We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village to your Saves list
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 275, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off Rooms & Diving
Ranked #37 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

After spending a hectic week or so around Egypt Sharks bay diving village was a welcome break... Stayed in the beach cabins which are not bad at all, own toilet, clean beds, and A/C oh and a fridge which is a big plus with the heat!!!! Being able to store your own drinks is very helpful. Staff are very friendly, my husband dived with them and had a great time. He recommends the dive masters highly. The English lady at the dive reception was super cool and friendly. Food at the restaurant is good with good portions and not expensive considering the area. Would gladly stay here again. By the way when you book with them and they ask you. Would you like an airport pick up? say YES!!!! you will be ask to pay 5 euros for the pick up but trust me is will be much much cheaper than trying to get a taxi from the airport to their place which is only 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    65
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
72
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Fabulous! Another great choice of diving resort from Oonas Divers Cannot praise the place enough.
Umbi has everything you want from a dive village; professional staff, warm and friendly welcome, great food, easy access to the house reef. Choice of diving is exceptional with many famous sites in easy reach using the day boats from the nearby jetty. Shore diving, day boat diving or liveaboard safaris.... take your pick! They have great guides,crew and skippers and the food on board is always varied and plentiful.
At the dive centre, Alex, Hosna and Bev make sure your stay is all you expect - and more.

Downtown Sharm is only a taxi ride away if you want a wider choice of shops, bars and restaurants. We didnt venture until the last day as there was no need, we had everything on hand.

Will definitley be booking again and would not hesitate to take groups of students and experienced divers alike as the diving has something for all levels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Cannot overstate how friendly this place is, you only go here for the diving, and this is one of the best places around. The day boats are excellent, the guides know their stuff. The food on the boats is great.
The fish retsurant at Sharks bay is good, the food even better. Alex at the dive centre was more than helpful, nothing too much trouble, especially when some of my kit broke :(
Definatley go back again, only dissapointment was the condtion of some reefs and the over trouism of the area, which is ruining the diving enjoyment a little, but still fantastic.

Room Tip: Book low lever rooms, overwise lots of steps, stay in the 200's
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

i booked my two week dive holiday with oonaseadivers who i can't praise highly enough, they tailor made my holiday to suit my needs, it was fantastic value for money, and they couldn't have been more helpful!
Sharks bay umbi village is super chilled out- if you are looking for a holiday that solely consists of diving, chilling by the beach, relaxing and having fun look no further. The accomadation was wicked, I stayed in one of the Bedouin rooms which had a spectacular view of the bay, watching the sun rise was a perfect way to start my days! the room was really beautiful and totally clean, the staff were all lovely and so accomadating, i needed a few things like adapters, phone chargers, silly stuff but they organised everything i needed ! the room was cleaned everyday and there was always plenty of frresh towels etc.
the diving was amazing weather you're looking for big stiff or macro life- there is so much to see. the dive boat and the staff were all great, i had so much fun diving with them. I dived with Adel and Nour, they were both great divemasters but whoever you dive with you'll be in good hands!!
i did a 3day liveaboard on king snefro, if you love diving a trip to the famous thistlegorm is a must, i would definetly reccomend a liveaboard, Its just eat , sleep , dive!! it was great, the boat was super clean, the food was yummi and the crew were fantastic!
when your in sharks bay you are only 10minutes in a taxi from nama bay, so if you wanna party a couple of nights theres much more nightlife there. but you can expect a lot of hassle there, everyone will be trying to sell you something on the streets, but you won't get that in sharks bay. also a trip to the old market for dinner is must.
i went to egypt as a solo traveller and i never felt alone once, felt really at home in sharks bay umbi village, and i can't wait to go back.
Enjoy!!1

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Umbi Dive Village, and as divers, we find it near perfect for our sport.
The rooms are spacious, well fitted (redecorating was going on as we were there) and as you walk down to the beach (100mtrs) and straight on to the waiting dive boats, ideal. no long bus trips, or journeys each day.
the staff are great, helpful and fun. they carry your gear for you.
one low point we find is the restuarant, when we were there 15 months ago, the food was OK, but not fanatastic, and this time, the menu is exactly the same, and the food, while edible, does not inspire. if i could encourage anything of them, it would be make the menu more appealing.
looking forward to going again soon!

Room Tip: rooms 503 - 507 are superb, with big balconys overlooking the sea, although virtually all rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here in May 2011, went for 10 nights and even upgraded our room tot he one with the Jacuzzi bath on the balcony - that we would have said was not so good as the water pressure meant it took nearly and hour to fill.

The Umbi diving village is really great, chilled out and relaxed place to be, the staff were friendly and you'll definitely get a work out climbing the steps day in and out.

The in house restaurant was really good also with simple food that was not over complicated.

We were there diving and had 10 dives out with the team there - an amazing experience diving and would recommend to others.

The only thing we would say you need to be aware of is that there is very little in the way of shops in the area which means taking a taxi to one of the resorts nearby only 5mins away.

Great thing we liked about Umbi was that it was not like the rest of of Sharm and you don't even get hassled on the beach!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We did not have time for an extended stay but did not want to miss snorkeling in the Red Sea. We chose this place because of the onsite coral reef, saving us the need for a boat trip. E-mail correspondence with the hotel was efficient. Airport ransfer arranged by the hotel was not cheap but reliable and fast.

We were very happy with the reasonably priced Bedoium rooms (with lovely fixtures/furniture and a sea-view balcony). We asked for a quiet room and got one high up on the hill. We had a "bell-boy" helping us with our bags so no hassle there. Breakfast was good and our fish dinner was also excellent.

The dive centre, which arranged dive/snorkel boat trips was friendly but a little naughty. The young lady tried hard to dissuade a trip to Ras Mohammed as they did not have the trip on the day we want to go. We ended up going to the next hotel and joined two land based trips both at 30 euro per person. The coach trip to Ras Mohammad included sights in the park and two one-hour snokels. The trip to St Catherines depart at around 8 am and included lunch at Dahab.

We did take a taxi to Naama Bay for a stroll and dinner and was very glad and stayed in a less touristy resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village

Address: PO Box 275, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#75 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in the area, Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village is a friendly, relaxing place that still maintains the feel of how Sharm used to be before the arrival of large scale tourism. The Diving Village has a well-equipped dive centre, its own private jetty and a fleet of five boats. There is also a seafood restaurant, beach bar and a full range of water sports. The accommodation ranges from budget View Huts and Beach Cabins to the individually styled Bedouin Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.