We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff..Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TovuTovu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taveuni Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TovuTovu Resort
Save
You added TovuTovu Resort to your Saves list
TovuTovu Estate | Naselesele, Taveuni Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff..Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great experience at Tovu Tovu Resort
Our stay was an experience built around caring, supporting and friendly staff. Manager Alan organised our tours with polite and courteous taxi driver. Excellent cook, food & excellent service!!!! Great breakfast with fresh fruits. Restaurant overlooks the beautiful sea and the views are breathtaking. So calm and peaceful place and this is what you can count on..relaxing holiday.
Shops, airport, eating places are all within walking distances.
Hot & cold water with electricity. A lovely resort...will always go back to Tovu Tovu!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had the most wonderful relaxing time here in the comfortable, homely cotttage facing the front. The curries that Alan (the owner) cooked were the best I have ever tasted !!! The family dogs were adorable, and kept us company, even watching over us at night !! Thank you Alan and all your wonderful staff for such a lovely time.We did not book for the buffet and music night, but on reflection we wish we had !!!! Sorry we did not get to say goodbye to you Alan, and thank you personally :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Although the resort unfortunately does not have a beach or sea-view, as it is located across the road for the sea, this is an idyllic place where one can enjoy the tranquillity of Fiji. Taveuni is very different (fortunately) than the hyped up, touristy islands on the Western side of Fiji.

The bures are basic, but comfortable and clean, with towels, fridge and mosquito gadget to keep them away (very handy!). We only missed a water boiler, although hot water for coffee and tea is provided for in a thermos if you ask the kitchen. The shower only has cold water, but as it was so hot and humid, this was not a problem. There is a supermarket some five minutes walk from the resort, which makes it easy to stack up on necessities and snacks.

The staff at the resort are very friendly. Alan, the owner, is helpful and approachable. We were very satisfied with the food! Be prepared to meet the place's two friendly dogs who adopted us and followed us around whenever we moved outside of the resort area. Literally: everywhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Tovo Tovu is a budget accomodation with a family feel.. like living in a village on this Garden Island.. People are warm and friendly and Suzanne and I felt like being at home here.. Clean (though a bit tired) Bures freshened up beautifully daily (with flowers too).. Slow ceiling fan but good bed and everything worked in little kitchen and bathroom.. Great views, helpful kind staff and great meals.. we are birders and were helped by the staff in finding local drivers and guides to local hotspots. Great accomodation that you will not forget. The warmth of the people at Tovutovu made our stay heartwarming and rewarding indeed.. we will return someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front Bure.. fine but back ones would be great too I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My sister and I were recommended this accommodation while looking for an affordable, available place to stay while we stayed on Taveuni for a few days. We ended up extending our stay another week, not too unhappy that other travel plans had fallen through. Weather was great, and Taveuni has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
Tovutovu resort is a charming place across from the water. I spent many mornings watching the sunrise either from the bure patio or the beach access across the road. It is located away from the businesses in Matei, but within easy walking distance of most of them...some small stores and a bakery. A bit of a longer walk, or a short taxi ride will bring you to Prince Charles beach which is a nice beach, though at high tide swimming in the bay in front of the resort is fine.
The bures were reasonably clean and well kept, though the screens have a few gaps if you are uncomfortable about mosquitos (we did not have a problem at the time we visited, but a mosquito net is handy to travel with). We did not have any ants or other critters. Our bure had a hotplate if we wanted to make coffee or tea, or heat up some soup, make breakfast, etc, and a small fridge. There are warm showers, and the water is of good quality. Wifi is pretty dependable. Staff was very pleasant, food was good and the Friday night buffet the highlight of the week. Alan and his family have a very good thing going on here, hope it stays the same because I am looking forward to returning and spending a longer period of time here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had a delightful time at TovuTovu. Management is courteous, the place is clean, and the rates are economical. Food is good, with a great buffet on Fridays. It's close to the airport as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

To each their own, as they say. If you are looking for a prepackaged resort-like option you might be better off trying other parts of the island. However for two mid-budget travelers the place was great.

I stayed at Tovu Tovu with my brother for a total of three nights at a cost of roughly US $50 per night for the two of us. The bures, while not extravagant are exceptionally clean, and we always found them spotless after returning from a day of diving or checking out the natural wonders of Taveuni. While Alan, the owner and proprietor, was happy to recommend other restaurants on the island we found the best meals in the Tovu Tovu kitchen. Friendliness abounds on Taveuni, and Tovu Tovu was no exception.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TovuTovu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TovuTovu Resort

Address: TovuTovu Estate | Naselesele, Taveuni Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Taveuni Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Taveuni Island
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TovuTovu is a family owned and managed property, our family has owned the property since the 1800's. We are one of the few locally owned properties on Taveuni, and we will ensure that our guests are treated to genuine local hospitality, as well as being served some of the best food on the island, our style being more laid back and casual. Vinka see you soon ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TovuTovu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.