We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dive experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village to your Saves list
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 275, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Rooms & Diving
Ranked #24 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent dive experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

we'd like to say thanks to all the guys, great fun diving excellent setup , professional but fun guides who really know thwere stuff and trust you wit h your respected levels, no babysitting, boat trips are excellent, 8am to 4pm but well worth the day out even if you dont dve, lunch on board delish! love the babaganoush ! if a fresh tuna is caught its grilled for lunch mmmmmmmmm, we would go back and dive with these guys again anytime Barry DMt Dotty AOW, if you have OW cert, this would be an amazing place to do your advanced, ask for prices and work it out with dive prices , it will be well worth it ...:-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    57
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
65
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a fantastic 11 day/nights stay here in one of the Bedouin rooms which was great. Rooms are spacious and basic with a comfortable bed and lovely clean towels every day. We had our own balcony with chairs and a table and great views over the lovely bay. The room had air conditioning if we wanted it and also a fridge which was great to have. The Reception Staff are very friendly and helpful as are all the other staff at Umbi. The restaurant serves excellent food and the buffet breakfast was very good. The Umbi Diving Village serves only Heineken Beer - you can't get anything else as they don't sell any other kind of alcohol - but you can take your own to the restaurant. I brought bottles of wine in Naama Bay and kept these in our fridge so that I could take a bottle of wine down to dinner with me or take one to the Bedouin Tent next to the Restaurant. The Bedouin Tent is a lovely place to chlll out in the daytime or evening. You can order food from the Restaurant and eat it in the tent which is nice to do. Again the only alcohol you can buy is beer. This didn't bother us at all - we were happy with a few beers, a bottle of wine or their lovely tea, coffee or fresh fruit shakes. It was just great to be in peaceful and chilled out surroundings. It's right on the beach so it's lovely to just sit and listen to the sea at night. The Umbi Diving Centre is part of the Umbi Village - Staff are extremely helpful and the diving is very well organised. Both the snorkelling at Sharks Bay and the diving off Tiran Island was great although we found the water very cold. It was fine wearing a wetsuit. We loved the whole experience at Umbi and would recommend it if you don't want anything fancy and if you just want to stay somewhere quiet and chllled. If you want a bit of night life Naama Bay is only a 10 min taxi ride away for 50 Egyptian Pounds (approx £5). That's an experience and not everyone's cup of tea. We found a great seafood restaurant - I think it's called Kamazan Fish Market Restaurant - it's by far the busiest restaurant down the main street in Naama Bay - seafood and service was excellent and it's very reasonable. We had a few meals here. Soho Square is also close by - only a couple of mins in a taxi for 20 Egyptian Pounds or you can walk it which we did the first night. Wasn't impressed with Soho Square - very touristy, brightly lit and not much choice in the way of restaurants and bars. There is an English pub/bar there but it's very expensive. We only went to Soho Square once - it's very close to the Four Seasons Hotel.

All in all we had a fantastic time at Umbi - it was a really great place for us just to chill and relax. We are hoping to be able to go back there again in June when the water has warmed up and we can do more diving.

Room Tip: There is a choice of rooms - we had a Bedouin village room - basic but very comfortable- you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Umbi Dive Village was a fantastic dive adventure with the elements of the bedouin culture shining through in the smiles of the staff and the architectural layout of the hotel premises. It was a fabulous experience integrated with natural and historical design elements of the Sinai. It was great to have a local divemaster who grew up in the Sinai who's knowledge of the sea, the people and the land was diverse and rich beyond measure. Umbi Dive village is truly a unique and authentic Sinai experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We rented a cabin on the beach, which was simpel, our friend stayed at a "back to basics" wooden cabine at the top of the hill, without a bathroom or toilet. Our refrigerator and mosquitonet were really welcome. The knowledge of the english language of the staff was really poor but most egyptians seem to have problems with it, the staff was always superfriendly.
The hotel is rather far away from the centers(naama bay, old market, nabk bay) but it's really welcoming, because after one visit at one of those centers, you have really seen it all and it's nice to come back at the hotel, where it's more quiet and peaceful. At the hotel you have 2-3diving shops and snorkling is super, after 2steps in the sea you can already spot parrot fishes, nemo's, blue stingrays,....but watch out...don't step on the coral and destroy it!. The restaurant has great salads and lemon juices and whereas you'ld like to go out dining saidi al said (or something like that, you can find the name in lonely planet) in naama bay is worth your time. Ancient decorated and geat grilled chicken! Our cabin was clean but could be freshened up. The hotel also offers different trips like sunrise in the desert with quadbikes, just don't be dissapointed about all the garbage lying and being burned in the desert, it's the egyptian way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had been recommended on tripadvisor already so had good expectations...was not disappointed! Getting in late and only for one night, I was treated well - the cabin on the front next to the beach was simple (okay, so it was a little bit dirty but for the price not worth complaining about!) and they have amazing coral reefs if you like snorkelling!
I liked the staff and talked alot to them. Very friendly and willing to help!
Took a night trip out to Mount Sinai and the reception was more than happy to hold onto my bag for nearly 24hrs.
I was told this was Bedouin hospitality at its best and I can see why. Recommended if coming to this part of Egypt. Just dont fall for EP120 to get there from the airport. Its not that far!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I am a bit hesitating writing this review... On one hand, I want to tell everyone what a perfect hotel this is. On the other hand I am afraid that if too many people find out, it will be fully booked next time. Because we will definitely be back!

With that said - This is really a hidden gem! Far away from busy Nama Bay. Wake up with the Red Sea right outside your window. Breakfast virtually on the beach. Heavenly snorkelling on a home reef that holds more fish than I have ever seen at Ras Mohammed.

The staff is excellent. They do their outmost to make your stay a great one. The bohemian atmosphere makes guest interact in a way that we have very rearly seen before.

So if you are going to Sharm El Sheikh, please try this hotel.

But leave a room free for us!

Jesper & Magdalena
Sweden

Room Tip: You can choose from three different price levels. We chose the Bedouin Village Rooms, but I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, taxi was arranged from airport to umbi by prior emailing, which was €10. We were checked in quickly and our bags taken up the multitude of stairs to our villa. We had the rooms on the cliff face, with own bathroom. What a view! Breath taking!

The restaurant gets a lot of slack on this site. Firstly, this ain't a 5 star luxury resort, so for what it is, the food was great. The bar serves teas and coffees, sodas and pipes, while the restaurant next door has a decent menu. There are a couple places to choose from. No ATM, so bring cash!

The beach is small but pleasant, with a jetty you can swim off. Snorkeling gear for hire, and massage area.

The staff were always very helpful, pleasant to talk to, but not the speediest bunch!

Our room was big enough, working AC, and not the greatest shower, but it does its job. Mosquito nets are there, plus extra blankets and tv. Empty bar fridge though. Room not cleaned while we were there (2 nights).

Something ate us though, not sure if it was on mount Sinai (unlikely, had hiking shoes on) or in the restaurant or room... See attacked pics!

Can't comment on proximity to town as we didn't go there, but it all seemed quite close! (Taxi range, not walking)

Anyway, it was a great stay, and I would stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village

Address: PO Box 275, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#74 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the area, Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village is a friendly, relaxing place that still maintains the feel of how Sharm used to be before the arrival of large scale tourism. The Diving Village has a well-equipped dive centre, its own private jetty and a fleet of five boats. There is also a seafood restaurant, beach bar and a full range of water sports. The accommodation ranges from budget View Huts and Beach Cabins to the individually styled Bedouin Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.