We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Columns

The Columns
601 Ocean Ave, Avon by the Sea, NJ 07717-1429
732-988-3213
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
morris county
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had lunch on the porch overlooking the ocean. The view is great and the food ok. The prices are reasonable and the staff is friendly.
Little things like having to be very specific about your order are annoying. I didn't think I had to request that my bread be toasted when ordering a club sandwich, never ran into that one before.
It is worth going just for the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    14
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent the day at the beach in Sea Girt and thought we would take a ride down through all the beaches to check out a place to grab an early dinner. So glad we gave it a try. Huge place, good service and a lot to choose from. Between 4-5 they are only serving apps but have happy hour specials. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot in Avon-by-the-Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great lunch on the outside porch of this older seashore restaurant in Avon. Beautiful beach views and good variety of seafood and other dishes as well. There is music at night several days a week inside as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ok dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The best part of The Columns is the view of the Atlantic Ocean. We ate here on a Saturday evening, and made sure we got there early (5pm) so that we wouldn't have to wait for a table. We were seated immediately upon arrival.

Our drinks and appetizers were good and arrived timely. Dinners took forever to arrive, I didn't time it, but it was a good 35-40 minutes from when our appetizers were brought out. My daughter's filet mignon was supposed to be cooked medium and was WELL DONE and charred. The chicken franciase that my husband had was good, as was the cajun seasoned swordfish that I had.

Not sure if The Columns is a place we will hit again during our annual stay at the Jersey shore. There are so many places to choose from, and for the price of the food at The Columns I would expect much better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good food and drink..Fun but sometimes a little rowdy..Great views of ocean.Friendly staff and terrific takeout grill for quick food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Columns also viewed

 
Avon by the Sea, NJ
 

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Columns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.