We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best yet in sharm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verginia Sharm Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Verginia Sharm Resort to your Saves list
Verginia Sharm Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Motelat St., Hadabet Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh 002, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 228 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best yet in sharm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I had the privelege to stay at the Verginia hotel between the 4th and 25th May 2014 and I can say this is the best hotel visited so far in Sharm (we have stayed in many hotels in Egypt previously,some of which were big name brands of international standard but did not match the standards here)

Reception staff were helpful.The rooms adequate and sheets,towels changed everyday and cleaned to a high standard.

Communal areas extremely clean ,pool boy very courteous as were all of the staff.The two bars served bottled cold beer (some hotels pass off beer which is beer coloured only) and spirits which were acceptable.

The pool is a goods size and there are sufficient sun beds.

Now for the" jewel in the crown"

The restaurant was quite simply excellent, the chefs (wearing lily white clean uniforms,with protective gloves when serving the varied dishes, not previously seen in Egypt were a reassuring sight in a country were gastro intestinal illness can ruin a holiday)were very professional in their role ,Full marks to the "executive chef" who made a point of patrolling the restaurant gathering feed back from the customers .He was excellent. No doubt his imput in the kitchen helped in making the food varied, tasty and a joy to consume. Well done.

I have read previous reviews which are very critical of everything in this hotel, THEY ARE WRONG. This is the first time I have written a review but thought clearly mischievous comments previously posted are completely without basis.

Finally, I will be returning to this hotel next year. well worth the money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    92
    67
    51
    41
See reviews for
63
119
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I arrive at the sol verginia on the 11 th off May the bellboy mahmoud was the 1st person to meet us he had a big smile and welcome us back .... He took our luggage and took us to reception..... Taha checked us in then we were shown to our room.... Next morning I asked to have our room changed which was done on request ....Ehab came to our room then he took us to a lovely big room he was my life saver and has become a really good friend... Tamel the guy on reception was always very helpful if we needed help.... Also Wassem the reception manager he was always polite and greeted us with a lovely smile thank you for all you help the hotel is very clean and well cared for ..... Then the pool boy Mohamed each morning he was there to greet us with a smile always had our towels ready for us there was nothing he wouldn't do.....in the resturant when entering the waiters where there to assist our every need .... The food was amazing always prepared fresh for us ... They always made us food we liked to eat ..... I would also like to say a big thank you to our lit chef he was a diamond made sure we ate ..... Also to the chef who made my birthday cake it was amazing ....while I was at the sol verginia I became very ill and the dr was sent for.... Dr Merna was amazing he treated me to very high standards he went beyond his call off duty so a big thank you to him .... The cleaner of our room did this to high standards ... The laundry service was excellent ... Room service was also excellent last but not least the general manager is a man off his word so a big big thank you Foad for making me laugh and doing me my birthday party ..... If you are thinking off having a holiday in sharm El Shake I would recommend the sol verginia ... They treat all there guest with respect and cater for there every need .... This is my second home and all the staff our like family so a big big thank you to every one who works at the sol verginia and a specially to Dr Merna,,,, Ehab .... Wassem......and last but not least Foad Sabah El Khear to you all ... Your not only my friends but also my family thank you for making my stay a happy one

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My 1st being in Egypt!
The Hotel has good quality personal, espesshially Mr.Mahmoud at the pool bar.The best barmen I've ever seen. Mahmoud, thanks to you from Oksana and Max!
Behind the hotel there is the cheapest shop of tea, papirus etc (have been in Dahaab and Naama bay - there is bigger price, belive).
The hotel has pool, dance, its own bus - free to the beach and Naama bay! Also try their spechial offer - sea food dinner, just 10$ for nice dinner.
Try to use coral beach at list 2times-there are awesome corals and different kind of fish inside.

Room Tip: no, there is no sense - all rooms are simular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

As a former Owner/Director of my own Tourism company and travel insurance Company, I have worked with tourist boards, travel writers and Governments in 92 countries. Frankly, this was one of the worst and most memorable experiences of all time. In fact I have to settle on the worst! Given the 4*** star rating it claims.
So let’s look at the good point. (Note single)
The hotel does have a charming local duty Hotel Doctor, whom, I understand also so happens to reside in the Hotel. So be assured help is on hand.
The bar was just about big enough to swing a cat in! And, though no cats present, not even a holographic! I found a little unusual for Egypt. Though, I did find some strange Bugs and animals in my room! When I reported this to reception they asked me to deliver these to them! Now as I also live in Thailand I don't refer to the odd friendly Gecko. (Local Lizard), in fact we consider these friendly. I refer the enormous cockroaches the size of a small Mouse! But remember folks this is Africa and you must expect some bugs, mosquitoes etc.
The Health Club and beauty parlour was a joke! After several hours , I managed to negotiate a number 4 shaved hair cut down to £15 GPD. (25US) They let me down twice, on appointment! So, got this done elsewhere for £10. (Hilton)
The all inclusive food was tolerable for vegiterians. All drinks were served in thin plastic shot glasses including the local Beer! Which BTW was good. Now considering this was near the dessert, water was not available in your room! Nor was coffee/ tea. No kettle, milk etc., But was available to buy!
The internet was not available for my duration due to a technical problem? Though T-mobile kindly fixed this for me at a cost of £1-50 GBP per text and per Minute call charge! (Tip: don’t take the mobile)
The long and short of this is that the room was grubby, grouting dirty, service slack unless one barked! No cresh facilities for children! The masseur was a pervert! But, I will not go into that, for legal reasons. I would say however, the staff did have a sense of humour! Albeit, annoying at times. Being kind, I would rate this hotel as a local 1/2 star-..There are over 10 more other major failures, I would not wish to ramble on about.
During my stay, I also booked into other hotels. Such as the Marriot Renaissance. Which , I could’t fault and overall I found this surprisingly to be cheaper! Which I will rate five star for international in my Guide experience! 6+ star for Egypt! So for £33 quid a day all inclusive! Take the best! At the Marriot, water ice cream and a choice of international drinks served all day in 9 bars, 7 restaurants. You decide!
I will admit a possible bias in this report. That is, I had to abandon my guest and good friend from Russia, whom, allied her affections with her numerous own country folk, found in abundance here. Though, my decision to leave this hotel, at my own exoense was for my wish for basic comfort and surroundings. Sorry, Alena.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed from 22/04/13 to 02/05/13. Had a very enjoyable vacation. All the staff where friendly and very helpful. Thank you to Ahmed for keeping our room spotlessly clean. Thank you Mohammed for looking after us around he pool. Thank you for the bar and restaurant staff always went out of your way to give us the best service. What fun with the animation team. Had glasses in the dinning room which was good. Would have liked yogurt and fresh fruit for breakfast. Would also
have enjoyed wine to be served in the up stair bar. Yes it would be good to have all inclusive until midnight but then things have changed in Egypt, they have to make money. Special fish dinner for 100egt was fabulous. Bit of a poo whiff in the bathroom. Manager very attentive. Overall very good. Thank you all Susan and Mark xxx

Room Tip: Choose a room adjacent to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

There are a few things that need to change and this hotel could be bob on.

1 - More bar staff. A lot more glasses as not enough for guest end up being served in plastic cups.
2 - All inclusive till midnight and not 10p.m.
3 - Should not be charged for water.
4 - Think about other European visitors when it comes to the food.
5 - Didn't stock wine in the reception bar.
6 - too many chiefs and not enough Indians.
7 - the Chiefs could do with learning about customer relations.
8 - Should have snack bars available between meal times and you would attract more families.

The bar staff, restaurant staff, cleaning staff and entertainment staff I could not fault the upper management could learn a thing or two form them.

Room Tip: Rooms south side are quieter providing they don't decide to do maintenance work at 12pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Staff aside (not all of them) I really was not impressed with this hotel. Admittedly this was a cheap holiday however to pay for all inclusive that does not include a snack bar, has a bar that finishes at 10pm and does not serve wine is pretty ridiculous! The bar did not have enough glasses to accommodate all the guests when the hotel wasn't even full, the pool bar ran out of beer (warm beer), the staff had no idea what cocktails were on the menu, you were charged for water, the room was full of Mosquitos, the water was brown and did not get any better, one day it wasn't even switched on, the A/C broke on the last day, the floors were dirty, some of the management staff were rude to the point where on our last day they came out to us in the pool with a pair of scissors to cut off our all inclusive wrist bands!! If it wasn't for the excursions we booked this holiday would've been a disappointment. It is a shame because this hotel has the potential to be really good for the money but it is clearly poorly managed. Personally I'd pay an extra £100 and go to a 5+* hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verginia Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verginia Sharm Resort

Address: El Motelat St., Hadabet Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh 002, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#110 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verginia Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Verginia Sharm Resort (ex Sol Verginia), which opened in July 2005 is located in Sharm el Sheikh on the southern tip of Sinai peninsula. Just 5 minutes from the beach by shuttle bus, close to the Ras-Om El Sid hill and 4 km distance from the historical city center. The hotel has 120 Rooms (connecting rooms are available on request). The Verginia Sharm Resort offers friendly service with good facilities and entertainment. 160 rooms consisting of balcony or terrace, telephone, Satellite TV, hairdryer, minibar, free safety deposit box, air conditioning, heating linen and towels changed daily, room service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Verginia Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verginia Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sol Verginia Sharm El Sheikh
Sol Verginia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verginia Sharm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.