We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba

Save Saved
You added Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 10 Taba | Nuwibaa Road, Taba, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 hotels in Taba
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal place to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from a 2wk stay at this Hotel, 15th Jan till 30th Jan 2013 and where to start. I did research on it before we booked so we new it was an isolated Hotel ( pity people who moan about its location dont research before booking) but the stunning scenery was a big surprise.
Sinai mountains at the back and views over the water to Jordon and Saudi amazing.
From the moment you walk in to check in you are met by smiling staff whose sole aim is to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. We stayed in block 5 the quiet part of the hotel with the Sinai mlountains at the back almost within touching distance ! and view of the pool so peaceful, the room was spacious and comfortable and kept clean by the roomboys still havnt fathomed out how they made the character with the bath towells ! different designs every day, hearts with flowers and petals.
Drinks at the bar served with a smile and friendly banter by Badwy, and every staff member in the main restraunt were polite and always eager to help, food was good we always found a meal we realy enjoyed, and the cakes !!!! my clothes seemed a little tighter round the waste at the end of hols !!!
The pool area were kept clean and plenty of sunbeds round the pools and the small areas of gardens around the Hotel gave the whole area a nice feel. The Animation team, Jonny, Shivo, Tifu and Zee were always around keeping people smiling without being pushy, and putting on entertainment in the club in the evening overall they were a great bunch of lads.
The beach is only a few minutes walk away but can get the hotel transport if required. The beach is clean, sea is clear and a pleasant bar to enjoy a drink, lunch can be booked and delivered to you if required, what more can you need ?
There are plenty of trips that can be booked, we went to Jeruselem booked through the tour rep Mina, a very pleasant and helpfull person, and a very interesting person to talk to, he always has time to talk to you and is based at the Hotel a big advantage.
Summarising if you want a Hotel in stunning surroundings, staff who are eager to make sure you have the best stay possible, and you want to get away from it all and just chill, this is the place be.
Thank you to every member of staff at the Sol Y Mar from us both for making our stay so enjoyable, we look foreward to seeing you all again.
Roger + Maralyne

Room Tip: We had a room in block 5 over looking pool and mountains at back, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    220
    91
    46
    28
See reviews for
277
304
37
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

15th_22nd January 2013. Cannot praise this Hotel and all its staff enough. It has a very friendly family atmosphere at the Sol Y Mar.Sea Star. On our arrival we were greeted by staff saying welcome home and that is exactly how we were made to feel, as if we were with family.The staff are very friendly and cheerful and couldnt do enough to make our stay with them a pleasurable one. A holiday to definitely be repeated, our only regret is that we didnt book for a fortnight. But be assured our next visit will be two weeks not one. The hotel is very clean and tidy in all areas. The food is of a very high standard and caters for different nationalities without a problem.
The beach is a very short walk away 3minutes but after saying this there is ashuttle bus to drive you there it was always ready to drive us to the beach or back to the hotel, but we did enjoy the stroll sometimes, there are lots of sunbeds round the pool and at the beach, there is also a bar at the beach and the staff who run this are every bit as friendly and eager to please as the staff based at the hotel. And If you order a lunch bag at reception it will be delivered to the beach at the time you request it.
The animation team are excellent too they are always around organising things to do (But never too pushy) they also organise shows and disco"s in the octapus bar in the evening.
The Rep Mina is very helpful and friendy also and a bonus is he stays at the Sol Y Mar himself. We visted Jerusalem on our visit, arranged through Mina it was an excelent excursion and well worth the cost we are delighted at the sights we visited so glad we did the trip There is a good variety of trips and excursions. We intend to do the excursion to Petra on our next visit to the Sol Y Mar Sea Star.
RED SEA IN FRONT OF THE HOTEL WITH THE SINAI MOUNTAINS AS THE BACKDROP..
WHAT MORE WOULD YOU WANT FROM A RELAXING PEACEFULL CHILL OUT HOLIDAY
Cant wait to visit our new family again at the Sol Y Mar Sea Star. Susan and Jeff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSolYMar, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Susan and Jeff
Thank you for such an honest and reliable review of your time with us. We hope to see you again soon for another week of relaxation.
Kind regards The Sol Y Mar Sea Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Sol Y Mar January 14-21 the weather was about 24-26 just right for laying by the pool or on the beach.
The animation team were a great group we had a good laugh and they always had a smile on their faces. The octopus bar at night was fun with dancing local entrainment and a disco till 12.The Animation team are there dancing and having fun with the guests.
the food is not the best but also not the worst iv had on an all inclusive holiday,its because they don't have a very big so there is not much choice but the chefs are there and they will make you almost anything you want.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSolYMar, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear libbyndee
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad to read you enjoyed your time with us and we will address the menu in order to provide more variety but as you mention our chefs are more than happy to make any dish if the buffet doesn't take your fancy.
Kind regards The Sol Y Mar Sea Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Sol Y Mar Sea Star - Taba , Egypt , based on stay between 8th - 15th Jan 2013.
The Hotel itself was classed as a 4/5 star rating however, the hotel is in need of a makeover, with dated fixtures and fittings. It needs to be brought into the 21st Century with a bright new outlook, in my opinion it is a 3 star hotel.
The hotel is in a secluded location,not on the beech, since the beech is situated just down the road, a 5 mins walk or travel by the free hotel shuttle bus, however, unless you have difficulty walking a few hundred yards down the road, dont see the real point of the bus. Upon my stay the weather was in deed poor, so there had to be alternatives to sun bathing that the hotel could not provide. Had the weather been fine, there would have been no problem, however, that is not the point an all inclusive holiday should cater for the needs of the client no matter what the weather.
The hotel itself is approximately 10km from Taba / Tab Heights , which is the main area for shops, however, in January, the winter season , there is little tourism and the shops, although good, not the normal 'tacky' shops are adequate, amongst a golf club and restaurants but little atmosphere without the tourists.
There is nothing around the hotel itself, no shops, you are isolated so be aware !
The problem is - transport getting from the hotel to Taba Heights, there is no FREE shuttle bus from the hotel - a return taxi fare costs £18 which in my opinion is a little excessive. The hotel should provide this service for free, since the other hotels in Taba , do provide a free shuttle service .
The staff may I say are extremely friendly and helpful and will cater for your every need, and make your stay most welcome. You cannot fault the hospitality of the staff.

The hotel itself has one buffet restaurant (The Captains Table) , however the food is somewhat predictable , seems like the same old food each day. However, it does have two other restaurants, a Pizza place and a Steak restaurant, however, if you are all inclusive,you still have to pay to use the Pizza and Steak restaurants .........hence on my visit they were closed due to no clients and do you blame the holiday makers.....if all inclusive then there should be a small nominal / additional charge to use the Al a Carte restaurants....why pay twice ?

Inside the hotel, there is no smoking allowed in the dining room / restaurants, however all the other areas allow smoking , so if you are a non smoker like me, there is smoke in the foyer, by the bar area, which drifts all around the hotel .........if a smoker, then you are in heaven.
The hotel itself states it has a gym , however, on my stay the gym was non operational, all the equipment was broken and seemed to be like that for some time.....only after some persuassion was some of the equipment fixed, however, not really to a suitable standard for a 4 star rated hotel .There was a sauna / hot tub but that too was broken......
The hotel does NOT take travellers cheques so please be aware, when exchanging money it will take sterling but the rates are poor, as expected in hotels.
The rooms are adequate , clean and tidy, a little in need of some tlc, but when on holiday as along as its clean and comfortable, this isnt really a problem, however, there are NO tea / coffee making facilities in the rooms .......
Entertainment : The staff strive to make you stay as memorable as possible, however, do you really want to play darts, pool , or table tennis on holiday ? Maybe if you had children then it would be fine , but I could do that in a pub back home .
There is a disco in the evening, which may I say the 'Animation Team ' do a good job, where there are different activities each night to cater for the individual needs of the holiday maker, however , as for myself the smoke did spoil the atmosphere - it was like going back in time to a night club in the 1980's.

The small pool was supposed to be heated ........no way .

May I say , that this a true and fair review of the hotel , others may find my review too critical others may say honest......whatever your opinion please try and visit for yourself , since I hope my experience may help you in what to expect.

Room Tip: Block 5 is near a quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSolYMar, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear David P
Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion about our hotel. It is well advertised that the hotel is in a secluded location and many people come here for that very reason. If you do not want to pay £18 for a round trip taxi I would suggest staying somewhere more central next time you are in Egypt and I would also suggest traveling to Egypt in peak season so you are gaurenteed sunny days and busy tourist areas. It is common place for hotels to offer an a la carte restaurant or 2 and it is the norm for this to be an additional charge as the restaurants are an additional service to the all inclusive package. As you are aware the gym and jaquzzi were fixed during your stay and alternative solutions were offered at a neighbouring hotel for the 2 days it took to repair the equipment. Our pool is heated to approx 28 degrees in winter and daily temperatures are taken to ensure consistancy. With regards to the cigarette smoke, we are currently in the process of making a non smoking area on the Crystal Deck for our guests convenience. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards the Sol Y Mar Sea Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel complex is very "used" and tired - the room we stay was really dirty and we also asked for the new mattress in the double bed are 2 pieces, very dirty, full of stains etc.
The only one thing there was positive - the staff - all the staff except the garden staff - they always watched the womens by pool with strange and scary eyes) is a incredible nice, friendly, kindly, smailing, talking ...they are never to tired, always care the childrens, smail..
The food is nothing special, but tasty .
But, anyway - never mor, see the pictures of the no good review and this is the reality...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Staff provided excellent service throughout the resort and couldnt do enough to help you enjoy your stay. The hotel and accommodation were kept very clean and there was a nice variety of food in the resaurant. My only minor gripe would be that the WiFi was expensive (not free anyway) and was not very good
I had to think hard to find any negatives for the holiday, thats how good it was

from Dave n Tina (who are already looking forward to returning again, hopefully soon)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSolYMar, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Dave c
Greetings from sunny Taba! We're glad to hear you had an excellent holiday with us. Although we are unable to change the price of the wifi we will try and improve the signal ready for your next visit.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards the Sol Y Mar Sea Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from this hotel,this was our 1st time to Egypt, to be honest we were a little nervous of media reports on egypt, but this place is safe and untroubled so dont let the media hype put you off. if you want a relaxing holiday and want to be looked after by the best staff who are warm, friendly, caring , polite and will make sure you have everything you need to enjoy your holiday then you should go to this hotel. As past reports say its not the poshest and yes it could do with a little spruce up in places but its kept very clean everywhere and what you get is good food and top class service. The staff really make your holiday for you here, we have stayed in some top hotels and they do not even come close to these guys here for delivering the best customer care..from reception, restaurant, pool staff, room guys and of course Badwy our fantastice barman and Zee, Vitoo, Johnny, and Mada the hard working animation team who are great fun to be with. I hope i have not missed out anyone as you all work so hard and deserve praise and mentioning. We were 2 families together and our young children and teenagers were entertained as were we by Johnny and ZEE. The Bar staff served drinks and ice cream around the pool all day and layed towels out ready on our sunbeds each morning. The beach is so peaceful and has a fab little beach bar and the animation team are around for you to join in fun and games if you wish to do so. Nobody at this hotel hassles you and even at the beach when a local came along on his camel we were not approached or hassled in anyway.This Hotel has a magical charm about it and i hope we return again soon to meet such lovely staff, it felt sad to leave them. Thanks to all at the SOL Y MAR SEA STAR for help making ours a fab holiday.

Room Tip: block 5 is overlooking the quiet pool with the mountains behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSolYMar, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear SCATTY282
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and letting people know Egypt is perfectly safe and untroubled. Your quite right, the negative image is all totally hyped up by the media, what you see on tv couldn't be more different from the truth. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Kind regards The Sol Y Mar Sea Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba

Address: Km 10 Taba | Nuwibaa Road, Taba, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taba
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#3 Family Hotel in Taba
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrouned by the mountains and the beautiful Red Sea coast, the Sol Y Mar features 171 comfortable and pleasantly furnished guest rooms and Junior Suites. Each room has a balcony or terrace overlooking the pool, mountains or Red Sea. This warm and freindly hotel features 1 main and 2 a la carte restuarants, 3 bars, 4 swimming pools, gym and health club. The hotel is equipped with everything you would expect from a 4* hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Sea Star Hotel Taba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Y Mar Sea Star Taba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.