We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a quiet beach holiday - food is not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Save Saved
You added Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 hotels in Taba
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a quiet beach holiday - food is not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was a bit worried when I read some of the reviews on this hotel but overall we had a very nice holiday! Taba is the ideal location when you are looking for a quiet beach holiday, don't go there when you want to go out at night or like to go shopping because there is nothing in the vacinity. There are some very nice excursions though (Jerusalem, Petra), which we couldn't do because we were travelling with our 2 year-old.

When we arrived at the hotel, we had a very warm welcome at the reception and our room was just great! We stayed at one of the beach bungalows, very large, situated immediately near the beach and near the pool. There was a kingsize bed for us and a single bed for our 2 year old, staff immediately proposed to change the single bed in a baby bed when they saw our son, I appreciated their proactive approach.

The surroundings, the beach and the pools are beautiful and since we stayed there in low season, everything was very quiet and well kept. The spa is very professional and the massages we had were great.

There is one great BUT to this hotel and that is the food. Most of what you read here on tripadvisor is correct: the food is far from great, which is a pity because everything else is. Contrary to most europeans we did eat at the main restaurant because you had much more choice there than in seashell restaurant. But it is true: the main restaurant is noisy and packed with russians (few arabs however, maybe because it was low season). They didn't bother us and (once you understand the tipping system), the service in the main restaurant was excellent. The food itself is far from terrific, if the chef only tasted what came out of his kitchen, he would know for him self: undercooked or overcooked vegetables/potatoes/meat, cold dishes, watery soup. One advice: the local food is great and the pasta is ok. Breakfast on the other hand is absolutely ok!

If the food issue would be handled this could be a great hotel, so I hope management will take into account the many remarks they receive on this point.

Room Tip: Don't book a room with garden view, some of them are not well situated Tip the waiters in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your valuable comments on trip advisor.

We are very delighted that you have had a nice holiday with your family in our resort.

We appreciate your praise to the reception service, beach, pool, garden and your room.

We have appointed a new chef who has worked in the restaurant menus for the last few weeks and since his arrival our guests is giving him a positive feedback. I have forwarded him your comments in order to take the relevant action.

I would like to thank you for your detailed review and looking forward welcoming you again in Taba.

Best Regards
Mahmoud Amin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    410
    145
    90
    81
See reviews for
445
598
52
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I walked across the border from Eilat, intending to have lunch at the Mövenpick resort. We explained to the security guard at the gate that we were not staying at the resort and merely wished to have lunch there. This thoroughly unpleasant individual refused us entry. When I complained, he called his supervisor and then said we could enter the resort after all. However, he insisted on holding on to our passports while we were there. I naturally refused to let him keep our passports and we were therefore unable to enter the resort. I have eaten/stayed at Mövenpick restaurants/hotels in many countries in the past and enjoyed the experience but the way we were treated in Taba was absolutely disgraceful. We are a middle-aged couple, we had no luggage apart from two small bags, which the security genius was able to inspect in a matter of seconds. What sort of threat did we pose to the resort? And why would anyone in their right mind entrust their passport to the type of unshaven, mouth-breathing lout we encountered at Mövenpick's entrance? Mövenpick should be.ashamed of itself for employing such people and treating paying customers this way. I have written a letter of complaint to the management at Mövenpick. In an ideal world they would fire the pathetic little jobsworth we encountered but I'm not holding my breath. Shame on you Mövenpick for treating your would-be customers with such contempt. The only good thing about our day in Taba was that we left this third world slum and returned safely to comfort, good manners and civilisation in Israel.

Room Tip: Do not bother if you're an independent traveller, they won't let you in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience might occur due to these circumstances.

I have investigated your comments with the security departments in order to ensure that this will not happen again in the future.

Kindly be informed that our entire guests who are staying or visiting the hotel should present their passport for registration. The hotel is not keeping any passport after registration. In case of a visiting customer the security will escort the guest to the reception only for passport registration and passport will be giving back.

Once again we are sorry for not meeting your expectations and looking forward to welcome you again in the future to re-establish the hotel Image.

Best Regards
Mahmoud Amin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

well I visit Taba lot of times, but in all the times I visit the Movenpick Resort, I love it because it Large, lot of space and lot of things to do there. the beach is very clean and looks great, pool and the bar on it, its simply amazing and good idea to drink and enjoy at the pool...rooms at all good and large and I like the massage machines when taking shower...
spa massage good and professional, all the workers on the Hotel are good people.
if you searching quiet place, lot of attraction, relaxing, good food rooms and atmosphere, its will be Movenpick Resort - Taba...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel was just perfect. Unfortunately we landed in Sharm El Sheikh and it was a long bus trip to Taba, but it was worth it. Just next to the Israeli border this little paradise has a very special atmosphere. Beautiful beach, great food, and really large rooms. The breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet is just unimaginable. We had a great time every time we had a meal. Overall we did have a great time in Taba Movenpick.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your trip advisor comments.

we are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable holiday with us.

thank you for your praise on the hotel facilities.

we are looking forward welcoming you again in Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortsel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Movenpick is a Nice and good hotel, nice animation. definitely recommended. For families and couples or friends among themselves. Very friendly service,
Go not in june, its to hot.

Greetings Sofie De Maeyer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sofie,

Many thanks for your trip advisor comments.

we are very glad that you have had a nice holiday with us.

i have shared your review with the staff and they appreciated them especially the Animation.

Thank you and looking forward welcoming you again in Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Movenpick Taba is situated in a truly delightful and tranqual setting with sea and mountain views and has its own lake complete with ducks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to go back next year. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and their English is very good. The food could be better. Mealtimes in the main restaurant, were chaotic. Tables were not cleared quick enough and relaid. The Dress code for the evening meal was not adhered to despite a large notice at the dining room, obviously packing smart casual takes up more luggage weight but in a 4-5* hotel one should expect this and make the effort. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious but lack tea/coffee making facilities which hotels usually provide. Although the hotel could arrange this it was 30 euros a week and we felt that it was rather expensive. Our holiday was 'all inclusive' and therefore this should have been included. BIG disappointment - you have to BUY the ice-cream. Suggestion: why not give out vouchers for one ice cream per person per day? A special mention and our thanks to Salena, Mohammed and Arafa in the Sea Shells and also to Yassar and all the staff in the Beach Bar who made our holiday really great, Also the animation team especially Laura, Mina and Hamed..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your trip advisor review.

We are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your recent visit in our hotel. It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and it is imperative for us to improve.

and especially your praise of our employees. It is a great pleasure for us to share your comment with all our team members which gives them a great motivation to deliver a high quality of services with a personal touch to all of our guests.

your comments concerning the main restaurant arrangements and the dress code has been discussed with the concerned department in order to take the correct action.


Thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again to Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzur Yitzhak
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We visited the Movenpick beginning October 2012 with 2 kids. We took an all-inclusive package with extra pay for bungalow rooms.
Great hotel and excellent service above expectations, the entertainment team is the best I've seen
Good food, plenty of food, but you can improve it.
The staff does everything to please stay.
We will definitely come back and try with no kids.

Room Tip: The Bungalow rooms recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executi, Manager at Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your TA Review.

we are very glad that you have had an excellent holiday with us.

i have shared your comments with the staff and they appreciated them.

thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you again to Taba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel

Address: Nuweiba Road South Sinai | P.O. Box 14, Taba 46621, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Taba
#3 Spa Hotel in Taba
#4 Family Hotel in Taba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Egyptian Riviera. The newly opened resort on Taba Bay offers a wealth of amenities of the very highest standard: countless leisure activities and culinary delights, in other words: everything it takes to ensure the success of your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort Taba
Movenpick Taba
Movenpick Hotel Taba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Resort Taba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.