We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas holiday 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Taba Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Taba Heights to your Saves list
Sofitel Taba Heights
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Taba
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Xmas holiday 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel from 25/12/12 to 08/01/13. Very friendly and helpfull staff, in the main they couldn't do enough to ensure a top quality stay. Our travel rep Sayed even spent some time looking after us on his day off. The hotel was always spotlessly clean, my only grumble was the quality of the food both in the buffet restaurants and the 1 a la carte that was open on site, we ended up eating out using the dine around vouchers from reception on 12 of the 14 nights we stayed. I would strongly recommend the Mexican at the 3 corners superb food and staff. In our personal opinions this is the best hotel in Taba, we visited the rest but were not impressed. one final point if you like Shisha pipe without doubt the Flying Carpet up at the 3 corners is the best as well as being the cheepest, try the orange and lemon mix it's brilliant.

One final comment, we will definitely return to the Sofitel.

Room Tip: any room in block 3 is good, these are the newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,932
    742
    248
    70
    41
See reviews for
719
1,709
52
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

In November 2012 my husband and I desided that now we have been at home in DK for 2 months and it was time for a little get-a-way -trip again with sun and warm weather and if we didn´t want to fly many hours , it had to be Egypt again, .but this time to Taba Heights near the border to Israel and Jordan with Atlantis Rejser who had a daytrip to Jerusalem and the Dead See.
We chose Sofitel Taba Heights ( no kids under 16 years) and it was a very good choise ( the best when we talked with peopel from other hotels ) and as usual we chosed room with great view over the sea and we payed a very little exstra for a Plaza Room ( balcony twice as big with 2 sunbeds , 2 chairs and a table and roomservice every afternoon with fresh fruit or cookies) and it had the most fantastic view over Aqaba Bay and all the lights in Jordan and SaudiArabia in the evening
It wa a relaxing holliday , very beautifull place , kind and helpsom personal,
All Inclucive ok , but at little to much both for lunch and evening, but my husband discovered that th Beach Bar every day made small Pizza´s, Sandwich or Tortillas, so guess who enjoyed lunch at the Beach
At the place there is free shuttlelbus ( Tak Tak) than can bring you Uptown ( small Beduintown with 7 shops, 4 restaurants )
Our Trip to Jerusalem, Dead Sea m.m. was cancelled because of the circumstances in Israel at the time and must remaine to our next trip to Sofitel Taba Heights for surely we will be back

Room Tip: Plaza Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Taba Heights for your recent vacation. It was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel.

I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and that your choice was up to your expectations.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Taba Heights.

Thank you and best regards

Jules-Henri Edouard

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

By Golly what a find.
From the minute you enter this hotel to the minute you leave, you are treated as if you are the only person there.
The staff areamazing, The food is second to none, the ambience of the hotel is top notch, and the accomodation perfect.
So there you have it absolutely nothing to say negatively about this hotel, however, we travelled in a party of 9 with Thomson from Manchester, and the same good reviews cannot be said about them.. However I will not detract from this good review by spoiling it with what I have to say about Thomson, I will leave that for another post.
Therefore my recommendation for this hotel comes in the Highly Recommended bracket. I have no problem about praising this hotel in the highest.

Room Tip: We had rooms in block 3 at ground level, right beside the quiet pool. Very handy for all the ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

I am happy to see that your stay was perfect and that you have enjoyed the full week, it was a bad luck to us not to have the chance to welcome you more than a week.

We will be looking forward for your upcoming stay, hopefully for two weeks or more.

Best personal regards

Jules-Henri Edouard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just returned from the Sofitel in Taba Heights and had the most fantastic week! The food was excellent plenty of choice and freshly cooked, all very well presented. The service from all the staff was exceptional. Nothing was to much trouble for them, they went out of their way to ensure you had a wonderful holiday. The hotel is clean and well positioned. We had the most realxing holiday no hassle and fab weather. The only regret we had was we only did a week but wished we had booked for two, it was amazing!! Going back again but this time for two weeks. Booked through First Choice and their Rep Sayed was wonderful friendly and helpful! No pushy sales patter. Don't hesitate in booking you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Garden Room by the quiet pool, bliss!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Sofitel Taba Heights and for taking the time to write this great review.

It is a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay, the food,beverages and the service provided by our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Return visit to Sofitel. First was good second was excellent. Staff are excellent. Hens customer relations is simple the best. Food is as good as you get in Egypt pools beach and diving are excellent water world is part of Red Sea collage at shark and service, dive sites guides, facilities could not be better. Book diving package before you go to get discount. You won't be disappointd

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us for the second time. Thank you also for taking the time to write this review.

It is a great pleasure knowing that your recent stay was as agood as the first one, we promise you to keep it always up.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Taba Heights soon

Kindest regards

Jules-Henri Edouard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed between 15-22 January our room number was 1224 large sized room and bathroom very clean fresh towels daily the bed was very large and comfortable actually slept in late most days view was fantastic sea view tea coffee facilities great bottled water daily in fridge rep Sayed was absolute fantastic best rep ever had was always available went out of his way to make sure you had everything you needed if any problems brill food in buffet was excellent enjoyed every evening different nationalities of food each evening never had any upset stomachs spa facilities was beautiful enjoyed totally staff very friendly and helpful would def return hopefully soon met some lovely people a great holiday especially this time of year would recommend to anyone who wants to just relax

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you very much for your review on trip advisor, I am happy to know that you are coming back to the hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the food, beverages, facilities and spa, I will definetely pass your regards to Sayed Thomson rep.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Thank you and kind regards

Jules-Henri Edouard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel with friends for 2 weeks from January 8th. Having read the reviews we were expecting a good hotel but the reality far exceeded our expectations.
From the moment we arrived, when we were greeted with refreshing cold drinks, throughout our stay and right up to our departure the staff could not have been more helpful.
The hotel was quiet and we were allocated a ground floor room in block 3 right next to the quiet pool, just a few steps from our terrace. The rooms in this block are handy for main reception and the restaurant. Note though that the rooms in block 3 do not have sea views.
The beach at the Sofitel is good with a jetty for swimming/snorkelling, though the reef is much better at the Hyatt jetty. There is a 2.5Km footpath/jogging track between the four beachfront hotels and it is acceptable to use the facilities at any of them. I have to say though that apart from the snorkelling Sofitel is the best hotel!
Food was fabulous, all the usual salads and dips with plenty of soft fresh bread rolls. Hot food is cooked in small batches so is always fresh.
The drinks were palatable as well, not like on previous trips to Egypt where all the white spirits (gin, vodka and bacardi) tasted the same.
The staff are friendly but not overly so. We had two young girls in our party and they never felt threatened by any of the staff and were quite happy to walk around and have drinks at the bar themselves.
Outside of the hotel there is little in the way of entertainment, a few shops and restaurants/bars, and the entertainment in the hotel itself is very low key. This suited us but some may find it a little too quiet.
We have stayed in Egypt several times but never before in Taba. Our express purpose for choosing Taba this time was as we wished to visit Jerusalem and Petra. We approached the Thomson rep and found the excursions he offered far too expensive. Instead we looked on-line (via the free Wi-fi) and booked with One Tour Egypt, saving £100 per person on Thomson prices. We were not disappointed (see separate review of One Tour).
All in all a fabulous hotel that I would have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Block 3 on the ground floor if you like a quiet pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Taba, General Manager at Sofitel Taba Heights, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Taba Heights, thank you also for taking the time to write this review.

We are very happy that your overall stay exceeded your expectation.

It is always nice to see that you have enjoyed the service provided from our team members, food, beverages..etc.

As you might have noticed, we are a light entertainment hotel meaning that we always try to animate our guests in a way that does not annoy those who are coming to have a break.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Taba Heights

Thank you and best regards

Jules-Henri Edouard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Taba Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Taba Heights

Address: Km 42 Taba Newuiba Road | Taba Heights, Taba 46621, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Taba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taba
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taba
#2 Family Hotel in Taba
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Taba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Taba Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly magnificent location, at the northern tip of the Gulf of Aqaba between the southern Sinai mountains and the Red Sea, Sofitel Taba Heights is also a uniquely designed hotel, inspired by traditional Oriental architecture. This exceptional resort is an all-inclusive property with easy access to the private beach, 3 exquisite restaurants, 5 swimming pools, a fitness center and 3 meeting rooms. Just 20 km from downtown Taba and 40 km from the airport, it's convenient for business and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Taba Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Taba Heights Hotel Taba
Taba Heights
Accor Taba Heights
Taba Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Taba Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.