We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best holiday we have ever had! truly amazing! brilliant staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nubian Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nubian Island Hotel to your Saves list
Nubian Island Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
west midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best holiday we have ever had! truly amazing! brilliant staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

me and my partner traveled to egypt for the first time in may 2012, we stayed at nubian island for 2 weeks and it was the best holiday we have ever had. our room was just feet away from the pool, it was well kept and beautiful. i can not say how fantastic the staff were, nothing was to much trouble, so friendly, the pool guy was fab, he worked very hard always had a smile on his face, the bar men were always smiling and cheerfull, waiters were brilliant, even the gardeners. I loved the fact there were cocktail partys for the english every week were we met all the managers and got to meet the other english guests. i can not fault this hotel at all, (maybe if i had to find something it would be the rude germans lol) if your thinking of booking this hotel DO IT! best thing you will ever do. Food was lovely, plenty choice, infact im online now looking to book again in march 2014 i may do it direct though with the hotel as its coming up at 900 pounds each through thompson :( the hotel and grounds are amazing but its the staff that make this hotel truly amazing they are all fantastic and go beyond the normal to make you happy and welcome, george the manager your staff are a credit to you, and thanks for the best holiday iv ever had, i cant wait to return so excited, xxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    261
    71
    35
    12
See reviews for
349
448
33
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Nubian after a weeks cruise. The staff were brilliant no complaints at all , always friendly and a smile on there face. Rooms were spotless plenty of storage space big single beds, not much English tv channels. Food was good plenty of choice , try the Italian restaurant near the bottom pool excellent. But you have to book a couple of days in Advance. The spa staff will come round the pool selling treatments, don't pay the price they are offering haggle and you will get a good discount we paid £35 for 2hour sauna steam room jacuzzi body scrub face mask and massage.animation staff were good Charlie always having time for a chat and good info on Sharm. Drinks were ok didn't find them particularly strong, but the coffees were very good . Overall very good hotel and would recommend it.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

first time to egypt and glad with the choice of hotel we choose , the staff was very friendly and rep (dudie ) was very helpful to us all (group of 12 ) , the rooms are lovely and cleaned daily , the bar staff was very friendly and often had a laugh with us makeing us feel very welcome ,the complex its self was brillent already looking to come back again , :)

Room Tip: we stayed close to the main hotel so everything a 2min walk which was great and still quite enough a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

having never visited Egypt before, we were pleased with our choice of hotel. On booking with thomson we had requested a quiet room and on arrival we were shown to one of the bungalows on the Honeymoon island. The room was spacious if a liitle dark (prhaps thats why its a honeymoon room!!). Hotel complex was very good,we preferred the pool nearer the hotel as this was quieter. Food was overall very good however a bit repetitive. The Bar /restaurant staff were very friendly and attentitive, however the Spa staff were very pushy and quite rude. We were advised that we could not do some of the road trips, which was a shame, but we went to the Market and also the Soho square, both ok. The Gym looked well equiped however the RUSSIANS took over, as they did the whole hotel, if you let them.Wow what rude people.
Overall a nice holiday, if we were to return to Sharm the we would happily stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Bars- the pool bars are good during the day. We stuck to the quiet pool near reception and the barman and towel guy were good. The bartenders at the activity pool were always quite busy with the ladies ;)
The bar in the reception area is the only bar open at night which can sometimes make it very hard to get a drink, you do get very strong drinks here :) there is another bar but it only opens very late for disco, unfortunately I never made it that late. Certain bar staff are very tentative which was lovely, we missed them when they weren't there.

Restaurants - the main restaurant is a bit like a school canteen and there are some problems with the layout and service. We often found it hard to get a drink with our meals and it was almost impossible to get coffee from the machine in the morning and the machine was in the way of several hot plates. Many of the dishes were lovely and the only complaint we had was that after two weeks it was quite repetitive. The fresh pasta could have been hotter but it was tasty.

Pools and public areas - all kept immaculate and people were always cleaning or gardening. The gym is nice and we used the spa for some reasonably priced treatments (just need to watch that they actually give you the time you have paid for though as we got about 20 mins less than expected!).

Other guests - unfortunately the other nationalities at the hotel sometimes upset my holiday. They seemed to get treated differently to us Brits (especially the Italians by the Italian chef at meal times) and have absolutely no manners. We like other nationalities but it gets a bit much when in the pool the Russians let their children jump in on top of you, horrible :(

Location - the hotel is about 10 mins from the airport and on the right side of the road so you are almost always the first people dropped off and picked up (great for late finishing trips). It's about 25 min walk to the 'town' and there are a few bars and supermarkets on the way down the road. Taxis stop all the time and toot at you but it's funny rather than frightening, it's about £2 each way in a tai but make sure you agree the price before you get in! The taxis also make it say if you want to go to Nama bay or soho square, we didn't go to either but will do when we visit in April. There is a bar called Viva where u can get free wifi (it's not free in the hotel which is a real shame).
There is a McDonald's! Tfi Fridays and Starbucks here too which is nice for a change and very cheap!

Trips - we went on the VIP cruise which was amazing apart from you don't get alcoholic drinks. The reefs are fantastic and even non swimmers can go in the water safely. We didn't get the flippers and had our own snorkels and I found this to be fine, only problem is others nearly kicking u in the face with theirs :) Ultimate Desert Experience, the one with quads, camels and dancing in the desert, was fun on the dune buggy (mrs not keen on the quads) and the camels were a good laugh (watch out for the little kid asking for a tip after your 10 secs on the camel) and the food in the desert was really good quality. The couple of hours sat in the desert waiting for the food and dancing tho was pretty rubbish and we thought it was going to be traditional music rather than rihanna and flo-rida! We would not go again, just do the quads perhaps.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first time at Nubian Island and at SharmThe staff are very friendly and polite and make you feel very welcome only draw back is the spa and excursion sales people tend to hassle you a bit to sell the trips and treatments but we just went on the ones with the Thomson rep.
We found the food variety very good and especially liked the Bistro Restaurant situated looking out to sea over the beach lovely, it got us away form the busy restaurant and the rude Russians, although there is such a long service you can miss the busy times
Our room was very clean and tidy and a great power shower it was located by the swimming pool at the top end which we found very convenient a stones throw from the pool and main hotel we just fell out of bed onto a sun lounger great!!
We especially would like to thank Charlie on the animation team who took our older kids to the night clubs which they thoroughly enjoyed and brought them back safe and sound.
Also Ahmad who was so very efficient with a drink almost waiting for us when we went to the bar and a good chat.
The entertainment is not great but we made our own entertainment from it.
We would definitely go back as we all really had a good time.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is a shame that I feel compelled to write this review with a negative slant when the hotel, grounds, food and staff are great. What can be negative if all the above were great? Well unfortunately, the entertainment experience left us feeling negative about this hotel and our experience there.

Firstly the kids club is not properly run in my opinion with little enthusiasm from the animation team for the task (unless you are Italian).

I turned up one day to check on my son at the kids club to find my 6 year old son crying and the member of the animation team standing at the door of the kids club kust watching. My son was covered in cuts and bruises and I had to take him out of the club.

Next the animation is split into groups, Italians and others. The Italians get the use of the theatre for their entertainment programme, whilst other guests were shown into the conference room with stacked tables and chairs for their "entertainment".

The kids club is also split along these lines with Italian kids being taken for ice creams and face painting and other kids left behind. This is not our imagination as we even asked the girl who ran the Italian kids club if our son could participate in their programme and were told quite clearly it was only for Italians.

Likewise the animation team told us bluntly that the theatre entertainment was geared to the Italians and we wouldn't understand it. In fact we got the feeling we just weren't welcome.

Despite complaining to both the Thomson rep and the hotel management this situation didn't change.

So if you are Italian, then go and enjoy yourself. For all other nationalities, I recommend a crash course in Italian or steer clear of this hotel.

Hope the review has been useful?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nubian Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nubian Island Hotel

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#43 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nubian Island Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Nabq Bay, overlooking Tiran Island, the Nubian Island Resort Hotel is unique in its architectural Nubian elegance embraced by the spectacular land and seascapes of Egypt Sinai Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nubian Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nubian Island Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Nubian Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nubian Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.