We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sea Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coral Sea Holiday Village to your Saves list
Coral Sea Holiday Village
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

just returned from a week at The Holiday village Red Sea in Egypt,with my partner and 10 year old son.Well what can i say?We did see the negative report from this hotel on Watchdog, and were a bit afraid of what we had let our selves in for.However,i cannot find a single bad thing to say about this hotel.
On arrival we asked if we could upgrade our room to one of the swim up rooms, but there were none available, so the receptionist said that he would give us a good room and that we would thank him when we saw it. When he said this ,i thought o yeah i bet you say this all the time.
but when we were shown our rooms it was perfect.
The room was massive, It had a massive super king size bed and a folding bed for my son.It had a massive marble bathroom with a walk in shower separate room with a sink and hair dryer, and a massive room for the toilet. All were spotlessly clean .We also had a large TV which had English speaking film channels and football channels.we also had nice wicker furniture on the terrace .
We arrived at the hotel in the dark, so it wasn't until the next morning , that we could see that our room was literally right in front of the huge swimming pool .
The hotel boasts several pools varying from a quiet one , to a heated one , and one for small kids tower.this hotel also has 2 superb slides .
My son is at the awkward age, too old for kids club but at this hotel the clubs range from creches for very young kids up to 15 year old clubs.
My son joined megastars which is up to 11 years of age , and he thought it was fantastic. He did archery, canoeing, raft building , aerial adventure.
All the activities are extremely well supervised by a well trained team of First Choice club reps, The kids are all kitted out in full safety gear, but every one kids and adults a like all love the zip wire ride . it a must , not to be missed.
We now come to the food, what can i say?This is probably the first year that my family and i have gone on holiday and actually put weight on whilst abroad. The eating arrears are very well maintained, spotlessly cleaned and well managed. Every night you can find something to almost everyone's taste,the dessert section has the most delicious cakes and pastries.at this hotel food is available almost all day from 1 section or another. you-can eat at the beach, pool snack bars or the restaurant . Also ice lollies are available by the pool from 11 til 4 and that goes for the big kids amongst us too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,373
    1,274
    426
    175
    95
See reviews for
2,903
1,434
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,589)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

just got back we had a lovely holiday just one main gripe the so called quite pool wasnt quite at all because it is the only pool that is heated it is very popular with familes with small screaming kids i dont blame them as the main pool is freezing but i booked because it had a quite pool , we found the food really good always hot and fresh tried all the al a carts liked them all ,good idea to close the resterant for half an hour for restocking we used to go in as they were reopening at 8.15 . we found the staff all very freindly and helpful i emailed the hotel asking for a room in block 10 and asking for a mattress topper after reading room tips on here
we didnt get an answer but they must of got it beacuse that is exactly what we got . i wouldnt go back again but we rarely go anywere twice. was good for a cheap break in the sun you get what you pay for .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had an absolute whale of a time here, had a swim up room which was lovely, very spacious. Food is absolutely gorgeous, always something to choose even for the fussiest of eaters.

Bar staff were absolutely brilliant, always had drinks at our table even without asking. The beach is simply sensational, I advice snorkelling but do buy the shoes for the water as the corals are very sharp! Got to see some gorgeous marine life from the naked eye. Wonderful.

Had a couple of run ins with camel spiders, never seen nothing like it, they're some size and very nippy! Nothing major though as they tend to not bother you!

Overall a fantastic holiday and will certainly be there next year.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Myself my husband and our 4 children have just come back from the holiday village and what a fantastic place to go, the hotel is very very clean the cleaners do a fantastic job, the food is delicious with a very large verity to suite every one from the very little to the elderly, the people who work there are very helpful and very friendly, it was my daughters 13 th birthday whilst there and she got a birthday cake and they all sang to her, my 3 yr old absolutely loved the pools and also high five live club, I cannot fault this hotel one little bit and we will definatly be going back next year, I would recommend it to anyone...... See u all again soon and thank you for making our holiday one to remember for all the right reasons x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Returned a week ago from this hotel, which was booked a surprise by my husband.

I have to be honest if I had seen the First Choice issues of last summer there is no way I would have booked - but I can assure everyone I saw nothing of this.

The approach to the hotel is not as magnificent as some hotels I've been to-to the right of the entrance lots of rooms are boarded up. But once you are in the lobby you forget this and as a lot of people have said the gardens are immaculate.

Our room was a Junior Suite in block 4. It was massive! Could have been slightly cleaner, for example the floor in the toilet had been mopped and the residue pushed into the corner. The room overall needed a makeover, there were scratches in the bath and on the floor. But having said that, linens were clean and the room cleaned daily.

We only went to the main pool once, preferred the smaller pool as it was heated and quiet. Both pools clean.

The restaurants were ok. I saw a review on here that sums up the main one - it is like a canteen, very little atmosphere and a bit gross to watch food slops go past you on trays (I have been to many AIs and never really experienced this!). Food is varied and well cooked, we did experience some raw chicken once. The Indian and Med are lovely but Chinese lacks atmosphere and I saw a cockroach run across the floor. Really enjoyed the Stonegrill. Don't go to the adults breakfast or lunch - disgusting.

Bars - we felt the hotel lacked these. They were all inside, with small outside spaces and the entertainment in a dingy bar. Would have loved an outside Plaza.

Overall the hotel provided us a much needed chill out. I've stayed a better for the same price but it was ok. Would I go back? no but would I say to others 'don't go,' no!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The resort was apparently given a bad review on BBC 'Watchdog' program a few months ago which is probably why the name has been changed - even Google Maps has both names on the resort.
The facilities are very good - equally for families and for couples too, although couples may want to ensure they visit the resort out of school holidays to get some quiet as the resort could be frantic with lots of excited children during school holiday times. The children's facilities and clubs are extensive and very wide ranging, and the many swimming pools complimented with a fantastic beach are all there to keep children motivated to try new things. The very shallow beach is great for getting close to some beautiful local fish and if you venture further out the coral reef and all its wonders are there to see - including lots of other local tropical fish and birds. We tried all the different restaurants and the range of food provided was very wide ranging and of the best quality. Theme nights in these restaurants and snack areas allow those residents to try out many new foods from global regions. If you did not want to try 'new' foods there are always many back up choices - like fish and chips, burgers, sausages many lovely varieties of breads and rolls. BEWARE the food IS good and we ended up eating much more than we would at home as tasting all these new foods from different geographies was very 'addictive' - you need to control your desire to eat more of the well prepared and cooked food. The staff are simply BRILLIANT, friendly, helpful knowledgeable and multilingual (English, Russian, German, French, Italian, and some Asian / Oriental languages too). Many of the staff originate from Cairo area of Egypt further north, and there low wages means that they rely heavily on tips from residents - but their attention to detail is so good tipping them for their extremely high levels of service is a pleasure. Not a bad word to say about any of them, much better service levels than in other major countries including USA, UK, and European countries who could learn a lot from these very hard working Egyptians. We would have no hesitation of visiting this resort again. The proof of how good this resort is kitted out for holiday makers is that people staying at other resorts nearby (up to 1k away) frequently tried to use the well equipped facilities as these are so much better than the other completion. The BBC Watchdogs negative review did result in a shake up which has been very positively responded to by the resort, and the king size bed sun beds on the beach are great to relax on while soaking up the sun whilst being waited upon by eager resort staff. Worth every penny / dime / cent. We WILL be visiting this resort again.

Points to note :- local bazaars (shops) nearby can be awkward if you are not used to them, You must barter down the price they quote, but bartering with the shop owners (shops open 24/7) was something new to us and some great bargains can be had - but you must push for them - we got some fantastic deals :) There are also many shopping centres (Malls) nearby but we did not find the need to visit these as all we required was either inside the resort or very close by. Remember to bring US, UK, Euro currencies with you as these are the currencies that the staff prefer to be provided tips in.

Excursions to other tourist attractions / areas in Egypt can be arranged at the resort, along with Scuba Diving, WindSurfing Wind Sailing etc. Day trips to see the Pyramids / Cairo / valley of the Kings and into the Desert are all available from the resort - at an added cost.

My advice would be to select an 'all inclusive' packaged at this resort as it is the 'win-win' option - enjoy :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went to this hotel with first choice in september 2012... Took my two children ages 7 and 9. First off if you want relaxing holiday with lots for littleuns to do then this is place. Kids club was pretty good kids went two or three times but prefer the pools so didn't do much there. \\\\\\\\\\\the first choice staff were great very helpful and great with kid. Food was fab lots of choice.. i mean lots and kids had plenty to choose from too. Booked kids den room and wasn't overly happy as even though it had a play station 2 no bunks just 2 singles. I have one warning and its a big one guys.. the little shops you find planted in around the hotel are ok bit of hassle but nothing new except a guy in souvenior shop below the main reception near the air hockey machine, sells little monkeys wooden pencils etc bits and bobs. he was very inappropriate to my son whos 7 and put a brass butter knife near to his face "playing" saying he would cut him and "cut his arm too"and seemed to think what he said was hilarious. I got my boy out of there sharpish and I reported it straight away ti first choice and was apologized to us but no further action was taken we were leaving that night. So I hope he doesn't work there any more but if he does (its the first shop you come to facing outwards near the first choice information service) please watch the kids. I made a full complaint once home and heard nothing, Bar that one incident which was unpleasant I would still go back as even to this day they still go on about there best hol ever or maybe il choose another hol village this year. good luck guys xx

Room Tip: kids den room i had didnt have bunks so check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Sea Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Holiday Village

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 317, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#24 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Coral Sea Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 484
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the unsurpassed panoramic views of the Red Sea, Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort presents a comprehensive under-one-roof concept that meets the need of every discerning leisure traveler. This 5-star resort houses: 484 elegant guest rooms with modern amenities, superbly-designed facilities and 13 exciting dining and lifestyle choices for a multi-dimensional experience. It is our privilege to enchant our guests with courteous and attentive service that is the hallmark of Coral Sea Holiday Village Resort; we deliver only the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Coral Sea Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Holiday Village Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sea Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.