We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN EVEN IF IT IS FREE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Al Bostan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharm El Sheikh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Bostan Hotel
Save
You added Al Bostan Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
“I WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN EVEN IF IT IS FREE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

the room was no 1021 it was dirty full of dust with a very bad smell the food was so bad i asked for a towel thy get it to me after 2 hours even on the beach i still waiting for about 1 hour until they get a towel. no service at all all the hotels in namma bay got to have a show program each night but this hotel havent any show the hotel is dead every day at 9 pm it is not recommended at all i will not go there again even if thy bay money for me the swimming pool is too small the ground was from 2 clours of briks yello and dark blue which gives the water a dark color so you cant go into the pool

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    11
    8
    22
See reviews for
17
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

It was pretty nice experince, the location is excellent it's close to most of sharm attractions , we enjoyed the food mostly the dinner buffet.
Staff are warm and friendly ( not very good italian speaking )
The best thing in this hotel is your children can play infront of your eyes safely.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, Hants.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Lets start with the good bits the staff are very friendly and do try to help. Also the guy who runs the diving stall on the beach is atruly
nice person.

The hotel should be called the Al Busted it is a tied and run down hotel that in no way warrants the 4 stars it has. It may have been great when it was built but it now neeeds a major revamp and a lot of money spending on it. The bathroom has unpleasant brown mold growinf in the gaps between the bath and tiles and the bath it self seems to have been painted but the paint has peeled in some places.

We were the only English speaking people in the hotel, the majority were Russian. We only had bed and breakfast which was not a great experience, neither my wife or myself are fussy but we did struggle to find something that looked appealing even the fresh fruit salad looked like something from the bottom of a pond. There is no provision
even to make a piece of toast, the coffe was terrible and the tea worse. There are plenty of cakes and sticky buns for breakfast if you like that, but they would look more appealing if they were portioned than rather than letting people just hack off what they want. The dining room is stark and very brightly lit there is nothing welcoming or appealing about this room. I have chopped and burnt better furniture that the stuff around the pool.

Our air conditioning dripped though out the night and took 3 days of complaining before it was finally repaired. Because for most people the hotel is all inclusive (I would not recomment that) nothing opens until 11am so you cannot get another coffee or beer without going some where else.

The beach is as good as most again the sunbeds are worn out but the towels were clean and fluffy and the towel boy friendly. I would not send my worst enemy to stay here!!!!!!!! Watch out for the guy from the perfume shop he is a complete pain

  • Liked — The small terrace outside our room
  • Disliked — The fact the place was so run down
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

I have stayed at Al Bostan SSH for 2 nights in December, 2006,
as a part of famtrip to Egypt.

The hotel's strong points are the location: easy to reach Naama bay promenade with its cafes, bars, 4-5* hotels, restaurants, shops etc., a rather beautiful, green though small grounds, and sandy though small beach).


The weak points: service on the whole, staff's attitude, old furniture&equipment in rooms.

As mentioned in other review, they were rebuilding the main entrance at the time, but I hope everything's ok by now.
The lobby of the hotel is small, with green old comfortable arm-chairs, rather old-fashioned. It's not a place to spend your evening at, as there's no lobby bar and it's so small you'd feel uneasy in the presence of officer (common thing in Egypt hotels) and receptionists.
The room - standart twin - was ok, of a proper size, though the furniture was a lit' shabby. We had problems with electric equipment - a lamp and the tv switched off on their own several times.
The use of the bathroom also wasn't comfortable. There was a good bathtub with a shower (not a tap!), but there was no sense in it as the end of it was fixed to the wall and was not flexible. If I wanted to take a bath, it wasn't possible neither, as you had to open shower which was, well, ok, but there was no plug for the bath!
In one of those days we went on an all-day-trip to Cairo; after that taking a bath was obligatory. Irritating.
The hair-drier was unusable, small and ancient.
Otherwise the room was of 3*-poor 4* standart.

We had HB basis. Can't say anything abour breakfast. Dinner was of a basic choise. The main restaurant is not a restaurant but literally a mess - a rather small light area behind the glass walls that looks good from outside, but it's true what they say about heavy furniture in previous reviews. The most annoying thing about the lunch was the stuff - 2 of them meet you at the entrance, apparently to check whether you are staying at the hotel, others are in the area and by the dishes, you feel controlled all the evening. Two guys at the entrance are bored and have nothing to do, so they stare at you as you eat. When you pick something at the buffet, there is often someone near you who smiles at you and says: "ice-cream", or "chocolate'', or smth that makes you confused. I guess it's for making you eat less, and it works!((
Drinks are not included for lunch as usually - you can order coffee, tea,...? I ordered tea once (60 L.E.) and had a misunderstanding with a receptionist who asked 2$ instead of 1$ 1L.E. for it.
So, that is the attitude.

If you come back to hotel about midnight (like we did from Cairo), they have a late dinner in the pool bar. That was rather tasty, with kebab, but again - you have to pay for the drinks from the bar.

The promenade starts just some meters from the hotel, beach side. There are lots of restaurants, but if you're looking for a food store, there are only a couple there.

The beach is really small, sandy - but can't blame it.

There were quite many Arabs at the time, seen at the beach and in the restaurant, making a lot of noise there one morning.

The hotel itself looks pretty - white low corpuses with flowers and trees, a nice view.

That much about that.

  • Liked — grounds, beach, food, corpuses and pool view
  • Disliked — staff, old&unfixed equipment
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

this was my first trip to sharm el sheikh, our hotel room was not ready upon arrival... was very tired from 10 hour bus ride from alexandria egypt... the food was not good at all... mcdonalds was much better !.... the beach was best and the sea of course...our room wasnt very clean.. there was sand in floors and had to get them to come and clean it ! the sheet was dingy ! I did enjoy my trip to sharm but next time I will stay at better resort :)

  • Liked — the beach area
  • Disliked — staff, and rooms !! and food was terrible
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

I don’t know where to start! The hotel is in a nice place and I read here that its atleas average hotel so I thought, nice place + an average hotel might = good holyday

But it wasn’t even close !!

1-We had half board (breakfast and dinner) the foood was vvvery bad and few choices of food
2-the beach is normal but you can see tourists harassed all around you from the towel guy (touching) and I realy dunoo how the management of the hotel allows this to happen!

3-the pool is too cold and too small and too shallow! and again the pool guy was touching and harassing almost any female around him!!


Good luck if u r going there!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

The first impression of the hotel was horrible. They are building a new entrance, so the current entrance was a little side door. The lobby looked as it could be nice, but it was filled with horrible christmas and new year ornaments... not pretty! A pluss for the eager bellboy carrying our luggage if his life pended on it!

We were very happy with the rooms, although we ordered a double bed and got two singels, they fixt it fast. We had a pool view, a little porch, the bathroom was nice and modern, TV with many channels, and roomservice every day. The roomservice was a bit different from time to time, sometimes they just did what youd expect them to do, other times they threw all our trash, folded our clothes, made a nice heart out of a towel on the bed...so happy with that.

The only meal we had inkluded was breakfast, we never ate any other meals on the hotel because of the other reviews here. The breakfast wasnt very good eighter. They had a lot of options, but poor options, and the restaurant had a stone floor and heavy chairs made of tree, so everytime someone moved, it made a terrible noise.

The pool on the hotel was untuched, it was so cold noone ever swam in it. It was clean though...

We never really used the service on the hotel, i once tried to ask them where something was and they didnt understand me.

We vere very happy with the beach. Fresh towels every day, but never really spoke to the beach guy. Usually no problem getting a sunchair as long as you get up early (09.00). If you want to buy a coke or a beer id recomend not to buy it in the bar, but to walk ten more meeters to the hotel kiosk where the beer costs 10 instead of 30 LLE. On the beach there is a place called Bobos, we went on a lot of trips with them. It was great trips, but you have to take som waiting. We also did a lot of snorkling, and from the floater bridge on the beach its great to snorkle, and a lot of fish!

The lokation of the hotel was great, only ten minute walk to the center of the town, and a lot of nice restaurants along the beach. We liked hotel Novotels restaurant, they had great food, but sadly very slow service. There is also a mexican restaurant in town we liked very much.

Overall we are happy with the place, we notised that we didnt live in one of the greatest hotels, we didnt pay for it either, but we only slept and watched TV there, so we didnt really mind.

PS: Sharm el Sheik is in Asia, not Afrika, we didnt know at first, but Egypt is split and belongs to both Afrika and Asia!

  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Bostan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Bostan Hotel

Address: | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Bostan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Bostan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Bostan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.