We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 226 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Mother and daughter vacation 14/03/2013-28/03/2013 - just returned from 2 weeks vacation at the Sharm Resort. The holiday price was cheap so we weren't expecting too much for our money. The best part of this vacation is the guaranteed sunshine. The hotel is no more than a 3* - food very repetitive but the a la carte restaurants make up for the poor quality of food available in the buffet restaurant. Cups are chipped and broken, glasses sticky and generally yuck. Take your own glass and hand sanitizer. The staff are friendly if you tip them constantly otherwise they are damn right rude! General management is poor to say the least leaving all the problems to be solved by the Guest Relations team, who have a fantastic girl by the name of Sarah. She seems to place the customers and customer care high on her agenda, unlike management here. Our holiday was booked via Red Sea, most of the reps are not interested in the guests problems and do not want to be there. The English is poor and basic, geared fro Germans and Russians. But I do need to mention Sayeed (Red Sea Rep) a young gentleman showing genuine concern for his guests, trying to resolve problems without wasting too much of the guests vacations time. Please be warned if booking any excursions ensure you have English speaking reps as we were told one thing and then encountered German on all our excursions. A word of warning do not part with any money if they say they have no change.....You can say goodbye to your change as they do not return with it. Sun loungers are few and far between, most of poor quality of broken but certainly not enough for the guests. We spent the first day laying on our towels. We managed to get sun beds around the so called 'heated pool' which clearly isn't; The two guys at this pool are fantastic and go they extra mile to ensure guests have a fab time. Genuine guys! All inclusive really doesn't mean that. Juices are extra, cocktails are extra, some food on the a la carte menus are extra and snacks are only available certain times at only near the beach. This resort is huge and lacking bars/snacks near the spa pool and children's pool. Entertainment basic and poor, bars close quite early, as do pool areas. Beach towels are only changed if found in you room between 5-6.30 alternatively you have the same towel. We tried the spa for a massage...a word of warning this spa is like a bad porn movie with no privacy and guys and girls sharing same rooms (strangers along side of you). Dirty and basic yet management seem to thing it's funny when we complained. The spa is a franchise to the hotel which is representing the hotel at the end of the day. A word to the wise unless you want to feel cheap and degraded stay clear as your bits will be on show for all and sundry to see. On a positive the note the hotel has beautiful grounds with lovely views but not for the disabled as it is set on various levels with approx 100 steps throughout. Hotel requires good management and could easily improve their services and food for guests.

Room Tip: We were in block 9 (outside the childrens pool) great location for peace and quiet but the far end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been.
Thank you for your compliments on our guest relations team (particularly Sarah), beautiful grounds, and lovely views.

The food is buffet style, with many many options available, and it is changed at each meal and every day. If it is not to your tastes, the room service menu is cheaper than eating in town, and caters specifically for English tastes, with a range of pizzas, burgers, and much more.

Your feedback about the glasses, and the Spa has been passed on to the General Manager, we value your suggestions. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities, and we upgrade and add to things as often as we can.

Excursions are not booked through the hotel, that is not our responsiblity, nor do we have any control over what external companies do, but i'm sure tourists will appreciate your advice.

We actually do have a number of staff who speak good english, particularly the General Manager, who's English is very good, if you have any issues in communication feel free to ask to speak to him, and he will sort out any issues that you have quickly and professionally.

With regards to someone not returning your change, I am 100% sure that it was not an incident within the hotel, but on an excursion. I am confident that our staff are all trustworthy. If you would like, you can ask the reception staff to change big notes into smaller ones and change, so that you will have change for tips and smaller purchases, they are happy to do this for you.

There is a bar very close to both of the pools, and the bar staff also bring drinks over to you while you are still sitting in the pool. There are 3 other bars, 5 in total, spread out across the hotel, in convenient locations. You can also order drinks, and food from your room with room service.

The hotel is designed to cater for disabled guests, and meets all necessary requirements. There are ramps, disabled toilets, and a free shuttle bus to Naama bay and both the hotel beaches. There is no need to take the stairs if you are unable to, or simply don't want to, you can take the free shuttle bus, it goes regularly, this is not a problem.

TO FUTURE GUESTS: Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on this hotel. We receive hundreds of positive reviews each year, the majority of our reviews are very positive, please do not let this one review concern you. If you stay here, you will not be disappointed, yes it is a different culture, and there are different expectations in different countries, but we earnt our 4 star rating, and we maintain it. We have a UK recognised Cristal certificate in food hygeine and handling. And we are conident in our staff. We hope you will consider staying here if you visit Sharm, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    297
    155
    97
    83
See reviews for
200
350
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

just returned from a week at sharm holiday resort and had a fab time , we took our 10yr old grandson who celebrated his birthday whilst there and what a fab time he had , the hotel staff are
fabulous they bought him a cake out in restaurant and danced and clapped /played music etc... the animation team especially zeena and suzy were really friendly and kept our grandson....... and his grandad !!!!!!!!!! very amused !! !! !!!!!!! food was ok not brilliant for kids but plenty of pasta /rice to fill up on , could have been more fresh fruit as we only saw bananas at one meal and no more fresh fruit all week which was dissapointing for a 4* hotel, free bus to hadaba beach is great very punctual and the beach and sea were amazing , room was cleaned every day and fresh flowers in room on a couple of occasions (lovely little touch) and just to say a big thank you to our cleaner he did a fantastic towel display for our grandsons bday he made it into a cake design which was much appreciated so THANK YOU!!!!! all in all a fab hotel in a brill location and we will definately be returning in the future

Room Tip: rooms near quiet pool if you want peace and quiet BUT rooms near main pool for more activity and noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad to hear you and your grandson had a fabulous time here.
Thank you for your compliments on our staff, special birthday treatment, entertainment, free shuttle bus, location, room cleanliness and towel art.

We appreciate your feedback about the fruit, we usually do have more, our apologies for that. There was an error that week and we were unable to get more on time sadly. We have fruit out with every meal, breakfast lunch and dinner.

We're pleased to hear you will be returning, and we look forward to seeing you again, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks stay here. The second time I've stayed here and still just as lovely.
The staff are very friendly and polite and can't do enough to help you where they can.
The food and restaurant is very good with different dishes and cuisines daily. The pasta and fish dishes stood out for me but the rest were also lovely.
The big pool with slides is more appropriate for kids and families as there is always activities on but the smaller quieter pool is ideal to relax and enjoy the sun. Harmony, the pool supervisor is great and good fun. He'll certainly keep you entertained and make you feel welcome.
Naama bay is a short 5 minute walk away. I was travelling with another female and felt safe and not at all uneasy about walking about at night. All I would say is stay together and if your not interested in going in a bar or shop just say no. Your soon left alone.
the hotel beaches are lovely. The smaller one at naama bay can get quite busy so get there early. My favourite was Habada which is at the bottom of winding cliff staircase. It is beautiful. Very clean and defo worth a visit. Ideal for snorkelling and seeing the sea life that surround sharm. Drinks and snacks are available at a small cost and again these are quite adequate and relatively cheap. The hotel offers shuttle buses to both beaches during the day, again these do get busy so get a seat early.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone Travelling to sharm.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your holiday here. We appreciate your positive feedback about our friendly staff, the food, and the pools. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for 12 nights.A very clean hotel with a good selection of food.The waiters and chefs were very pleasant and helpful.The bedroom was very nice near the entertainment stage but after a few nights we asked to move because it was too noisy for us,No problems at all the staff at reception were most helpful and found us 2 rooms<there were 3 of us>near the quiet pool which we preferred.We were very close to town where we ate out a couple of nights.
We also had room service which was excellent for the price.We are looking forward to going again next year,We had gold bands as we have been there before,and we had a lovely cake delivered to our room as it was our wedding anniversary.
Lager was ok but certain spirits are a bit iffy!!
I certainly cant understand why people complain about it .We heard very few complaints whilst we were there.
We are experienced travellers ,having done the Caribbean and Far east so we are knowledgable.
The only problem we had was with the guy selling sand gifts in bottles.My wife said she would buy at the end of the holiday.Each time we went for a drink at the bar near his stall we were pestered eventually he was offensive and used unappropriate language to us.When i told him off he said he was only joking and when we walked past he was making faces behind our back.It did spil things and made us feel uncomfortable.
I have sent an email to hotel thanking them for a lovely stay,and did explain this mans behaviour but have not had a reply from them
The animation team were good but too repetitive after a week

Room Tip: the rooms by small pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your positive feedback about our cleanliness, food, helpful staff and the room service menu.

We make a point to treat returning guests extra well, and our staff enjoy helping make special occasions a little more special. So please let us know when you book, or once you arrive, if you have a birthday, anniversary or other special occasion coming up so we can celebrate with you.

We sincerely apologize for the rude unprofessional behavior of the sand art seller. He is independent of the hotel, but the General Manager has been informed, and will remind him of our expectations here, thanks for letting us know.

Also, we apologize for not responding to your email. We receive a lot of emails, and it's possible it was either filtered out, or has not been reached yet by the manager who is responding to them all. But be assured, we do value your feedback, and thank you for this review and your email.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Sharm, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at this hotel. Good situation, close to town - staff delightful and no problem was left unsolved. Food became a little repetitive after 15 days but we never went hungry. We found the 'animation' to be too loud but we are 60 years old and over - management kindly moved us to a different room. Rooms cleaned every day but only 'surface' cleaning - they need a thorough clean i.e under beds, door jambs etc. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the quiet pool if you don't want constant music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on our location, staff and value for money.

Guests are welcome to make a note on their booking to ask for a room in a quieter area of the hotel if they prefer it, or also to ask for a room by the main pool and entertainment. If once you arrive here, you would like to move room, that is also possible, please do not hesitate to ask.

I have passed on your feedback about the noise levels and surface cleaning to the General Manager. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities and appreciate suggestions from guests, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here in May 2012. For the price we paid, very good hotel.

The rooms were well appointed and clean, and the cleaner attended every day. The food in the restaurant was also good, with plenty of choice every day, and not repetitive. We went to the lower pool every day as there was loud dance music played all day around the upper pool. I preferred the peace and quiet of the lower pool.

As we were all-inclusive, we could eat and drink as much as we wanted. The only drawback was that the drinks were served in very small glasses, involving constant trips to the bar. And the water-cooler by the pool was also supposed to be small glasses only. We just filled our water bottles, however if the head waiter saw this, he got quite angry haha.

Also, as mentioned above, the upper pool starts playing dance music at 10am everyday, so if you like a lie in, ask for a room by the lower pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the lower pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your positive feedback about our rooms, cleanliness, food and the quiet pool.

Many guests like to be by the main pool, and be involved in the entertainment, but as you said quieter areas are available in the hotel. Guests are welcome to put a note on their booking and ask for a room in a quieter area if they prefer, this is not a problem, we would be happy to accomodate your preferences in that.

The reason drinks are served in small glasses (which you can have as many refils as you need), is simply to minimize wastage. Particularly with water, all of the water we serve in the hotel is bottled water which we buy (the tap water in Sharm is not drinkable). All hotels have to be aware of water usage, because we are in a desert, and if we were running low we would need to wait for a truck to deliver more from Cairo, which can take up to a whole day. We stock more than enough, but we do not want to waste water, this is from a conservation point too.
Which is why, in many hotels here, you will find that guests are asked to drink one cup at a time, rather than filling bottles. Water can also be bought (from room service) in large bottles to keep in your room fridge if you like, which you can then use to refill your drink bottles as well.

We hope you will consider staying here again on your next visit to Sharm, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea south wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is just a little gem,it is so conveniently situated to Naama bay which is within walking distance and yet far enough away to have peace and quiet.The staff there are all polite and always speak to you when passing through the hotel.Every area is well maintained and spotless,the temperature of the 2 pools is just right and we saw the pool water being tested every day.This was our second visit here and we celebrated my husbands 70th birthday this time,the manager arranged for a cake and had our table reserved and the entertainment team announced his birthday during the afternoon events.We loved every minute of our stay and our party of 7 with ages from 3 to 70 could not find fault with anything at all.WELL DONE TO ALL STAFF you are a credit for this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose block 9 as this overlooks the quiet pool and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

It's great to hear from a returning guest, and we're glad you all had another happy holiday here.
Thank you for your compliments on our location, staff, cleanliness, pools and birthday special treatment. We enjoy celebrating with our guests and we're glad you enjoyed your day too.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Sharm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#114 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Holiday Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm Holiday El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.