We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...again!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gardenia Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gardenia Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Gardenia Plaza Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Shark's Bay | Airport Road, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent...again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Three weeks back from the Gardenia after visiting the first two weeks in November and wish we were still there. It appears it is not everyones cup o'tea but this was our second visit after trying a supposedly "better" hotel. Very enjoyable stay with friendly staff, some of whome recognised us from two years ago. Didn't use the pool, went to the beach everyday (we had glasses for our drinks there:). Different beach to last time, just down the road, so instead of waiting for the bus in the morning we just took a 15 min stroll, straight after breakfast, so spent longer on the beach. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered in the 300's and 400's are quieter and have the sun earlier in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    196
    129
    97
    233
See reviews for
201
326
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What exactly do people want?, my wife and I arrived on the 29th November 2012 having chosen the hotel on price. We paid £290 each all inclusive, including Easyjet flights.
The hotel staff were all very friendly, helpfull and happy to have a bit of banter with you. The restaurant had the largest choice of food and cakes you could wish for, and as much as you wanted.
OK the place is getting a bit tired now but they are starting to refresh it with no upset to guests.
The beach is a 15 min steady walk or the hotels shuttle bus runs every hour and also runs into Naama Bay every evening.
Would we go back?, DEFINATELY.
Just 1 last word, don't bother with transfers, the hotel is only 10-15 mins from the airport and a taxi only costs about £8 with no hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just got back after 11days at this hotel, please dont read the bad reviews go and see for yourself!!! the hotel was clean and the staff couldnt do enough for us very friendly willing to help you with any problem you may have .we arrived for our anniversary and was put ibn a room with single beds,no worries changed us to a suite with king size bed immediately.The food was delicious people who moan there is nothing are fussy eaters and shouldnt go abroad the beef was tender and delicious and always chicken meet and fish on the menu at every mealtime salad bowls vegatables and fruit also a large selection of cakes ..remember we are in Egypt not the hilton in LONDON!!!!! the chefs did a fine job trying to make everyone happy,and they did us and everyone we met there.....As for the animation as the hotel was quiet (we go there because of this) they did a fantastic job of keeping us entertained we had one of the best laughs we have ever had we met people and made it a good laugh....Animation started at 10am every morning and people were moaning when they got back from the beach there was nothing on!!! there choice to leave the hotel grounds thank you Mac Amy David Micky Mary Coco for making us feel welcome and we were certainly entertained!!!!!!!....... Now for the downside....yes there are a couple 1. we were all inclusive but couldnt drink at all the bars manager needs to be spoken to about this and 2. there was no ice-cream unless you paid for it ..again managers decision not the staff.....As for reviews that say staff rude totally not true the only people that were rude were the Russian guests!!!!!!! but then they are rude wherever you go .... you get what you pay for and more we will be going back .......oh and just a note the airport is near but didnt bother us and at night they dont fly so not a problem...

Room Tip: main pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Do not take any notice of the negative reviews about this hotel, my partner and i have just returned from here having had one of our best holidays ever. All the staff and i mean all were just great, allways polite, smiling, and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food....well i recon i have put on a stone after eating so much. The animation team are great and have you doing all sorts of fun stuff, (thanks guys) will definately be returning, very soon.

Room Tip: ask for room with pool veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I got so worried after reading the bad reviews but we had a great time here.

Couldnt find any rude staff and in fact they were all helpful with a brilliant sense of humour and very hard working.
Yes the plastic glasses were annoying but having split several drinks by the pool I can see why they are needed.
Rooms needed updating but were very clean with no creepy crawlies and we slept well every night. Did have some problems with Mozzies and flies but then we were in Egypt.
the food was a bit repetitive but a good mix of traditional and western and we didnt go hungry. Chefs would also cook special requests when asked which was fantastic
The animation team were superb with so much enthusiasm and fun. They really made us laugh and made the whole holiday memorable.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms definately the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we have just spent 10 days at the Gardenia Plaza and was a bit worried to what we might find after reading some reviews!! all i can say is that some people must have been to a different hotel.
everything about the hotel is absolutely brilliant.
from the moment we stepped into reception, the staff could not do enough to help our holiday a very memorable experience.
Some people mistook the staff for slaves, especially Mohamed the pool boy, a hard working, polite young man who was superb with our nine year old, some people treated him like dirt and should be ashamed of themselves.
the restaurant staff were amazing, drinks were remembered and often at our table before we were, the food was brilliant, if you are aware you are in Egypt you will be fine, if you want a full english or a sunday roast go to benidorm!!
the barstaff were very good, always smiling even in the face of the halfwits that like to guzzle beer 13 hours a day!
the animation team got everyone joining in together and put on some good shows and games that gave guests of all nationalities a great laugh together, thanks Micky, Coco, Marie, David, Amy, Vlad and Mac! and the best of luck to Coco and Marie when their baby arrives!!
i would waste no time in reccomending this hotel to anyone, 10 out of 10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you want an honest opinion about this hotel then please read. Me and my partner arrived at this hotel on 15th Novemeber as soon as I walked in I knew I wasn't going to be staying here it was that awful. Reception area horrible staff rude apart from one guy who helped us with our luggage to our room he was friendly. Went down to the bar and it was disgusting it was like being sat in a shed it was that small and was very dark hardly any light coming through. Now to the restaurant it was shocking it was like a canteen and I am being honestly serious it was awful worse restaurant I have ever been in, there was no choice of food at all it was the same thing everyday, the hotel was full of russians who are very ignorant and rude I don't blame english people for staying away. All the bad reviews on here about this hotel are spot on. Rooms was dated and very dirty and furniture was falling to pieces it was just henderous. The staff at this hotel only wanted one thing and that was MONEY they wouldn't leave you alone until they got some money out of you. The best thing we did was move hotel best thing we have ever done couldn't stay at this hotel for 2 weeks I would of rather of gone home but the rep was brilliant and moved us to an amazing hotel. If you want a terrible holiday then go to this hotel but if you want a lovely nice holiday then go elsewhere. NEVER AGAIN DISGUSTING!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gardenia Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Plaza Resort

Address: Shark's Bay | Airport Road, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#126 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gardenia Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Gardenia Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Plaza Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Gardenia Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardenia Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.