We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oonas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oonas Dive Club Hotel to your Saves list
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11341, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount
Ranked #7 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oonas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during Dec 2012.

A small good clean well run hotel with a dive center attached to it. The rooms were cleaned daily (towels not changed tho). The location is at the far end to Naama Bay but only a ten minute walk at best, but less noise.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and most of the staff are helpful, there is access to a private beach.

Only two issues, the hotel is advertised as having wi-fi but this at best was hap-hazard in the rooms. The restaurant has wi-fi which can be used when within. the second issue was with the restaurant, some of the staff on using the toilet would neglect to use the wash facilities.

I would def stay at the hotel again but so sure about the restaurant !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    43
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
82
92
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Basic hotel, nice clean rooms, large bathroom. TV, fridge, kettle , comfy bed.
A clean beach towel is included in the daily rate so that saves having to bring one.
It is not posh or 5 star , but it's clean and tidy and more than adequate.

A great set up, with the hotel being above the dive centre, restaurant, and Hotel reception.
Hotel is the last building at the end of the promenade, so it's quiet, but it's only a 10 min walk to the very busy, noisy centre where there are some great restaurants.

A great bunch of customers, a real mix from all different countries and backgrounds. You are always made welcome.
Brilliant diving in different dive sites. The company own their own boats and the crew are fantastic. I went on my own. I've had a brilliant time. Next trip is already planned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Where do we start? We have just returned from two weeks staying and diving with Oonas Dive Club. In our opinion, and we have been coming to The Red Sea for 20 years, the only place to go. As divers, and a couple, the accomodation meets our every need, bathroom en suite; clean linen; fridge and tea/coffee making facilities and we had a balcony with a sea view. The staff are friendly, efficient and professional. Location at one end of Naama Bay is excellent for a leisurely stroll along the bay in the evening. The dive operation is professional, dive guides passionate about the diving and the environment, unlike some operations we witnessed this holiday. The boat and crew brilliant with our comfort and safety paramount. Well done Oonas, keep up the great work, we will certainly be back in 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of this fantastic dive club/hotel. I visited many years ago when under different management and returned and I'm extremely glad I did!
The hotel itself is fairly basic with air con, balcony, sea view (ish!), fridge and tea and coffee, but is spotlessly clean with nice big bathrooms.
The hotel, and the accompanying restaurant is a bit off the main Na'ama bay drag, which is no bad thing as unfortunately, this part of Egypt won't win any awards for character or charm.
The dive club staff are professional beyond measure and way beyond any level of helpfulness and enthusiasm at any other dive club we have dived with. The food in the restaurant is good and the breakfast is nice. The food on the boat is excellent, and great value with drinks. The staff on the boat go way above and beyond the call of duty!
The greatest testament to their service is the fact it is hard to find someone diving there for the first time.... once you go, you inevitably come back!
So... we are already planning out next trip.
There is however one bad point that I think should be mentioned:
The payment is ostensibly in any currency (euros, egyptian, UK etc) but the conversion is always to Euros and at a terrible rate. If you pay by card, there is 3% commission, plus converting your currency to Egyptian pounds by your bank and then conversion to Euros (at a terrible rate!) meaning it won't work out at the cost you thought!
In short- if at all possible, change money in your home country at the best rate into Euros to pay (which they do advise when you book!) to avoid losing out. I'm sure you can do better than the rate offered in Na'ama bay by Thomas Cook. That's what we will be doing next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Incredible service minded staff. Exact pickup from hotel. Obi Wan boat is supercool staff nr1.
We enjoyed 4 days incredible dives thanks tó Coreen and Emy ( hope we spelled your name correctly). Briefings webre made ön boat, all first class. We felt completely safe during áll dives, because they were well planned. The food ön ObiWan is a chapter for herself.
Their video production which was made during our dive is first class made.
Many other dive clubs should learn from Oonas, regarding keepimg firm control over the economical issues, everything was nicely documented, nő hidden fees and other "surprizes". Thanks Nick!
Should we choose Oonas again? Without hesitation! We booked everything online - incredible fast repült from Nick. We did nőt stay in their hotel, but enjoyed a few beer afterwords there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plan de la Tour, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My second holiday with Oonas, and definitely not my last.

They are a friendly dive orientated hotel. The staff make a big efffort to make me feel welcome as a solo traveler.

After diving most divers, and dive guides/instructors meet in the bar for a beer and a chat afterwards- very sociable diving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

For a scuba focused holiday with fun and caring staff who make you feel properly welcome this place can't be beat. I will be coming back. Don't just take my word for it - there are a more than a few other testimonials on here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oonas Dive Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oonas Dive Club Hotel

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 11341, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#31 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oonas Dive Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated at the beach at the quieter end of Na'ama bay Oonas Dive Club's spacious, air-conditioned, and comfortably furnished accommodation offers a choice of suites, single and double rooms, with some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Na'ama Bay and the back drop of the Sinai Mountains. With bar and restaurant facilities on site, free wifi and only a short walk to the main centre with all its attractions, Oonas is an ideal hotel for those seeking personal service and a relaxed sociable atmosphere. Our PADI Dive Centre provides an extremely popular choice for groups, individuals, children and families who seek a friendly, informal and professional environment in which to experience the best the Red Sea has to offer. Sharm El Sheikh Airport is only a 20 minute drive away and an airport meet and greet transfer service can be provided at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Oonas Dive Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oonas Dive Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oonas Dive Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.