We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maglis El Madina Street | Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh PO 312, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 232 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
all4oneand1forall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We had a wonderful week at the Ocean Club. We arrived early evening and were welcomed with a lovely cold drink. We were shown to our room which was huge by a member of staff who was very polite.
Our room was cleaned thoroughly , our bed linen was freshly laundered and our towels changed DAILY!
There was a good variety of food to chose from and the prices were very reasonable. We drank the local beer which again was very reasonabley priced.
There are 2 pools with plenty of sun shades to choose from. The pool attendant was very friendly and there were always towells available for the guests to use around the pool.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff and especially management are the BEST.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    81
    36
    29
    29
See reviews for
29
88
43
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We didnt have a problem with the Ocean club at all. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean and tidy as is the pool and surrounding areas. We found the staff to be extremely polite and helpful and the wife thought the 'towel creations' were a great touch. During the day the pool was always accessible as most of the visitors were out diving. The food that we did have was fine, we stayed for a couple of the theme nights, although we were only B&B and usually went out to eat.

If you want 5* luxury then this is definately not for you, if you need a tidy room with a shower so that you can get out and about easily then this is ideal. I would strongly recommend Ocean Club and will certainly be going back there, hopefully very soon. If you are learning to dive, i did 2 courses while we were there, then having the Ocean College on site is an added bonus as you wont have to be collected from and dropped off at the various other hotels that use Ocean College for dive trg.

  • Liked — It does what it says on the tin, nothing more nothing less!
  • Disliked — Could have internet access across the site.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Me and my partner enjoyed our stay at the Ocean club Hotel. It's a fairly cheap and you get what you pay for. We enjoyed it's simple feel and felt it had everything we needed.
The food is pretty good. The buffet-style breakfast is excellent with a good range of hot food, bread, pastries, fresh fruit, and salad (all freshly prepared and kept covered). We paid for half-board which offers a variable choice from the evening menu (The Egyptian BBQ was definitely the best) but there's a good choice of cheap restaurants throughout Sharm so we probably wouldn't choose this option again.
Both of the hotels pools were clean and usually really quiet during the middle of the day.
The rooms were simple but comfortable. The air conditioning in our room worked really well although some other guests said their rooms were too hot (a big problem in late summer). The shower pressure was a variable trickle but then this is a desert!
The downside to the Ocean Club is definitely its location. The old market is just about walkable (around 30 minutes) but Na'ama bay is miles away (although you can pay for the hotel's shuttle bus). Having said that, a lot of people would prefer to stay here rather than pay more for a swanky hotel in Na'ama bay.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Location!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Me and my girlfriend just got back from the Ocean Club hotel yesterday and had a trully fantastic time. I don't normally write reviews but i really had to on this one, following other reviews i had seen. All this people that whinge about the quality of the room, electrics, staff and the limited food is rubbish. A holiday is trully what you make it but the Ocean Club hotel was a great foundation for a wicked holiday. We met lots of people there and made a lot of good friends, the staff were polite, helpful and friendly, despite it being ramadam. We spoke to other people in Sharm who were staying in much posher hotels and said they were awful. We really enjoyed ourselves. Everyone needs to lighten up!

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere!
  • Disliked — I genuinely cant think of anything!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed for a week at this hotel. The room was basic, but there was air con and it was clean. The food was nice but lacked variety. I cannot comment on breakfast as we never managed to get up in time for it! We were not at the hotel to do any diving, so the pool was never really busy and there were always empty sunbeds! The room cleaner left the towels in some very creative shapes :) We went on 2 trips and both were very enjoyable, we went on quad bikes and to the aquapark.
I would strongly recommend when staying in Egypt to take rehydration sachets, as both myself and my boyfriend were ill and were both glad we had packed it.
When using the local taxis, always go for the white and blue ones, we paid no more than 30 egyptian pounds to travel to Narma Bay.

  • Liked — The staff were friendly, it was clean and you could always find a sunbed.
  • Disliked — It was quite far away from Narma bay, the food lacked variety
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Me and my man stayed here so we could learn to dive properly - finally achieving the PADI open water - after endless 'try dives' around the world.

We had such a cool time, food was perfectly nice, the people ace and the bar was seriously chilled, overlooking the roof tops and mountains. We normally stay in the caribbean but the credit crunch hit my bloke quite hard so we spent a fraction of our usual winter break budget but going here (£1000 all in for a week for 2 with flights and drinks instead of £3000!)

We went out to the blue hole and up to Dahab - be careful of the 'local' cigarettes..........mind blowing!

We made so many friend out there, sorry all we'll be back next year!

Alice and Dan - Birmingham

  • Liked — The bar
  • Disliked — The taxi ride into town
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I went to sharm to learn to dive at the ocean college attached to the ocean club hotel. the course was excellent and fantastically run. I can highly recommend the college to anyone with an interest in want to dive. Read the small print first as my frien didnt realise that there were entry requirements of swimming 200m and treading water for 10 minutes and he failed - derr!
The hotel was nicer than some of the reviews let on. the rooms are clean, the appearance of the overall hotel was good. if you want the hilton then pay extra, but this was ideal for a base. the bar staff at the hotel were miserable and unhelpful. barked orders at you and deliberately short changed me on a few occasions. I didnt feel the need to tip them at all as their service was poor - kind of 'beneath them to serve' attitude.
the towel arrangements were worth a picture every day... i tipped the cleaners!
This was my first time to eygpt. I wouldnt rush back as the people were unfriendly, the place smelled badly sometime and there was always some extra fee for something that you werent told about. In sharm, dont visit the sharm musuem as i did, it cost me £7.50 and was a small room full of fakes... just stick to the variety of tac shops for free. The quad biking into the desert was worth the money and a decent experience.
the airport prices are disgusting as they charged £2.50 for a small bottle of water.

  • Liked — basic but sufficient
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Address: Maglis El Madina Street | Hadaba, Sharm El Sheikh PO 312, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#120 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Club Hotel offers an exceptionally good value accommodation in a relaxed & cozy atmosphere and is ideal for single travelers, couples & families due to its friendly staff & quality of service. Thanks to all of our guests who have contributed to its popularity by returning year after year.This courtyard style hotel consists of 80 comfortable air conditioned guest rooms, some of which are adjoining, and provides a high standard of accommodation. Each room has its own private bathroom & shower, mini-bar, safe box and satellite TV. Relax around the 2 large swimming pools (one of which is heated) and sundecks during your day, and catch up on the day’s activities with friends around the social pool bar or head up to the Phoenix rooftop bar in the evening and enjoy a drink under the stars, or watch your favorite sport in the air-conditioned indoor area of the bar. The hotel features four outlets cleverly created to accommodate your every need, Phoenix roof top bar offering A La Carte menu and beverages during evening time, Pool Bar offering snacks and beverages during day time, Mongolian BBQ with its unique dining experience and the Reef Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. Hotel also has on site a mini SPA and a dive centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ocean Sharm El Sheikh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.