We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, will definitely return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort to your Saves list
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for couples
Ranked #11 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Returned home on 20th March after a week at ROBB. Had a lovely week here. All the hotel & restaurant staff work very long hours, seven days a week. A big thank you to one of the waiters Fady for making our time there memorable. Bolas & his team in the Fisherman's restaurant for their excellent service. We had room 2206 & have nothing but praise for our room. We upgraded to deluxe junior suite otherwise classed as executive & had a few extra perks such as sunbed section at the end of beach reserved. Recommend this in busier months as your guaranteed your loungers although it is a bit of a trek to get drinks, use toilets or go on jetty to snorkel. Also entitled us to breakfast in Fisherman's restaurant till 11am. Be aware on your first visit to the bay view buffet restaurant if you are offered an Irish coffee after your meal, these are charged at 7€ each. A voucher is included which entities you to 6 bottles of soft drinks for your room per day. Room kept nice everyday and towel art creations too. We constantly saw staff cleaning and looking after the upkeep of the hotel. The only part shut was the sea breeze restaurant as this was under maintenance following a day of torrential rain which had happened just before we arrived. We ate at Fisherman's, al dente, and kebabgi as well as main buffet. Only disappointment was ice creams not part of all inclusive & even salmon in fish restaurant had a charge if you wanted it but for one week we were happy to pick the all inc options and do without a cold lolly.

When we went there were only Brits and Russians due to other countries stopping travel due to troubles In Cairo. Give me the Germans any day.

Fady, we will come back to see you again. Debbie & Vince :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your room with the benefits included, we are grateful for the appreciation of the staff service during your holiday and for sure we promise this will be passed on.

Best Regards.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,915
    815
    276
    90
    33
See reviews for
1,127
2,189
71
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has some great features but several things let it down. I was in a superior room supposedly and it was very spacious and clean with comfortable bed and nice balcony though I only looked onto the opposite block....it feels a bit like a housing estate if you can't see one of the many pools or the sea or just a view as complex is big. The cleaning staff made a good job of the room and generally the hotel is clean. Room was a bit tired and needed a make over ....not a huge refurb just a facelift. The pools are good and well kept....the adult relax pool is exactly that with attentive towel and bar staff. Although thomsons have this down as a 5T, I don't expect that to be 5* but I think it merits 4T and should be reviewed. I only ever ate in the main buffet restaurant, the Carribbean snack par and relax pool bar. The drink is reasonably good; food is ok but not that appetising......the buffet mains and starters are more like a good hospital canteen in the UK.....desserts selection is better. Would question if food at pool bar which is kept in a , help yourself, "hot" oven is really hot enough......the grounds/gardens could look fantastic but with a combination of lack of weeding and mowing at one extreme to overzealous rumping lawns into the dirt in other areas it looks unprofessional despite all the irrigation systems . The staff are generally friendly but the phrase every smile has its price comes to mind and I've met uniformly friendlier staff in Spain though maybe not as attentive. There are lots of activities on the go on the beach if you want and the snorkelling was good. I got the runs when i was there so never sampled any other restaurants and ended up living on crisps , bottled water, coke and sprite to make sure I got rid of it and didn't get it again. There is a pharmacy on site with quick access to antibiotics....they might give you two ...Streptoquin is banned in some countries ....nifuroxazide is ok though. All in all average I would say. Have to say that hotel desk manager was concerned when I checked out early although I was not complaining and she was helpful but there is not much they can do if you've been ill and have list confidence in the resort. I wouldn't say avoid this place just don't expect 5T ....it is like a UK 3 star or spanish 4* perhaps ....if you have no problems.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review,

We were concerned about your welfare as we not made aware you were leaving early, its a shame we didnt see you during the time you felt unwell as we have a doctor 24 hrs and also arrange food to be sent to your roomwe will sure take on board your comments about the gardening and feed back to our Management also your comments about your room standard too. Its a shame you didnt try our Ala Cartes or the kebagi as they are most popular for evening meals but we are grateful for your feed back and hope after returning home you get better soon.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our fourth visit to the hotel and it met all our expectations as usual. We had requested rooms near to reception and ground floor due to mobility difficulties this was arranged by email direct to the hotel prior to our visit and we were upgraded to superior rooms yes the rooms are getting tired but refurbishment will be on hold until their troubles in cairo subside . it was our friends first visit to the hotel and they thought it was amazing it was their anniversary and were presented with cake and singing in the italian restaurant Al Dente We had a freak thunderstorm on one day (it rarely rains in egypy!) the staff coped amazingly well with flash flooding and power cuts …We think he food is of a good standard the beer is a bit wihy washy but the wine is excellent conidering its a muslim country and alcohol is not high on their agenda
Snorkelling is amazing off the pontoon and the beach is lovely with a beautiful walk down and lift up and lunch is lovely at the Sea Breeze restaurant We will definately be returning again next year

Room Tip: we had rooms 2103 and 2102 highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Tina,


We are pleased you enjoyed your 4th time with us and your friend had a special anniversary during her holiday. We are glad your we're happy with your room location and look forward to seeing you again for the fifth time.

Kind Regards.
From all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was going to write a lengthy review, but would echo Bob313's comments.

I have never been to a hotel where you feel so appreciated and absolutely all members of staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome wherever you were. Special mention must go to Ismail who looked after us at The Pub, the cleaner of our room 2139 - sorry I cant pronounce his name; Eslam who looked after the Relax Pool and Angie who manages the front facing function.

This is a top location for a relaxing holiday and congratulations are due to Angie and her team for getting customer relations spot on. Spanish hotels could learn a lot from this approach!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for everyone at the Reef Oasis Blue Bay we are highly grateful for your review and every department will also read your comments. We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for the time taken.

Our best wishes.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by several friends and we were not disappointed. The customer service before we arrived was second to none, Angie the Front Office Manager was most helpful with all my questions and requests.
I was initially worried about the troubles but security is tight from the moment you land in Sharm and made you feel very safe.
On arrival, check in was smooth and we were quickly taken to our room (deluxe pool view) as requested overlooking the relax pool. The room was very clean and the bed one of the most comfortable we have slept in, we slept better than at home!
Our room cleaner regularly left intricate and beautiful towel art.
The pools are really good although only one is heated, I understand that this is common in Egypt. We spent most of our time around the heated pool but when this got busy and we wanted peace, we moved to the relax pool which is adult only and really peaceful. It was so nice to be able to go somewhere where you knew that there would not be any children.
The hotel was not at its full capacity so sunbeds were plentiful, I'm not sure that this would be the case if the hotel was at full capacity though.
The food was very good although there was not as much choice as we had experienced previously at the Rixos. However, that being said, there was always a fish, chicken, beef and veg dish available and each evening this was cooked differently together with different soups and salads. Raymond the head chef was always visible and overseeing all of the restaurants and talking to guests about what they thought. I saw him intervening on several occasions in the kitchen when he was not completely satisfied with something.
The only thing I could really criticize is that there are quite a few things that are not included in the all inclusive aspect, especially in the drink department. However this was not a problem and is made clear in the brochure and on the website.
Although there is a shopping area within the hotel complex (the shops are independent) we did not like walking though this area as you were continually hassled. I wish Egyptians would realise that if they put a price on merchandise and left you to look you would be much more likely to buy things than if you are continually hassled. We just avoided this area in the end.
The views from the Infinity pool area were second to none, I could never get bored of the views.
Unfortunately we experienced bad storms on one of the days and it was soon evident that the hotel was not equipped for that amount of rain but the staff coped admirably continually clearing the water as best they could, they never stopped working.
It is not possible to wander offsite unless you get a taxi but to be honest, everything that you could want is on the complex so if it is a relaxing beach type holiday you are after then this is ideal.
We used the laundry service as our room upgrade included a free laundry bag and this was cleaned, pressed and returned in cellophane packaging the same day, like new. Unbelievable service which I would suggest that anyone makes the most of even if it is not included in your room price. It was not expensive and the service was fantastic.
We used the a la carte Italian and fish restaurants and these were a welcome break to the buffet restaurant and highly recommended. Unfortunately the Sea Breeze restaurant was closed for best part of the last week of our holiday which was a real shame as I loved having lunch overlooking the beach and sea, I got the impression that this was because the hotel was not full enough but not sure.
The staff.....the staff are unbelievably hard working and amazingly knew your name and what you like to drink after the first meeting. There were a few special staff which really made our holiday special and these were Hussainy in the Horizon Bar, Said in the Panorama Bar, Mohammed, Hany and Sami in the pub, Bolas in the Fishermans Restaurant, Iman in the arena bar and Reda in the Al Dente Italian, sorry if I have missed anyone.
When we left lots of staff came to wave the guests goodbye on the coach and this was a lovely touch.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and if we do return to Sharm I would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: If you are a couple I would suggest a room by the relax pool and would recommend the pool view upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Bob,

Thank you for your completed review and we are pleased you had a fantastic holiday with us, We are glad you were happy with your room at the Relax Pooland the location was great.Its also good to know you felt safe during your stay and relaised there is nothing to worry about here in Sharm. I will pass all your comments to each Department and we hope to see you return again to us in the future.

Our Best Wishes
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I came back from the Blue Bay 3rd March after a 10 night holiday. Can't praise this hotel enough. The hotel is spread over a large area with various bars, restaurants and swimming pools dotted around the place. Large stretch of beach to sunbathe, paddle, swim and snorkel. The food was generally of a very good standard but the major factor was the staff, they were friendly, helpful with a good sense of humour. We had a minor problem with our room, it was dealt with quickly and efficiently, We lost a couple of items of clothing, they were returned to us the following day by the staff who had noted where we were sitting. The animation team was enthusiastic and good fun, just don't expect a West End production!! We are already talking about going back same time next year. Definitely recommended!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are pleased you loved your 10days with us and you are already thinking of returning gain next year, we appreciate your comments and sharing your recent holiday experience on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to seeing you

Best Regards.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Returned from the ROBB on Monday 17th, we have had a fantastic relaxing holiday, our first real holiday without the kids. We flew out from Doncaster Airport, which has a nice modern feel to the terminal, and is the closest airport to us, you park right outside the entrance, and the cost of parking is very reasonable. Flight times for a Monday were ok, but have since discovered they also fly from there on a Thursday, later flight times = more sunbathing on the last day!! There is an outdoor smoking area at the airport.
It was a good flight, but could have done with a bit more legroom, food and drinks are expensive on the plane £2.50 for a cup of tea. When we arrived at Sharm there were plenty of Thomson staff at the airport to guide you through arrivals, you do not need a visa unless you are planning to travel outside the Sinai Area. The new terminal was closed, as there had been a torrential rainstorm on the Sunday and it got flooded, the old terminal is a bit tired but we got through fairly quickly. It was a 15min transfer to the hotel.
Upon arrival we were offered a welcome drink, checked in and taken to our room in a golf buggy.
We were given a free upgrade to a superior room, the room was clean and spacious, with our own little terrace. The bathroom was large, and as others have remarked it was a bit tired, but was always very clean, the housekeeping team did a great job, we had several towel sculptures waiting on our bed in the evening, and after all you don't go holiday to sit in your room all day.
At breakfast we dined in the bay view restaurant, there was always a good selection of food, the fresh bread and Danish pastries were lovely, there was also a good selection of fruit, cereals, cheese, cold meats, salad, porridge, and hot food including, scrambled, boiled, fried eggs, omelettes cooked while you wait, beans, grilled tomatoes, sausages, potatoes, toast and lots more. The staff were always friendly and helpful, it is the staff that make this hotel.
We spent most of our days at the leisure pool. The towel boys were always on the ball, and also remembered which sun loungers you had used the previous day and would ask if you wanted them again tomorrow. This is an unheated pool and although quite cold it was refreshing to have a little dip in the heat of the midday sun. It was lovely and quiet as there weren't many children about, in fact the hotel was only about half full, 50% British 50% Russian, apparently the German and Italian Governments won't allow their citizens to travel to Sharm at the moment, all I can say is it's their loss, we felt very safe the whole time, security seemed very good.
We went for a massage at the spa, I had a Coconut Body scrub and Swedish Massage, it was totally relaxing, the girls in there are very good.
We also hired a royal tent on the beach for a day. It was about £28 for the day, from 9-6pm. You have your own private beach area with loungers, and a well stocked cool box, including water, beer, selection of soft drinks and fruit. It made us feel very special. The views over the red sea are stunning, and the brightly coloured fish from the reef swim right up to your feet! There are 4 lifts down to the man made beach area, with a snack bar, toilets, volley ball court, table tennis etc. Be careful when paddling in the sea, after all you are at the edge of a reef and coral can be very sharp.
In the evenings again we mostly used the Bay View Restaurant, the food again was great, with a fantastic selection, if you go hungry in this hotel there is no-one to blame but yourself. We tried the Italian restaurant but thought it was a poor attempt at Italian cuisine, it was ok but nothing special, and you have to pre-book it to get a table. We didn't try the Fishermans Restaurant as after hearing feedback from some other guests, it was only on a par with the Italian. But the Kebabgy Outdoor Restaurant was great. A mezze for starters, the bread is cooked in a stone oven while you wait, it is served with hummus, a spicy tomato dip (I can't remember what its called) mint and cumber dip, a mixed salad and some bread stuffed with a slightly spicy meat filling. We had a selection of kebab meat, including kofta and shish, served with rice, potato wedges and salad , we were so stuffed we couldn't manage a pudding. It is outdoors so you need to wrap up, and it gets quite busy but you don't have to book.
We took mosquito spray with us, and forgot to spray ourselves the first night, so after getting a few bites we learnt our lesson and didn't forget again.
There is a small market with a selection of souvenir shops, a pharmacy, tobacco shop, sweet shop, and alcohol shop where you can collect your daily allowance of soft drinks to stock up the mini bar in your room.
After reading some of the other reviews on here, I can agree with some of the comments about the place looking a bit tired, and there were a few weeds in the grounds, but it is spring in Egypt at the moment and the gardeners were out in force, and maybe what constitutes a weed in the UK is flower in the desert? There is a lovely cactus garden in the grounds.
Night time entertainment really didn't bother us, we just preferred relaxing quietly in the bar, so can't really comment on this.
Overall we have really enjoyed this relaxing break, ok maybe its not quite what you would expect from a 5 Star Hotel in the UK (it is good value for the cost), but it really is a great place, and the staff are definitely 5 Star, we got back home on Monday, and booked for another week in November on Tuesday night!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngieHolmes, Front Office Manager at Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Clare,

Many thanks for your completed review and sharing your recent holiday experience. We are pleased you will be returning again for the second time in November. We are also happy the staff looked after you and you were happy with all their service provided.

See you in the winter.
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort

Address: El Basha Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa is located in one of the most beautiful resort of Sharm El Sheikh with the magnificent views of the Sinai Mountains hidden amongst the colorful shades of the desert. The Hotel is overlooking the famous Red Sea with clear crystal blue waters and beautiful corals with the most amazing colored tropical fish. Our highly experienced trained staff and Management Team are available 24 hrs with extended knowledge of the resort and qualified to provide our Guests with the most professional and exceptional service. Our Priority is you at all times during the day and night to help make the most of an excellent and enjoyable holiday. We have a wide range of facilities including a 24hr bar serving drinks and snacks, a beautiful Panorama Terrace to capture the most amazing sunset views for those perfect kodak moments to save a lifetime of memories. We have many Swimming pools to meet everyone's tastes, have fun in the sun with the family's at the leisure pool or relax reading a book chilling by our adults pool at the Relax we have it for all ages. Teens hangout room including play stations, games machines, air hockey and billiards or join in the activities with the Animation Team. Treat your self with one of our Royal Tents with complete privacy, waiter service, direct access to the sea for relax time including drinks, fruit for a small additional charge or lounge on your sun bed at the beach at your leisure with 350 m of sand and try our snorkeling from the jetty to spot little Nemo with a trained instructor the choice is yours. If you would like to make your stay extra special we have many other room types to upgrade, our Honeymoon Suite being the most popular choice and highest category. This option is by far the best choice and we can guarantee you won't be disappointed, pure luxury with direct sea view, the moon the stars the sunset all in one. Your very on private double jacuzzi, separate living room, walk in wardrobe, marble bathroom, DVD player with surround sound and wifi with many other benefits included. All for a small supplement. Easy access to the other resort areas to visit during your stay by taxi or shuttle you will be anywhere in a short time to grab your bargains shop till you drop or chill in one of the famous shisha cafes we can direct you. Upload your memorable photos on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram whilst enjoying your holiday with our new extended wifi or Skype your friends at home to show them the wonderful Hotel your staying in now available in various areas of the Hotel free of charge. If you fell active during your stay why not try a discover scuba dive or complete your padi and become a certified diver with our very own dive centre on the beach or get active in our amazing gym and learn all the exercises with a trained and qualified fitness instructor ,. If you prefer to pamper your self relax in our steam room or sauna free of charge. Don't forget to reserve your Ala Carte Restaurants with our Guest Relation Team who are available in the lobby to make your dining experience the most enjoyable one, sample our tasty delicious 4. Course meal with complete tranquility in our La Romantique Restaurant special offers apply. We are truly confident by choosing the Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort and Spa you will not be disappointed. If you have any further questions or queries we would love to hear from you. We look forward to welcoming our Guests soon. Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Blue Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.