We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, decent facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peace Road at Um Marikha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Decent location, decent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

3 of us stayed at the hotel for a week in October.

Upgraded to a suite upon arrival, costing a bargain £3 per person per night - worth it for the larger room.

Food was good throughout the week, okay selection in the number of restaurants - some you have to pay extra for, but that's down to personal preference.

Staff were mostly friendly and helpful - more so than others.

Pool was a decent size, plenty of sunbeds around - freezing water temperature in comparison to the sea.

The bar at the pool was pretty poor - they ran out of cups most days we were there, before lunchtime. You would spend the rest of the day drinking from cups half the size of a can - not ideal when its 30+ degrees.

The beach is the ideal place to head, and its only a couple of minutes on the free bus which runs every 30 minutes. There's plenty of levels of sun beds on sand, a bar, restaurant, and a number of jetties which you can sunbathe on and use to get in and out of the sea. Decent spot for some light snorkelling too. The on-site dive centre is based at the beach too, happily freeing up equipment for the odd hour or two.

Never managed to work out what time the cleaners come round to clean the rooms... sometimes they'd be knocking on our doors at 8am kicking us out, and other times we'd come back at 5:30pm, and we'd have to call reception to get them to send someone up.

It's pretty much what you'd expect from an all-inclusive in Sharm. Ticked the boxes we needed.

Room Tip: The further rooms away are only a couple of minutes walk by foot, and they have plenty of buggies if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

The negative points mentioned by you will remain into consideration to take the proper action towards it

Your praises for the staff will be shared with them and they will be grateful for that

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    496
    177
    72
    61
See reviews for
358
763
38
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Home from an excellent holiday at the royal penninsular a great hotel bit out of the way but if you after a chilled out holiday this is the place to go trips available if you want them but there all same old same old . The food at the hotel is fine no complaints do cater mostly for all inclusive and where a bit shocked that we were not and payed for it , and was thanked for my honesty one evening in the buffet restaurant , things here are not cheap don't expect them to be , your on holiday splash out we had a cleopatra massage and had a great time 3hrs of pampering well worth the £100 the staff are very attentive and not over pushy the entertainment is typical of Egypt so don't expect broadway would recommend this hotel no problems well away from namma bay , but close enough to it if you want to go soho square well worth a visit the food there is excellent for a night out . All in all great holiday but unfortunately we won't return for the foreseeable future as been there seen it done it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had an excellent holiday at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

Thank you for recommending our hotel and hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff at the hotel are so hard working, especially the younger staff, who are so kind and fun! We loved this hotel - the grounds are amazing the room is huge and it was reasonable value. The beach is nice and the shuttle service was regular, with free snorkelling equipment!

The food is decent and there is the option of the Italian and the Thai, which is underused, despite it being so good! The pool was huge and clean and we generally had a great holiday. Lunches were the best at the pool and beach bar, lovely fresh food! And breakfast was great with loads of pastries!

The entertainment could have been better, but the free shuttle service to town solved that problem easily. It is close to the airport, but seeing the planes go over every now and again is quite nice. Overall, great value and hard-working staff!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

Your praises for the staff will be shared with them and they will be grateful for that

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once gain

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Food was upto standard, could have been a better but the staff within the restaurants were polite, friendly and just amazing especially one waiter, ahmed he used to make us some puzzles to complete...

Then theres the animation team, They were perfect! They involved you, were talkative, polite, funny and just generally amazing. specail thanks to ahmed,maddy,natalia, olya and misho..

The rooms were nice, shower can be like a jet though so be careful! House keeping staff were ever so polite and freindly!

One downside is that the "all inclusive" part of the holiday was mis-sold in some parts because some restaurants you have to pay for, aswell as drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

Your praises for the staff especially Ahmed and the animation team will be shared with them and they will be grateful for that

Your comment about all inclusive system will remain into consideration to see where improvements can be done

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands. england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

we have just returned from m.j.v.p.r in sharm and had a wonderful relaxing holiday. we wanted a break away from it all and thats wot we got. im sure if u were looking for more excitment you could easily find it in soho square or namma bay, which is a short taxi ride away and costs approx £4.oo.
we went all inclusive and were really pleased with its value for money. plenty to choose from and couldnt fault it really. one night we ate in the thai restaurant for a change and this cost approx £65.oo for four although we didnt have a desert.
on our visit to soho square we stayed for a drink whilst watching the dancing fountain and for 2 cocktails and 2 juices it cost approx £20 so we were more than happy to get back to the hotel for our all inclusive drinks.
the staff were excellent, very friendly and very happy to please you. some guests though had rude attitudes towards the staff at times. it costs nothin to say a please and thank you.
our room accomodation was good however i was a little disappointed with the bed bases and the rugs - they were very shabby indead and i wouldnt walk on the rugs without slippers on. but hubby and kids had no problem with it. we were offered. an upgrade hwhen we got there but we said no. an upgrade would have cost in the region of £10.oo per night. we had two ocassions to call staff to our room both during the night, firstly lam was sick and a cleaner came within 10 minutes and cleaned up for us and on the second occassion the air conditioning wasnt working and once again within 10minutes it was sorted.
we used the hotel bus and beach and no problems although if you arnt a strong swimmer dont expect to paddle. its not a bucket and spade beach for sure.
we had one trip and that was the dune buggy ride, worth doing but not fantastic.
all in all we enjoyed our hol and will defiately return and choose the same hotel. as others have said the recreation staff were brilliant and will happily join in with jokes ans fun (our eldest actually threw one of the girls in fully clothed) but she took it all in good fun. brilliant cant fault them.
used the massage facility and had an egyption massage and reflexology - excellent.
hubby had a pedicure in the beauty salon and as a diabetic and on his feet all day his feet were painfull-not after his pedicure tho and excellent value at £2o.
no complaints, not even the low airplanes. yep u can definately hear them! understatememt but not a holiday spoiler.
one final piece of advice tho - dont bother booking the transfers from airport. we paid £46 and its only about £6.50 each way. we had our transfer from airport to hotel but they never turned up for our return journey. it wasnt just a problem with bookings with low cost holidays everyone had the problem that were booked with a to b taxis,.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had a wonderful relaxing holiday at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

Your praises for the staff especially the animation team will be shared with them and they will be grateful for that

Pleased to know that you will return for a second visit

Waiting for your next visit

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went as a group of 5 and booked 2 rooms however when we checked in they gave us two rooms on the complete opposite side of the resort which required a caddy to get us there (10min walk) we complained about this and the hotel guys said we should have stated this as special requirement at time of booking after complaining they agreed to give us a room 4 rooms away would of been much more ideal next door two one another as there are doors to link two rooms, anyway the 5 of us spent the whole week in one room the rooms are huge and well conditioned and clean.

Food: All inclusive (there is no such thing) this doesn't include everything on the menu, beauty salon, spa, golf course, snooker and 2 out of the four restaurants.The restaurant food was okay not much choice.

The staff were friendly however can be a bit too friendly at times.

Overall it was good value for money and we saved money on food and drinks which would have been the main expense.

Room Tip: Corner suites have larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

Your praises for the staff will be shared with them and they will be grateful for that

Your comment about the all-inclusive system will remain into consideration to see where improvements can be done

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having looked at various hotels in Sharm we decided on this hotel from the reviews. I have to say we went for a relaxing time and certainly had one. the hotel overall is good and certainly the some of the staff make this hotel, some do not however.

The hotel grounds are very nice and the gardeners work hard all the time. New plants were being put in the whole time we were there.

The rooms are very large and i was glad we didnt pay for the upgrade, from advice on this site. we had two queen beds and had loads of extra room. the bathrooms are massive. The only slight problem is the rooms need some referbishment. We were in block 57 and when we went into a friends room, block 43 i think, the everything was so much newer. dont get me wrong the room we had was really ok and it didnt affect the holiday at all.

The pool bar is very good even if you do have to wait sometimes for a drink. what else is there to do on holiday anyway so this didnt cause us an issue. we had lunch most days here and nevr had a problem. The staff are brilliant here and work so so hard. The only problems came up when the senior managers appeared. senior managers leave the staff to do their job, they really are good. i did say this to the beverage manager on our last day and hey presto the senior managers were gone.

The main restaurant is ok and we didnt have any problems with the waiting staff. again the problems came with managers. after a week of no problems i was suddenly told my crocs were not suitable, while being stopped from entering several others with flipflops entered without a word. i had to go to see the duty manager to sort the problem out. I did hear many many others being stopped from entering for various reasons, all of which many others had been allowed entry.

The big problems we have and they will stop us from returning are that there is 1 bar on all inclusive, 2 others are not and were empty most of the time. With only 1 bar to use the wait for drinks was at times very long in fact the wait to be acknowledged was simply not acceptable.
The second being the choice of where to eat in the evening, with only one choice unless you pay you do get bored of the food quickly.

The entertainment was ok and better than some we have seen in Sharm.

You do hear the planes coming into land most of the day really, having said that it is not so loud as to spoil things.

I know many others have enjoyed this hotel and i can say we had a relaxing time, but the hotel is not what it is trying to be and no where near 5 star. If the hotel looked at the little things then the ratings will go up i am sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menno_De_Boer, Hotel Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for submitting a TripAdvisor review, pleased to know that you had a relaxing time at Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula

Your comment about the all-inclusive system and the room refreshment will remain into consideration to see where improvements can be done

Hopefully we can get another chance to welcome you once again

Regards
Khaled Ahmed, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort

Address: Peace Road at Um Marikha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious, modern designed Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula is a gorgeous 5 star resort comfortably spread over 200,000 sqm of lush, landscaped gardens. The hotel's oversized rooms are only some of the extravagant luxuries that make this the perfect place for relaxation for you and your family. Neighboring the Jolie Ville International Congress Center, the resort takes pride in its ability to welcome both business and leisure travellers with top service excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel And Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Peninsula
Peninsula Sharm El-Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.