing. However, as the pool was the primary selling point for this property, I was very disappointed. We arrived on Saturday and the pool was pea soup green. We departed the following Saturday and the pool was still pea soup green. The reason given to us was because of all of the rain. I understand that rainfall affects the chemical balance, but when properly tested and maintained by someone with a little knowledge about pool maintenance, these imbalances can be compensated for. During low tide, the ocean is pretty much inaccessable so we had to resort to cooling off with a lot of showers or quick dips in the green water. Buna was great to us until after Wednesday and then she disappeared. The 2 meals she cooked for us were awesome and her banana muffins and chocolate cake were yummy. She made a quick 30 minute visit Thursday and we did not hear from her after that. I tried to contact her to let her know we would be leaving Saturday morning but could not reach her. There were no beach chairs as indicated in the amenities. I was told by Buna that they had been broken by prior guests. I guess they haven't been replaced. All in all, we had a great time. The locals are very friendly and helpful. Jino was always available to give us a ride. We arranged to go out snorkeling with Conrad, Tom Peckham's son at Peckham's Pearl Farm. There is not much going on at the Pearl Farm, but Conrad took the time to take us out to the shack on the water and explain the farming process. Loved Tavueni, but I will look at other properties before coming back to Vale Sekoula.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Green Pool
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2013
We didn't find out that the pool had an algae attack until we recieved an email from the guest the day they departed. We have owned the Villa for 7 years and this is the first time we have had one. we found out Buna had been waiting for a product from the mainland (things move slow in the tropics). As soon as we got the email we called Buna after researching and had her shock the pool with chlorine. We rebuilt the pool in April changing from a tile pool to a product used thorought Australia (cement based) we aren't sure if that was part of the reason that the chemicals became so unbalanced. It has been a learning experience for all of us. We felt terriible that the pool was unusable for our guests. We have begun to contact our guests the day after they arrive to make sure all is good as we want everyone to enjoy the beauty of Vale Sekoula. These guests had asked Buna to go into town for them on Thursday. If you take the bus into town it is an all day event. Buna would have not return until after 6 from the erand.
Adale and Henri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
rashby123
Redding, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Wonderful house. Perfect for the 2 of us. Very private but close enough to the hamlet. Only problem is the occasional power outage. Buna was very helpful and a great cook.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Open floor plan.
Liked least: lack of electricity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. As we live off the grid we need to create our own power. We have ample solar panels, and battery banks as well as a generator. During this visit it was cloody often so once the stored power was used up and the generator kicked on there was a short. Buna called in the handyman to fix it. A wire had come lose. We have had no issues since. As most of the days are sunny here the generator rarely turns on as the solar and inverter/battery system provides enough power as long as guests recognize that we live off the grid and use it accordingly.

Adale and Henri
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Egmont BC
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
PA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Erina Heights NSW Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
David H
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Doesn[--]t Get Any Better..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We've made several trips to Taveuni and this time we decided to try a vacation rental instead of the traditional Bure Resort. Vale Sekoula is on a breathtaking piece of property covered in lush tropical vegetation, hibiscus in every imaginable color, frangipani, bouganvilla, wild honeysuckle as well as bananas, pineapples and mangos all ripe for picking! The best feature if we had to pick just one is the pool that overlooks the most beautiful view of the ocean you could imagine. We spent every morning in the pool before heading down to the beach to take the kayaks out for some of the best kayaking in the world. There are 3 small islands within 45 minutes distance that have great snorkeling around them (one with a pearl farm) or you can snorkel a few yards from shore. Taveuni is one of the friendliest islands in the world which is why we keep going back. Buna and Sepo the caretakers are warm and friendly and are there to help make your stay more enjoyable and Buna is a great cook (and yes, her chocolate cake is THE BOMB!) Nand is the cab driver for the Villa and he is a great guy. He has lived on the island for a very long time, speaks all of the languages and will fill your heads with all kinds of facts. The Villa has hundreds of books to read and some games to play as well as a video and cd collection too if hanging "in" sounds good and there is the BEST hammock we have ever laid in out in the Sekoula tree in the front yard. (perfect for 2 people). You can buy fresh fish all over town in fact there are several small markets and even a new bakery within a couple minutes walk that sell everything you need to cook a meal. We made good use of the grill. Be sure to get over to Coconut Grove for AT LEAST one meal! The bed in the master bedroom was really comfortable. There are screens on the windows so that does great to help keep out the bugs but keeping the bedroom lights off at night when you are not using them is a great trick (plus saving energy is just the right thing to do, the island is not on a power grid so its eveybody for themselves...that means fuel generators)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: pool, property, location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$250
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Adale B
17054767685
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing