We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely 3*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Hills Hotel

Save Saved
You added Falcon Hills Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falcon Hills Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh BP 310, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 232 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely 3*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After reading many reviews we booked to go for a week from 01/11/12. This is not a 5* hotel as some previous reviewers stated. Good thing about the hotel is the small swimming pool area which is certainley the quiet area.
The not so good things,
Food was average and everyday was a play on the previous.
No entertainment except a belly dancer who because they couldn't get the music right went and stood in the loo's.
Nothing to do in the evenings except watch Fox tv.
Reception, bar and restaurant all in one area so nowhere to sit inside and have quiet drink. Also the tv was always blasting out Egyptian programmes solely for the bar staff to watch.

All in all it was a cheap holiday but i would rather havepaid a few extra bob and gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    343
    120
    77
    50
See reviews for
237
443
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bosmos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

After initially being a little disappointed that this was clearly not the 4* hotel we were expecting, Falcon Hills turned out to be a nice surprise.

The food was a little strange at times but all very fresh and tasty. The baker does an amazing job every day with the various breads on offer and there was enough variety to keep us going for the 12 days we spent there.

Our rooms were by the small pool and this was the best place to be during the day. The pool bar had no coffee which was annoying but other than that it was pretty fully stocked drinks wise.

The room itself was basic but very clean. We didn't tip the cleaners and so had no fancy towel sculptures but they still did an excellent job of cleaning the room each day.

As some other reviews have mentioned, there are a lot of mosquitoes despite their attempts to fumigate regularly but we used the local spray and managed to come out of it relatively unbitten. Others we saw were not as lucky!

The staff were extremely friendly and when my partner injured her finger, they did everything they could to help including pouring vodka on it and dipping it in coffee to stop the bleeding - sounds strange but it worked!!

Special thanks to Kareem and Osama who were exceptionally polite and friendly and helped make this a pleasant holiday.

The hotel could do with a bit of money being spent on it and the entertainment could have been better to give the Animation team an easier time getting people to join in.

Only negative really was the spa woman, she was pretty rude when we didn't want a massage!

Would definitely recommend this hotel if you don't have a huge budget.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

So there's loads of great reviews about this hotel and they are all true.

Hotel - small but great. Rooms very clean, great shower in a larger cubicle. Aircon wors well, fridge, no hairdryer but no big deal. TV has 4 movie channles in English and 1 news channle - enough for us.

Reception staff are very helpful and friendly - they'll move you to a double or twin room or a high/low floor if you ask- the hotel is only 2 levels high. Check in and out is fast and easy.

Wi fi is available - £3 for 30mins or £4 for an hour. You get a card from reception and can log in to use on your phone/laptop or they have a pc you can use at reception if you prefer. It counts down your time and can be stopped and started when you want; you don't need to use it all at the same time. Only really can log on near reception - no coverage from our room.

Food - great, constantly refreshed, changed often (no sitting around getting cold) Not a huge choice but still should suit everyone. Don't rush, they never run out. They also have food outside freshly cooked, BBQ or pasta etc. Pancakes and eggs (fried or omelette cooked to order at breakfast; and you can make your own toast. At 4.30 every day - pancakes or waffles and ice cream for anyone who wants it - again, no rush, they have loads.

If there are a lot of Egyptian people staying when you are there the queues will be longer than usual and they certainly pile it on their plates!! Also not very polite to either guests or staff. They were the only downside but not the hotel's fault and the staff made them queue if they tried to push in :) It's the same wherever you go.

2 pools both really clean and usually beds available although if you want to stay in the sun all day you might need to get up at 6am to get the spot you want - top tip....if you want to stay in the sun all day choose beds on the left side (facing the pools with your back to the hotel) The right side will be in the shade early afternoon. Loads of umbrellas if you need a break from the sun. Pool staff are great and will shift them round if you need them to.

The smaller quiet pool is great if you want to avoid the games but if you like volleyball, darts etc the larger pool is great. There's a bar near both.

Weather - we went the first 2 weeks in November - nice and hot during the day so you'll get a great tan. It rained for the first couple of days, but only 3 times each day and only for about 5 minutes; it's our 6th visit to Egypt and we've never seen rain there before, it's a rarity!!. Still warm enough at night for short sleeves although it started getting a little cooler at night towards the end of our stay but still a lot warmer than the UK!

Mosquitos - buy 'Off' to protect yourself (about £3 in any local supermarket near the hotel) We got bit a few times until we got that and maybe take a plug in for your room.

Shops - loads within walking distance if you want a supermarket or pharmacy! Naama Bay or Old Sharm are a short taxi drive away or Il Mercato is about a 15 minute walk - great restaurants etc in all.

Suntan lotion is still cheaper there, about £5 cheaper for Piz Buin! You can still haggle a bit in supermarkets and pharmacies but most things are cheaper than the UK - 10 cans of coke for £2.50. We wanted to keep some in the fridge in our room

Hotel shop has 200 cigs for £10 - a few pounds more for some brands.

Entertainment - Quizzes, Bingo, kids disco early on, karaoke, Mr Falcon Hills etc - all upstairs on the terrace so you can avoid if you prefer. Chill out tent with shisha pipes (think it's about £4 if you want to try one) One night a week (Oriental night) they set up the tables and chairs round the larger pool for dinner and after have a belly dancer, and a show with men sire and walking on glass and nails etc :)

Staff - amazing. Friendly, helpful and always cleaning, trimming hedges, mopping, repainting etc.

Beach - hotel provides free buses to local beaches - 2 free, one needs to be paid for (think you buy tickets from reception. (Take the hotel towels with you) We went to Palma Beach a couple of times - buses got at 9am, 10am 1pm and come back at 9.15/10.15/1.45 and 5pm. Great snorkling off the jetty or can have a paddle from the shore.

We'd go back to this hotel, small enough to feel homely, large enough to provide facilities you need - best food we've had in Sharm so far! There are a lot of Polish, German, Dutch, Russians etc and most (except the Egyptians) were friendly.

We met some great people - Hi to Darren and Kath, who entertained us constantly and to Karen, Pete, Katrina and Rob who arrived later in the holiday and had to put up with the 4 of us. We really enjoyed our nights with you on the terrace putting the world to rights.Thanks to you all for making a brilliant holiday even better. Hope to see you there again some time in the future. We had a blast!

Love from Karen and Paul x x

Room Tip: All are great - ones near the small pool are quieter as away from the entertainment at night or for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was our 6th visist to sharm, and first time in October, best summed up with bullet points.
good.
rooms very clean
pool surrounding very clean
staff friendly and helpfull
drinks a plenty
pancakes served at 4 pm lovely (if you can avoid the nasty pushing in egyptians)

Bad
worst food ever had, yes there was a choice but always the same as every day just a meat dish change.
entertainment..... really very very poor... the special night where they get everyone to sit outside! same old food, nowhere to sit unless you are prepared to get a table 1 and half hours before dinner, if you are sat at the back you cant see the show, really poor i cant belive they think this is special.
very shadowed around the pool, you have to hase the sun!
bed was like a rock aswell.

to sum up. this is a budget hotel and should only be booked as such, if i paid a third of the price i would have been happier! the beach transfer is very good and desperately needed, to get some sun, visit reef beach, food in the restaraunt very reasonable and good quality.
would i go again? no!

Room Tip: all rooms would be suitable very small hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had a fantastic two weeks at Falcon Hills in October 12 and totally agree with all the other reviews on here that give good feedback. Those that give reviews which don’t praise the quality here are clearly not prepared to immerse themselves in the experience of being abroad – if you want British food, fry ups, Sunday roast’s etc., then do the rest of us a favour and stay at home!!

As an older solo traveller I felt totally safe in Sharm. There were also single women and groups of women that I met who also said they felt very comfortable travelling around during the day and in the evening, free from any hassle in the majority of places, just use your common sense.

So rather than re-write all the other excellent reviews on here in my own words, I thought I’d offer some general hints and tips about various aspects of my visit to Sharm...

Arrival at Sharm Airport
You will be given a landing card on the aircraft to fill in. If you don’t intend to leave the Sharm area write ‘Sinai Only’ on the back and head directly to Passport Control on entering the airport where your passport will be stamped for the Sharm area only.
If you intend to go on any trips i.e. to Cairo (Pyramids), Luxor (Valley of the Kings), Jerusalem or Petra or even diving at the Ras Mohammed National Park you will need a visa. To buy one, turn sharp left as you enter the airport building and go to one of the desks there. The visa should cost £13. Stick it on a blank page in your passport and then go to passport control with your passport open at the visa page to be stamped.
A few yards after passport control there is a chap who wants to see your visa is stamped so have your passport open at the page ready for him otherwise tempers can get a little frayed. Once you are past this head on to the baggage hall to collect your luggage.
This whole experience took me about 30 minutes but I guess if several planes arrive in quick succession it will take considerably longer.
If you are a smoker and nip out to have a quick one, you can have the devils own job to get back into the baggage hall and they can make you go back round through passport control.

Departure from Sharm Airport
The departure lounge is pretty expansive with quite a few shops and food outlets and is not overly expensive. Just a tip here, but have a pen ready when you arrive as you have to fill out a departure card before you go through passport control.

Mobiles
The main networks in Egypt are Vodafone and Etisalat. I can vouch for the fact that UK mobiles on Vodafone, O2 and Orange will work in Sharm. I don’t know about T-Mobile but Three definitely won’t work. Make sure your network roaming is activated before you leave the UK.
To reduce costs I took an unlocked phone with a UK Vodafone PAYG sim so people could text me with no charge to themselves.
I purchased an Egypt Vodafone sim card for about £5 and by switching the sims in the phone I could text back at about 10p per text instead of the 50p charged by UK networks. Calls to the UK were also much cheaper this way.
This needs an unlocked phone and is a bit fiddly I know, but it saved a hefty phone bill when I got back.

WIFI Internet
Not all hotels charge for WIFI. Falcon Hills charges £4 per hour for WIFI but if you go out of the hotel and turn left about 100 yards down the road is the Mirage bar which will provide you WIFI for the cost of a Coca Cola (the current password is Mirage123456).
Most places that have WIFI will provide it for the cost of a drink or meal and generally most of them don’t change passwords too often.

Money Exchange
Cash is king in Sharm and the majority of traders (including taxi drivers) will take English Pounds, Egyptian Pounds, US Dollars or Euros.
However, beware... they will not exchange any torn, damaged or defaced GBP notes as they cannot then exchange them.
Some hotel staff and traders may ask you to swap their collections of pound coins for English or Egyptian notes. They get left them as tips and can’t exchange them, just like we can’t exchange foreign coins back home.
Exchange rates in the hotels are about 1 Egyptian pound (10p) less than you can get in town – I managed to get 9.75EP to the £1 at a cash exchange in town while I was there, but most traders work on 10EP to £1 for goods purchases.

Trips
Shop around for your trips as you can normally get a deal here or there, but don’t be conned into paying a higher price by the hotel reps as they will tell you they have insurance to cover you and the local shops don’t.
This is a load of bulls poo designed to scare you into paying a higher price. None of them have insurance BUT YOU DO (assuming you bought it in the UK)! Just check your policy exclusions to make sure you’re covered.
If you have purchased a visa for trips outside Sharm, you will need to take a photocopy of your visa and your photo from your passport for security checks. The hotel reception will do this for you for about a £1.

Taxi’s
The taxi drivers will drive you mad with their incessant beeps and calls of ‘Taxi’ to entice you to flag them down (if they have an MOT for vehicles in Egypt I'm sure the horn is the only part thats tested). After a couple of days I realised the best way to deal with this is not to shake your head or wave them away but just ignore them and keep walking.
Trust me when I say if you acknowledge them they will follow you down a street for several hundred yards to get you to use them. A firm and assertive ‘No’ is required.

Places to Visit
Reef Beach is an excellent place for snorkelling and to chill on the loungers. As the name suggests it is part of the reef so not exactly sandy and it drops away to a depth of about 80ft straight off the jetty. Make sure you buy a ticket from the hotel reception for 15EP instead of 25EP at the beach. There is also an awesome Italian restaurant here for evening dining. Meals cost around £8pp for two courses and drinks. A taxi here costs about £1 return.

Palma Beach is a sandy(ish) beach but quite rocky once you’re in the water, giving way to coral reef after a several yards. There is a long jetty that takes you out over the reef and into deeper water for snorkelling and swimming.

Terrazina Beach is a sandy beach and doesn’t have any form of reef. It is ideal for just chilling although the loud music form the beach bars can get a bit monotonous after a while. My only criticism of this beach is that I wasn’t very impressed with the cleanliness.

Il Mercato shopping centre is a great little area with quite a few shops and restaurants which is 15 minutes walk from Falcon Hills or £1.50 for a return taxi. I tried the ONiONS restaurant which is a little more upmarket than most and had a superb shellfish mixed grill for about £10 (including fresh lobster and crab). I also tried the upstairs Steak House (on the opposite side of the road to Starbucks... YES STARBUCKS!!) which is run by an English guy who will give you the lowdown on Sharm. Fantastic 18oz T-Bone steak here for £8.50 including all the trimmings. There is also a McDonalds and Pizza Hut in the centre which charge about the same prices as at home. You can have these delivered to your hotel for about 60p.

Naama Bay shopping centre is an experience like no other and not to be missed. It’s like Blackpool on speed (not that I have experienced Blackpool on speed - or anywhere else for that matter). Your senses will be assaulted by loud music, loud traders and a throng of people wandering aimlessly among the shops, cafes and restaurants. Definitely head for the Hard Rock Cafe for an excellent and pretty inexpensive meal (compared to the Hard Rock Cafe’s I’ve visited in the UK). I paid about £12 for a starter, classic burger and a couple of bottles of beer. The waiting staff also showed off their party pieces during the evening with aplomb. After 11pm they clear the tables away and it becomes a nightclub with an entry fee of £20 but that includes all drinks. There is also a TGI Friday’s in Naama bay but at the time of writing they didn’t sell any alcoholic drinks. The minibus taxi from Falcon Hills was £8 return for five people.

Soho Square is quite a newish upmarket area of Sharm that really seems to be trying too hard. Hotel brands, shops and restaurant prices reflect this. The downside is the noise as it’s adjacent to the end of the airport runway but it’s ok for a visit!

The Aqua Park is a brilliant day out for young and old with slides, wave pool, kids pool, lagoon, activities, restaurants and bars, all for £30 for adults and £24 for kids, which includes entry, all drinks and lunch. The taxi from Falcon Hills was £1.50 return for three people.

If there's anything else I can help with please don't hesitate to contact me!

Finally, a big thank you to all the staff at Falcon Hills who made my holiday a fantastic experience, which I will look forward to repeating next year. I would particularly like to single out Mohammed on reception, Osama the restaurant manager and Sadak behind the bar for being so helpful.
I would also like to mention Ali behind the bar.... don’t forget the Boom Boom mate! And last but not least Cris of the Animation team who’s cries of ‘My Belly’ around the pool will live with me for the longest time.
Thanks guys see you next time!!

Room Tip: Although some rooms are advertised with a 'street' view this is not exactly true. The stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I went to falcon hills in oct 2012, it was excellent value for money. Very clean and all staff very friendly. Animation team provided excellent entertainment from the youngest to the oldest guest. would definitley stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkbymoorside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A very nice hotel with excellent service. Nothing was any trouble and we really enjoyed the stay. There was plenty of food with multiple choices If anyone was to complain it would have to be that there was too much food. If you could not find a thing between the hot & cold buffet then you were complaining 'just because' The entertainment was really good and ours was on BBQ night. The staff worked really hard to make everything clean and tidy Bus to the beaches was always on time and this is a must for me as I plan other activities outside. I would recommend this hotel as the staff were so friendly and courteous. The manager was also so helpful and beyond the call of duty if everything. Spoke fluent English Russian and maybe some other languages. The hotel was run like clockwork. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms one above ground level and this suited us as there was a lot of people walking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falcon Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hills Hotel

Address: Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh BP 310, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 232 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hills Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ras Um El Sid Plateau, The Famous Under Water Park For Scuba Diving And Snorkeling.350 Meters From Amphoros Beach And Diving Site, 05 KM South Naama Bay And 17 KM To Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Falcon Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Hills Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.