We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could have been better care” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marmara Sabena Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marmara Sabena Resort to your Saves list
Marmara Sabena Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Fanara St, Om El Sid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
ALLAN266@YAHOO.CO.UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“could have been better care”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed from 10th-20th dec 20112, location wise it was fine, rooms cleaned every day to a fair standard but more attention could have been paid on the shower area went out and bought our own cleaning gear and done it ourselves the upstairs dinning area where we took our breakfast really needed a good clean, esp where u made your own teas and coffees, the morning staff were lazy and unhelpful, at it not been for the kind morning receptionist we would have checked out on our 1st morning after been chased to pay for our breakfast when we had already paid for it in our package, got really fed up with being asked to take a overpriced massage we took to finding a a back route to avoid being hassled it could be a nice hotel but sadly it was not

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    47
    24
    33
See reviews for
49
98
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are quite well travelled and this has been by far one of our most memorable experiences of our time. We were quite surprised to read some negative reviews about the hotel as this is unimaginable. The staff are exceptional and deliver nothing but the best possible service. We hope you find our review helpful in making your decision to stay at Marmara.

Location - It is about 20 minutes drive from the Airport, next door to Il Murcato shopping centre (SEShk equivalent to Oxford St.) and 10 minutes drive to Naama Bay. The location is ideal as it is away from the busy night life in Naama Bay yet very quick to travel to for a good night out. Soho Square is approximately 20 minutes from Marmara, just make sure you are wearing trousers and shoes if you want to go clubbing. Overall Marmara is a great location.

Security - Sharm El Sheikh is a secure place for tourists; the tourist police ensure the safety of tourists via registered tour guides. At no point did we feel unsafe during the day and night. The people are very friendly and most speak English. Each room is provided with a pin coded safe box to store your valuables.

Hotel Facilities :-

Room - It was an immaculate room with a standard shower room and furniture. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels, clean bed sheets and the cleaners were always very helpful.

Shuttle Bus - The shuttle bus runs regularly and stops at Fanara Beach, El Khiema Beach & Naama Bay. We rarely used the service but it was on time whenever we did use it. It was comforting to know that there was a free shuttle bus available.

Catering - My partner is a vegetarian and was quite worried that there would be a limited selection available for her. This was not the case at all as the chef catered for my partner every day we stayed at Marmara. There was a good variety of food selection and drinks on a daily basis. Plates and cutlery were always clean. The waiters were always very happy and friendly and willing to help to make sure we were happy.

Pool - The pools were cleaned several times throughout the day. Pool towels were always clean and sunbeds were very comfortable. The pool area was maintained very well and staff were constantly cleaning the paving area.

Spa - There is a good selection of massages and pricing is reasonable. The steam room works wonders and both massage experts were exceptional. The hot tub was always working fine and the Spa is definitely recommended after scaling Mt. Sinai. Clean towels are provided and staff are always very helpful and friendly.

Staff - We both have a smile on our face while writing this section as the staff were outstanding! All staff were extremely helpful at all times and really went out of their way to make sure we were happy.

The guys that really made a difference for us were;

The Cleaners - Thank you for your efforts, you guys are awesome.

Mad Max (Bumblebee) - The life and Soul of the party. Thank you for your entertainment and games and crazy nature, we really enjoyed going out with you.

Iman (Ironman) - You are an excellent manager and keep smiling. :-)

Abdul Aziz (Chef) - Thank you for your delicious food. We really appreciate you taking our dietary requirements into consideration.

Abrahim (Seabass) - We would not have enjoyed dining in Marmara without you. You are a funny person and it was a pleasure meeting you.

And finally the best of the best:

Mohammad - Thank you for your kindness and hospitality. You made our holiday even better and we are happy to have met a truly beautiful person. God bless you and your family. x

Everyone at Sabena Marmara Hotel, we will definitely see you in the near future.

Nick & Pam

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through media travel, who promised us a 4*experience! Haha, ok
1 .took driver 4 hours to find hotel!
2 .even at night it looked filthy!
3 .complained immediately to change rooms as filthy dirty!photos to follow
4 . Breakfast room filthy
5 . Food looked disgusting
6 .pool covered in green algae
7 . Communal areas never been cleaned
8. Unhelpful manager who didn't wish to help
9. In brochure showed swim up pool bar , we couldn't find it!!
I can go on and on
Further more we had to pay to move to the Hilton, which I must say is beautiful!


Media travel give misleading information, they will not refund, for us not staying there!

Between media travel and this hotel, they are not fit for decent hard working English people!!

Richard london

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Well i went for my sister and on the second night we found to Egyptian male staff inside our room; regardless to say we were pretty scared as its not everyday to find men looking at you whilst you sleep. The last night we were robbed and the staff said they were not responsible but yet they were the only ones with keys to the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Well as they say you get what you pay for staff could not do enough for you, Shame about the food as it was the same every day chicken,beef and fish but done with different sauces good job most restaurants are cheap to eat at. The only thing that made this holiday more enjoyable was Max and his wife Alla who did there best to keep the guest amused, but would love to know who Doctor K was??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyfifer72
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We recently paid £50 each for one night in a grubby local Travelodge (brekkie not included) ........
For our holiday in Sharm, we paid £17 each per day for a room (cleaned to an acceptable standard and bed/bath linen changed every day, comfortable bed, tv with 4/5 english-speaking channels), 3 meals, unlimited soft drinks (genuine Diet Coke - not imitation c**p), local alcohol from 10am until midnight, the use of 3 pools and the services of staff who couldn't have tried harder............
What's to moan about?????
I'm a very fussy eater - food intolerances playing a part in the fussiness - and I didn't go hungry or get ill. It wasn't cordon bleu, but for the price???????????
Mosquito problems - yes, but what else do you expect in the desert? We've suffered much more in some far more expensive hotels over the years.
The main pools were murky, but pool guys worked day & night trying to fix what was obviously a filtration problem. I've experienced much worse in the UK - the difference is that here they just try to cover problems up with loads of chemicals.
Can't praise the staff in general enough, but special mention to the manager of the spa for supplying a local remedy when I was feeling the effects of the heat and a soothing lotion to help with bites - all at no charge.
Russians were a pain - but a few pointed dirty looks and the odd tap on the shoulder go a long way to putting them in their place.
Overall, good value for money - and we came home with many happy memories of our treatment by Marmara staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Take the reviews on this hotel with a pinch of salt....
Stayed for 2 weeks AI, staff are brill, especially Max form the animation team.
Ok so we got stomach problems but that is expected travelling to a different country, we mentioned to the restaurant manager that the food wasn't very warm/repetitive, and after that we ate like royalty!! We asked for food to be cooked specially for us and they indeed pushed the boat out.
If you want 5 star hotels then pay silly money for it, as for all the Russians, it is the same throughout S El S

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marmara Sabena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Sabena Resort

Address: El Fanara St, Om El Sid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#119 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Sabena Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marmara Sabena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Sabena Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Marmara Sabena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmara Sabena Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.